We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent venue,”

Ropetackle Arts Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ropetackle Arts Centre is a purpose built community-run arts venue that attracts some of the biggest and best performing arts events in the UK. Situated in the heart of Shoreham, West Sussex, our goal is to stage events for all tastes and all budgets for the good folk of Adur and beyond.A registered charity, and staffed almost exclusively by volunteers (including our Trustees), Ropetackle Arts Centre is run by and for the local community. Friendly, welcoming, diverse and fun, we guarantee a great night out at a fair price.Our superbly equipped auditorium performance space seats 220, or 350 standing. We have a separate mezzanine space (for small events or meetings), two well-stocked bars, plus a large light and airy foyer which houses our in-house cafe.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An excellent venue,”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've been to the Ropetackle a few times now. Only on one occasion did I feel let down as I could not see the act at all because the act, not the management, insisted on using the low stage. There was no problem at all in refunding the ticket price and we left. Drinks are very reasonably priced, the bar area is welcoming and spacious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Makes Shoreham aplace to see great shows”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Have been several times to shows and exhibitions. They have great acts spread accross most tastes. Saw 3 Bonzo's which were not good but Spiers and Boden were simply fantastic as well as great art exhibitions a tasty cafe

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wrappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Venue in Shoreham”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I loved the scale of the venue. We saw Megson (who were excellent) and are off to see Stackridge in April. The bar was good the seats were just rightly spaced and if you get there early enough you can sit on tables.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Entertaining New Years Celebration”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 8PM, glass of sparking at the door. The music started with Laura Ward and The Risen Road, followed by part 1 of the South Coast Soul Review, some basic lessons in Scottish dance and then back to the South Coast Soul Review. We saw the South Coast at the Brunswick in Brighton, 2 Years ago and they were still entertaining and kept the dancing going. I must point out that the 2 singers, had more energy that the entire dance floor which kept everything going.

The club is run by volunteers, which is quite well done. Art centres like this are difficult to find.

Overall a great night out.

Helpful?
2 Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great asset”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a really friendly welcoming arts centre. The thunkshop cafe in the foyer is a great place to meet friends for home cooked lunches, coffee, teas & cakes etc. There are some interesting art exhibitions in the foyer too. The arts centre itself has a wide variety of music events , film club, comedy nights, writers talks and loads more. It has been a great asset to Shoreham since it was built and is growing even more popular. It is mostly run by volunteers so must keep the overheads down and allow it to thrive. People seem to come from all around Sussex - maybe also as carparks are free in Shoreham after 5 pm in the evening and there is some free parking nearby in the day too. If using public transport the bus stops opposite and its not far to walk from the station.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank savvydinercaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ropetackle Arts Centre also viewed

Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
 
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
 

Been to Ropetackle Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing