We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunched on TripAdvisor review ratings”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marlipins

The Marlipins
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lunched on TripAdvisor review ratings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Quaint old pub in high street. Very warm welcome and lovely waitress. Sat in sunny garden area and enjoyed our stay. Food was so so. Cod was per frozen breaded but tasted ok. Peas had butter knob without asking but salad was fresh. Probably did not pick best menu option. Ploughmans probably better. Bit pricey but we checked other pubs and seems the going rate but pub behind in middle street nice not so busy and cheaper options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittlePlum&BigPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Pub in Shoreham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Liked the building, liked the atmosphere, love the entertainment and the beer, although, pricey is worth it.
The pcustomers have been friendly at each visit.
Our favourite pub in Shoreham.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice lunch ,very welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here several times and have always been happy with the overall experience.
A proper pub with real people serving,always a great welcome and lovely food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aybn41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“justthe2ofus at the marlipins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

we went to see jo and chris (just the 2 of us) singing duo on sunday afternoon and it was brilliant. The pub was packed but no shortage of staff and no queueing for drinks. Atmosphere was great and people dancing as well!!! House red merlot italian wine was lovely and perfect to drink on its own.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dittyannie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Like pubs used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Came here with family for lunch. It's a proper pub, quite busy and popular, a little old-fashioned. Felt very friendly and local. Interior no great shakes, but not terrible either. We had 2 x roasts, 1 steak and ale pie, and 1 chilli con carne. The menu is standard pub grub, nothing adventurous. On the plus side, the portions were huge, the gravy excellent, and on the whole the meat part of the meals was good. The veg and chips sides were a bit tired, a bit overcooked, dare i say a bit 'school dinners'/1950's. The beer was acceptable but not exceptionally well kept, the dessert was not bad - bread and butter pudding - tasty, but a bit dry for me. Staff were friendly and attentive. So - very nearly a 4 star review, just improve the veg. side dishes and keep the beer a a bit better. It was also pretty cheap, so i suppose good value. If the system on tripadvisor included 'good' rather than 'very good' i'd give it 4

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingernut1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marlipins also viewed

Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
 
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
 

Been to The Marlipins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing