We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chambers Bistro

Chambers Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $49
Cuisines: European, British, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A good lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a tasty lunch here of thinly sliced liver cooked just how we like it. The unusual lager from Peru was something different

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    116
    28
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulously cookie in more ways than one ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Bit of a crazy night as a last minute decision to go out meant the first choice bar was rammed. So we were in first as it was early evening and had the restaurant to ourselves for a while. The waitress was relatively new which caused some amusement rather than inconvenience. The chefs seemed to be having a good old barney when we arrived but the lovely lady running the restaurant was calm and assured. She sorted everyone and everything with good humour.
The food was delightful. Duck rolls were unusual with rocket in but were perfect. Full of flavour and very light. The home-made pork scratchings were delightful although the youngest member of our group was a little wary of the odd hair (the pig's rather than a chefs!). Garlic prawns were also good and all portions were made for two to share really.
Fish and chips was crispy and had a good taste, again a large portion. Steaks were cooked perfectly to request and again the chunky chips were a great accompaniment. Finally the vegetarian option was butternut squash and filo which seemed to disappear very quickly so assume all was good with it!
Jazz - live -was playing on a Friday night which was great and not obtrusive. It proved good background noise.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTS_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I visited this restaurant on a midweek lunchtime for my daughters 21st. We were a small group of 5, ordering from the specials board and the a la carte.

The food was cooked to perfection and very nicely presented. The calves liver was thinly sliced and cooked just right. It melted in the mouth. Three rib eye steaks were cooked just as requested. We made a few changes to the dishes we ordered and this was not a problem at all for the kitchen.

The portions were just right for a three course meal.

Two people in my group have nut allergies and the waiter very quickly checked with the kitchen about the ingredients used in the dishes. It was refreshing to go to a restaurant that didn't make a big fuss about allergies!

I am definitely going back again. I hope that local people will make more use of it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank West_Sussex_F00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nice relaxed atmosphere, great service. Set menu is great value for money, but a la carte a tad expensive. Great food though :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

A comfortable restaurant where the staff are pleasant and helpful. The last time we visited we were a largeish party - 5 adults and 3 children. One adult meal didn't arrive. It had been left off the order so that by the time it did arrive, everyone else had finished eating the Main course. Disappointing. Food okay but not exceptional for the price.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chambers Bistro also viewed

Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
 
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
 

Been to Chambers Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing