We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briars Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Briars Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Lathom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

What an Excellent night 7th December - this is a night we will always remember as we celebrated our Ruby Wedding Anniversary at Briars. Although it was also a Christmas party night will still felt very special. As soon as we arrived and walked into our room what a special touch - thank you Briars room 226 was amazing.
At the start of the party we were welcomed into the resturant with buks fizz and shown to our tables. The meal again was very enjoyable.
DJ - Steve thank you for also making our night memorable everyone has been talking about you (in a nice way).
After the party night had finished my Grandson and his friend played the guitar in the lounge part and all joined in with the songs.
We were also joined with the presence of Paul and I must say that it is nice to be asked if everything was up to standard - of course it was for us and above.
A big thank you again to all the staff for making our night so special

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callumsrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your party . I know we are doing things well when customers such as yourself keep coming back and I thank you for that.
I look forward to planning your next event with us in the near future!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    55
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
136
126
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We got married at Briars Hall on the 6th December, my experience with the staff at Briars hall was 100% positive from the first day that we booked our wedding, you really do get a feeling that they really care about you and what you want from your day, I honestly can't fault this hotel or it's staff in any way. Karen, the hotel wedding coordinator is so lovely, coming into work especially to see me when I had a seating plan issue, calming me and helping me sort it out! Everyone who works at Briars hall, the manager Paul, the reception staff, bar staff and cleaners all give 100% they all make your stay personal and make you feel valued.
The winter wedding package is fantastic value for money. The cleanliness of Briars hall is second to none, the food is amazing we simply can not find a fault with this hotel, all our guests loved the wedding and the whole hotel experience! Fantastic, you should all be very proud of yourselves!

Clare and Gareth Eccles

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your special day, and in particular the friendly and helpful team. I will be sure to share your comments with them, and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had our wedding on 12 October 2013, we could not of picked a better venue, the location, the food, the service, organisation, all 5 stars, a lot of our guests said it was the best wedding they had been too, I would like to thank mark, Karen, billy was absolutely fantastic on the day, well organised, and all of the staff, if you are thinking of booking a wedding , this is the place, thank you very much, it was the best day of our lives, tommy and sharon Edwards, xxx

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing comments regarding your wedding with us at Briars Hall. I really appreciate your positive feedback as it puts a real buzz about the hotel when I place a copy of the comments on the staff notice board. I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for booking your special day with us and I wish you all the happiness for the future.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Briars Hall in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Hi I got married at Briars 15th Sept it was the best day of my life and the staff and owners made it happen.
The atmosphere was over whelming and the staff couldnt have done any more for use .I recommend this hotel to any body thanks Mark Karen Jane Keven and the rest of the staff x

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank brewst330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure for me to have been given the opportunity to hold your perfect wedding.
What can I say? It was a memorable wedding for me, I would like to wish you all the happiness in your lives together and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Little late in leaving this review...
We had out wedding 24th July 13 at Briars Hall. From the moment we had our first viewing of Briars Hall with Paul we loved everything about it, character, staff and food.
Leading up the wedding, we had several emails, calls and meetings with Karen...to make sure our day ran perfect...it did..
The night before our wedding myself, my bridesmaids & my parents stayed at the hotel. We set up alot of our room the night before, which was our choice as I wanted everything to be just how i imagined. The hotel had no issue with this what so ever, and very helpful.
The only thing was the hotel was so warm, and being an older hotel there was no air con in the rooms, was a bit of a struggle to get us all ready in one room with the heat...but when I rang down first thing in the morning for water, a jug ice cold was brought to us in seconds.

The day it's self was perfect, Billy did everything he could to make it all go without a hitch... he even fixed the bottom of my dress mid way down the aisle!
The Civil ceremony was wonderful and Karen had dressed it beautiful. Our Wedding breakfast was beautiful, everyone commented on the quality & amount of food...The room was set up perfect, and again Billy did everything to make it all flow.
We had a turn around for the evening reception, again the room was set up lovely, and the bar staff great. This was also noted that no one had to wait at the bar, service very quick.
The buffet was put out and as request the music continued, our DJ Steve was fantastic, and really understand what we wanted. The only thing was we requested there be an announcement about the buffet being there, it was only when myself & my husband Paul turned around we seen it sat there, and asked Steve to make a quick shout out.
Kevin was great on the night, and again everything ran to plan.
When we went upto bed we had a gift from Briars Hall, strawberries coated in chocolate, a couple of sandwiches, and some our cake...also a lovely bottle of fiz, and a voucher to come back to briars. A lovely touch.
The morning after, we did have a few complaints off our guests we had agreed a late check out when booking our wedding, which it seemed reception staff was not aware, and was telling myself and paul to make sure our guests checked out at 10.30. Very mixed messages, as at this time our guests from London, Ireland, etc had just sat down to breakfast.
We had also been told our wedding cake had been thrown away, but then a few days later whilst on honeymoon we had a voicemail to say the rest of our cake was in the fridge, and would we be collecting this before it was put in the bin. We didn't know about this until we returned, so this was abit disappointing.

Over all, Billy, Kevin & staff on the day customer service fantastic. Venue, Beautiful. Food,...fantastic.
Karen- Venue, Beautiful.

Thank you from us both,

Nicola & Paul

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlsboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing comments regarding your wedding with us at Briars Hall. I am delighted you enjoyed your special day and even the weather was perfect for you to utilize the grounds to there full potential. We do get a lot of great comments about the food we serve being hot and tasty. It is nice to have positive comments from your guests about the buffet at night, this often gets forgotten about when the party gets started. I hope the mix up about the cake didn't spoil your day.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

we had our wedding at Briars Hall this weekend and it was absolutely perfect from the moment we booked the hotel staff had been extremely professional and helpful and made us feel so at ease with everything right from the start. All the hotel staff are second to none and do everything to make you feel at ease and relaxed with no effort at all and the food was excellent. The master of ceremonies was brilliant the day ran smooth and he kept us informed of what was going to happen through the day we had a brilliant day and evening and on leaving the hotel we were given a gift voucher to spend in the restaurant which after the honeymoon ill be getting used. can not praise the hotel and staff enough thank you so much xx

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure for me to have been given the opportunity to hold your perfect wedding.
What can I say? It was a memorable wedding for me, I would like to wish you all the happiness in your lives together and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My daughter was married at Briars Hall Hotel on 5th October, nine months to the day after we first visited to meet with Paul Dunbavin, the manager, and consider it as a possible venue. Although they viewed other venues, my daughter and her fiancé felt that none of them offered the service, facilities or ambiance of Briars Hall.
As we had 116 guests for the ceremony, and the orangery holds slightly less than this, Paul arranged a licence for the Ellerbrook Suite. The room looked amazing on the day and my daughter got the long aisle she had always wanted.
As the wedding breakfast was also in the Ellerbrook Suite, the staff had just two hours to turn the room around, whilst we all enjoyed a champagne reception both inside and, owing to the unseasonably warm weather, outside the orangery. During this time, the grounds were used for photographs and provided a beautiful autumnal background.
Owing to the professionalism and team work of those who prepared the room for the wedding breakfast, the table settings and our floral displays looked stunning. The staff are trained in Silver Service and the meal was served with the utmost politeness and efficiency. The food was hot, plentiful and delicious. Since the wedding day we have received countless positive comments and accolades from our guests, regarding both the wedding breakfast and the generous evening buffet.
As part of the package, we had exclusive use of the bar area and orangery as well as the Ellerbrook Suite. This meant that there was additional space when evening guests arrived and, also, a comfortable ‘chill-out’ area where people could chat or mingle if they wanted a break from the music.
The bar staff worked extremely hard throughout the day and evening and were constantly smiling. The cosiness and warm atmosphere generated by the layout and facilities, as well as the dedication, hard work and attitudes of Paul and his staff, ensured a wonderful, relaxing day.
All 26 rooms had been booked out to family and friends so, after ‘carriages’ at 12.30am, we were invited to carry on celebrating in the residents’ bar lounge if we so wished. Everyone did wish.
After finally succumbing to sleep, we all went up to our lovely clean rooms and comfortable beds.
Breakfast the next morning, served in the Stones Restaurant, was another delight; freshly cooked to order and again with ample portions. The sun was shining as we packed up and said our reluctant goodbyes.
During the nine months of planning, I was, on occasion, a bit of a ‘Brides-mumzilla’- as Paul will probably testify. I regularly wanted to discuss and confirm the finest of details and, always, Paul would assure me that everything would fully match our requirements. I need not have worried. At all! Everything about Briars Hall Hotel was absolutely PERFECT and I recommend it to anyone looking for a wonderful wedding venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your daughters special day, and in particular my friendly and helpful team. I will be sure to share your comments with them. I think it is crucial in this industry to be the best and to give all our customers and guests a perfect experience when they step through our doors. I am very lucky to have a management team with over 30years combined experience within the industry and I think it shows with their professionalism. Thanks again for your wonderful comments and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lathom
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southport (Ormskirk) Hotel
16.1 mi away
Whitehall Hotel
Whitehall Hotel
#3 of 4 in Darwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lancashire Manor Hotel
16.1 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briars Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briars Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Briars Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Briars Hall Barn Briars Lane, Lathom, Ormskirk L40 5TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Lathom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lathom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an 18th century Manor House Briars Hall at Lathom has been lovingly restored and converted into a first class country hotel. Briars Hall has an excellant reputation for its attentive and friendly staff making it the perfect venue for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Briars Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing