We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting for our daughters wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Briars Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Lathom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for our daughters wedding”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

What an excellent day - as soon as we arrived we were met by Rob (Master of Ceremonies for the day) he talked us through what to do and where to go. We had drinks outside as the weather was good. After photos we went into Stones suite where we had our wedding breakfast. What an excellent meal - everything pipeing hot and plenty of it. The staff and service all the way through the day and night worked hard to keep us happy. And I can honestly say that they all really did just that.
As we stayed the night the rooms are clean and comfortable.
Breakfast - Superb

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front of the hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank callumsrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I have passed your kind words on to Rob and the rest of the staff that worked on your daughters special day. It pleases me that we were able to exceed your expectations on the wedding day with the food and service.
I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    57
    25
    13
    3
See reviews for
143
128
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Had the best wedding ever staff where wonderful from booking the wedding right up until the end could'nt wish for better for my daughter thank you to everyone for the most amazing day food was fab.

Room Tip: If your planing a wedding they will give you the best day ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am glad that your daughter had a great day and that yourself and your guests enjoyed the food. See you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel from the outside looked lovely, with beautiful gardens set in a peaceful location. However, when first entering our room, dissapointment does not sum up what we felt! the room was tiny, they shower was like a drip, we had one wardrobe to hsare between the two of us with no draws. The wardrobe also played home to an extra duvet meaning we had to move that on to the minimal floor space to put our suits and dress in the wardrobe for the wedding the next day.
After deciding to have an early night, we were disturbed all night by our neighbours, through no fault of their own but due to the paper thin walls.
That being said, the dinner was lovely, and wedding beautiful, with the staff being especially friendly. I reccomend this for a pub meal or event but do not stay!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bear90_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that your stay was marred by your disappointment with the bedroom. We have 4 different size rooms, single, double, king-size and suite. Unfortunately the double rooms we have are a little smaller than the king-size or suites. This however is usually sufficient for a guest staying one night with us. During the last 3 years all the bedrooms have been refurbished, this included trying to make the rooms quieter. I apologize for your night being disturbed due to noise.
Thank you for commenting about the food being good and I'm happy you enjoyed the wedding the following day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

After attending a wedding service and reception stayed overnight. Service good, a couple of bars so if one got a little busy you can opt to walk through to another. Drinks prices average but not over the top. Staff friendly and helpful during the whole of our stay. Rooms were very clean and compact with amenities as stated. A good nights sleep followed by a home cooked full english which was hot and nicely prepared. We would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docmus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm pleased that your stay with us at Briars Hall was a pleasant one. For a country house hotel it is important for us to get right all the points you have mentioned so thank you. I look forward to welcoming you back to Briars Hall in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2012

excellent wedding ceremony. Foos was lovely and good portions.The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They made our day extremely memorable! would highly reccommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Recently attended a family wedding here and although we don't live far away we booked a room as it was easier. Room was spacious and spotlessly clean, food was excellent and the wedding was absolutely lovely. The staff were friendly and very helpful, would definitely recommend this hotel for a wedding or even just a meal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariewarrington007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Attended a wedding at Briars Hall last weekend and having been to weddings at all of the venues in Upholland, this wedding was far far superior and had a touch of 'class'. The food was amazing, the service and staff exemplary. Next weekend I intend to dine there again and no doubt with this level of service and good food I will dine there many times. I would never consider any other wedding venue. Believe me, this is the best! Katie and Jo had the best day of their lives and so did their family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnRobyMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for spending the time to post an amazing comment for Briars Hall as your wedding venue. I'm so glad that we managed to surpass your expectations of your special day. We try to provide the highest level of service and by your comments it looks like we succeeded. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your wedding.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lathom
5.0 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
Rufford Arms Hotel
Rufford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rufford
261 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newburgh
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briars Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briars Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Briars Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Briars Lane, Lathom, Ormskirk L40 5TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Lathom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lathom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an 18th century Manor House Briars Hall at Lathom has been lovingly restored and converted into a first class country hotel. Briars Hall has an excellant reputation for its attentive and friendly staff making it the perfect venue for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Briars Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing