We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Debbie & Steve's Wedding 2011” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briars Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Briars Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Lathom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Debbie & Steve's Wedding 2011”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

To all at Briars Hall , on behalf of Debbie and myself we would like to thank you for all your hard work in making our wedding day a truely magical event, one that is still being talked about 2 months later .
From our first meeting with Paul, to sitting down with Karen and then being guided through the day by Kev and his team, it was all down to their hard work and dedication that made our day stand out .
No matter how much money you spend or how meticulously you plan the event at the end of the day its only going to be as good as the people who host it, and they could not be faulted in any way .
The room was dressed exactly as Debbie had envisaged it, down to the smallest detail, the food was what can only be described as perfect, given that all guests had a choice in all courses and there was also another wedding to cater for, even the buffet at the evening reception was faultless, the proof being no food left even though we had over catered for the people invited .
The attention to detail was unbelievable, from the heart shaped butter on the tables to our names wrote in chocolate on the dessert plates, which all came as a suprise to us .
Our guests and ourselves had taken 18 of the 24 rooms and again no complaints from anyone, after the wedding was over we retired to the residents bar for a nightcap or 2 before retiring for the night, then over a delicious cooked breakfast we chatted with friends and family before bringing our Briars Hall expierience to an end .
We only hope that anybody planning a wedding in the future, who is undecided as to where to stage their event, might read this and decide on Briars Hall, you will not be dissapointed.
Once again on behalf of Debbie and myself many thanks to all involved in making our day one that we will always remember .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    55
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
136
126
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We had our Wedding yesterday at Briars Hall and I felt compelled to write a review (never bothered before). We were made to feel comfortable from our first visit as the Staff (Paul, Karen, Kev and Billy) were all extreamly helpful and accommadating. They made our day very special by reassuring us through out the whole process. We looked at several wedding venues before we went to Briars and it was the least expensive of the lot and as Paul went through everything included far better value for money. Our day yesterday was amazing the rooms and orangery looked perfect all dressed up, the food was great quality and the amount fantastic (nobody was left hungry) The in-house DJ was very good and everyone was dancing all night. The Bridal suite is great complete with a jaquzzi and champagne. A huge huge thank you to everyone at Briars Hall for making our day enjoyable and memorable, I could not have asked for anymore and could not recommend you highly enough. Stephen & Rachael Ashcroft

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Briars Hall Hotel is a fabulous place and helped make our wedding the most amazing day ever! We held our wedding reception here on 15th September and haven't got one bad thing to say.

From the moment we first looked at Briars Hall a year previous to our wedding, we were treated brilliantly by staff. Considering that the hotel seems to be becoming an expert at hosting weddings - they treated us as though we were their only wedding - totally special and attentive with nothing too much trouble.

The staff are all lovely and incredibly helpful. Both Paul and Karen are a huge credit to Briars Hall and were a brilliant help in the run up to the wedding. Having handed over all our setting up decoration to the staff, they put our tables together exactly as we had hoped :-) Family & Friends all commented on how polite, friendly and helpful all the staff were.

The food was also amazing, with lots of our guests again telling us how much they enjoyed everything.

Our only regret is that we can't do it all again!

Thank you Briars Hall for being a very big and special part of our day :-)

Claire & Paul (Mr & Mrs Rogers)

p.s. we also ate in the pub before the wedding with the meal and wine deal and that was amazing too!!! We'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is a lovely little hotel. We had an exellent evening meal and wine deal, all very good value. Our room was clean, modern and well decorated. The bed was perhaps a bit soft for us, but good nevertheless. A nice bathroom, with a slightly noisy fan, as is the case in lots of hotels we find. Breakfast was excellent, the best we have had for some time - we stay in a number of hotels for business - and how good to be served - everything was hot and tasty. It was a bonus to have free wi-fi and a good well stocked hospitality tray. The staff are all lovely, friendly and helpful - We are thinking of going back for a few days stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_Willowslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at Briars Hall. I'm delighted you enjoyed your experience and your comments about breakfast really please me. I see a lot of other hotels doing buffet style breakfasts these days and although nice being able to help yourself, I think when you come to a hotel it is nice to have the pleasure of being served by a member of staff.
Hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We had our wedding at Briars on 1st September and had The most Amazing day. From the moment we made our first enquiry through to the day we checked out after the wedding we were treated fantastically. We really cannot thank all the staff enough, but especially Paul, Karen and Billy who all ensured our day worked like clockwork and completely took the stress away from us.
All our guests raved about the fabulous food (especially the scrumptious strawberry tart) and commented on the wonderfully attentive staff.
A truly professional service which is very reasonably priced, I have sung your praises constantly since then - helping to secure a wedding booking for you next Easter :-)
Our only probelm?.... we want to do it all over again!!!
Clare & Andy Timon

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for your amazing comments about our attentive staff and great venue for your wedding. It was my pleasure hosting your special day and I'd like to thank you for giving me the opportunity to take part in your day.
As far as doing it all over again...... We do renewal of vows if you would like to do the same again next year!!
I look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again for the recommendation.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We recently had our wedding reception at Briars Hall. The staff were so helpful and made our special day wonderful. The food was amazing and as for the service well you couldnt ask for much more.They definately went the extra mile for us. The rooms were wonderful and very well maintained. We would definatley recommend this venue to anyone looking for their wedding day.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardThorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your wedding with us at Briars Hall. Going that 'extra mile' is what we do best. I try to ensure that every customer gets the same high level of service by all members of my team.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your special day.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had our wedding here on 26th August 2011. The staff were probably the most organised and friendly we have had the pleasure of being served by. Absoluteley nothing was too much to ask of them. The food was excellent, both the main meal and the evening buffet. Most of our guests made comments on how well the staff performed throughout the day.Rob, our Master of Ceremonies is a Credit to the venue {thanx rob you are first class} Karen our Wedding co-ordinator is also a Credit to Briars Hall She took care of everything from start to finish{thanx karen for a good job well done} Her Attention to detail was Absoluteley amazing. Overall i would not hesitate in reccomending Briars Hall to anyone. The proprieters of Briars Hall are lucky to have such hard working consiensious staff. We would however suggest air conditioning be considered for the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
WOW, What can I say other than thank you so much for your amazing comments regarding your wedding with us here at Briars Hall. I have printed your feedback and displayed it on our staff notice board for all to see. Rob in particular is on top of the world with your comments about his involvement in making your day so special. Air conditioning is on my Christmas shopping list for the Stones. Thanks again, hope to see you soon.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lathom
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southport (Ormskirk) Hotel
16.1 mi away
Whitehall Hotel
Whitehall Hotel
#3 of 4 in Darwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lancashire Manor Hotel
16.1 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briars Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briars Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Briars Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Briars Hall Barn Briars Lane, Lathom, Ormskirk L40 5TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Lathom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lathom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an 18th century Manor House Briars Hall at Lathom has been lovingly restored and converted into a first class country hotel. Briars Hall has an excellant reputation for its attentive and friendly staff making it the perfect venue for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Briars Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing