We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family environment and beautiful views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Camecuaro

Ranked #24 of 106 things to do in Michoacan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A well-kept lake and park, complete with 300-year-old cypress groves.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great family environment and beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I never get tired of visiting "Lago de Camecuaro", the woodsy area gives it a great serene feeling, the crystal clear waters are refreshing to just watch, Taking one of the little boats to get toured around the lake with your couple is just perfect. They have great food from the local vendors, and if you want some live musical entertainment, you have plenty to choose from.There are some artisan vendors around the lake and just outside as well. If you ever come to Michoacan, its a place well worth visiting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cesar U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing lake I've been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I love Camecuaro is one of the most beautiful lakes I've been to. My family lives in Zamora and its a place we visit every time I visit Michoacan. The water is crystal clean and refreshing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bug1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lago de Camecuaro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Several years ago a couple of friends and I took a tour of pottery villages in Michoacan with Traditions Mexico. We spent 2 nights in a hotel adjacent to the lake. We arrived on a national holiday and the park around the lake was packed with people. There were 3 wandering bands playing loudly and a cloud of dust hung over the whole area. 5 minutes of that was more than enough for me. I returned the following morning at 07:00 and was blown away. The only living things I saw were 3 swans paddling about. The lake is spring fed and the water was crystal clear with stands of cypress trees in and around the lake. Many colorful boats were tied up along the shore, which are available for rent. I highly recommend a visit, but preferably early in the morning on a week day. On a side note: one of my friends apparently ate somthing that made her ill and she passed out in the bathroom. She banged her head and awoke in a pool of blood. She was rushed to the hospital in the nearby town, x-rayed sewn up and taken back to the hotel via ambulance. The charge was a mere US$130.00. The doctor came by the next day to see how she was doing and refused payment for the house call. Amazing!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank roundfile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patzcuaro
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Michoacan Treasure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lake Camecuaro is two hours from La Casa Encantada & Patzcuaro. This is a hidden JEWEL of a place. Lake Camecuaro is at the source of some major springs. It is fed by clear springwater which then flows to Zacapu and finally ends up in Lake Chapala. The water is sparkly clean and beautiful. The lake has gorgeous very old cypress trees, elegant swans and some happy fat ducks. At one end are some VERY colorful tour boats that will take you around the lake. The weekends are busier than the weekdays but it is an extremely happy kind of busy... strolling musicians, families enjoying time off together... swimming and bathing. Great food. I camped, though there is a great hotel right outside the park.. Casa del Lago Hotel .. I am coming back midweek to sketch & paint. .. and hope some musicians stroll through then even though it is supposed to be quieter. There is nothing like strolling musicians to chase away the clouds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PatzcuaroVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Michoacan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous lake. Plenty of boats to paddle through the lake which is crystal clear and refreshing... Highly recommended!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rarredoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Camecuaro also viewed

 
Michoacan, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lake Camecuaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing