We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda de Taos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jalisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda de Taos
Save
You added Hacienda de Taos to your Saves list
Ranked #73 of 299 Specialty Lodging in Jalisco
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

What a lovely time, and in such beautiful country. From dinner around the campfire as the sun set behind the mountains, to watching birds and wildlife while we paddled the kayak, we really enjoyed this quiet and beautiful part of Mexico. The horses are very well-trained and a pleasure to ride, far above the normal level of trail horses. One note: bring warmer clothes than you think you need and expect to pile on the blankets, it gets cold, cold at night.
My favourite things: the dogs, the terrain and breakfast! Coming back next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Travelled from Ajijic to the Hacienda de Taos ranch near Los Sauces, Mexico on Feb. 8th as a group of 6. All the horses were professionally groomed and saddled upon our arrival and we were assigned to horses based on our size and level of experience. Celina made sure everyone was comfortable and understood what we could expect from our horse and and instructed us on how to handle our horse. She also keeps an eye on everyone and gives instructions continually make sure we were comfortable but also how we could assist our horse for there safety as well. We had arranged to have lunch on the ride and her incredibly able ranch hand arrived with his daughters and our amazing lunch that was way beyond our expectations. I will definitely be riding with Celina in the future as it was one of the best experience I have ever had.
Thanks Celina and Jose for great day!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The overall rating would have been lower, but my daughter enjoyed it so I compromised. To begin with, the drive from Ajijic to Los Sauces was difficult due to the road construction on the highway, as they are widening the road...and once off the main roads, we got lost several times trying to find the right dirt road that leads to the ranch. The dirt road access is in poor repair so I wasn't sure my car would make it...but it did. A SUV would be advisable here. The trip from Ajijic took 2 1/2 hours. The gate has no sign so we almost drove past it as well. Once there, we met Celina and rode for 2 hours. When I hopped up on the saddle, it slid down, but as Celina pointed out to me, I apparently didn't know how to get on a horse the right way...and also, when I dismounted, I didn't do that the right way either....

The 'trails', if you want to call them that, are not very wide and quite rocky so it was slow going up the hill...lots of prickly trees and bushes to avoid. We rode on 2 trails, had a tour of the lodge/house that she is building, and the 2 cottages that she rents out, then headed home. I'm more used to riding in open spaces, and not on an obstacle course like the rocky hills on her ranch...Overall it was not enjoyable for me, but like I said, my daughter enjoyed it, so I was happy about that.
**I would also like to point out the main picture on the TripAdvisor description is NOT this ranch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda De Tao... R, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda de Taos, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your honest review and we are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your visit to Hacienda de Taos. We pride ourselves on offering a true western experience in the beautiful and naturally rugged Mexican countryside, however, we also have riding areas on flatter land or along quiet country roads and we hope you return soon to let us show you some of the tamer side of Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Decided to drive to Hacienda de Taos on a whim before returning to the US. It was a great experience. The cabins are very cute and rustic, but not uncomfortable. The campfire dinner and breakfast were great and varied, and even had vegetarian options. The horseback rides were also excellent and more interesting than I had imagined. I had imagined more "touristy" rides, but these includes hills and a chance to walk past grazing (and slightly startled!) cows. Celina also allowed me to bring my big, lazy dog, which was very helpful. He loved the chance to play with the resident dogs, sample horse manure, and experience life in the country. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHoffman274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Last fall we had the opportunity to take our God-Daughter from England for a day out riding. It turned out to be so much more. Not only is the ranch/ride wonderful, but Celina is also. We were smiling and laughing all day long. We will be going back again soon-hopefully to stay the night in one of the adorable cabins. DO NOT MISS THIS, as part of your time in this area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheziray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Make sure to include Hacienda de Taos in your itinerary while in Mexico! It truly is the perfect ranch experience featuring: horseback-riding and riding lessons, as well as, camping trips and full moon rides. If you wish, cabins are available for overnight stays to extend the adventure! Celina is nothing short of amazing! It is obvious that her horses are well-trained and well-loved. Four of us had not been on horses in over twenty years... Celina gave us thorough instruction to ensure our confidence and safety before leading us out on a two-hour ride. Wonderful!!! Located in the Ajijic area, make the trip around Lake Chapala to Los Sauces part of the perfect experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hacienda de Taos is a great place to ride and learn about horses. It takes me back to my childhood growing up on a farm in Southern Ontario. I'm becoming a regular there. Celina is a gracious host and terrific horseperson and makes every ride special. My family likes to come also and we stay over in the cabins. They are simple but very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jalisco hotels
138.0 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,560 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Vieja Casona Hotel Spa
La Vieja Casona Hotel Spa
#1 of 2 in La Manzanilla de la Paz
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
46.6 mi away
Hotel Cermar Plaza
Hotel Cermar Plaza
#1 of 1 in La Barca
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
106.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Pedregal
#1 of 4 in Talpa
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
137.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#64 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
55.1 mi away
Charlys-Bungalows
Charlys-Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Atotonilco El Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda de Taos

Property: Hacienda de Taos
Address: Los Sauces, 46018, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 299 Specialty Lodging in Jalisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HACIENDA DE TAOS is an authentic working Guest Ranch and retreat. Located south of Lake Chapala in the state of Jalisco in Central Mexico just over an hours' drive from the Guadalajara International Airport. We are dedicated to the natural and organic ways of sustainable living and provide our guests an opportunity to commune with nature and enjoy year round activities with nature and our services associated with horseback riding adventures for all ages and experience. We have a multitude of farm animals and wild animals to learn about. Our donkey Cleopatra is always there to welcome you. In addition to our main offering of horseback riding ranging from 2 hour trail rides to week long camping excursions, survival courses in nature, we also offer horsemanship seminars, riding lessons and group events such as Artists/ Writers retreats, Women's groups, Yoga, Meditation, and many other types of retreats. Prices are in USD or equivalent in Mexican pesos. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda De Taos Mexico/Jalisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing