We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mayto
Nearby Hotels
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$380
$287
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$338
$278
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$215
$145
Bookit.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$90
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$149
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$255
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$476
$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Arcos Suites(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$96
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$164
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
12
18
6
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
18
6
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 40 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I actually camped here. They have a beautiful pool and bar with a fantastic view of the beach. I spoke to one of the guests and he was happy with the room. The owner is exceptionally kind and went out of his way to help me if I needed anything.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

we have been coming to mayto hotel for 10 years now but we just found out it cost 800 pesos per person per night
they muct have lost their mind
the last time we were there it was 450 pesos a person and that is overpriced at that
the tvs never work and the air condition is barely cold if they do work at all
we can't see any reason the hotel would raise the rates since they haven't done anything to make the place any better
the food is just average and the only real reason to go here is the pesce and quiet
it is a great area but can't see paying 800 pesos a person
thats just criminal!!
plus they got rid of all the girls who madethe place fun
one girl in particular dulce could cook tend bar and clean your room before your eggs got cold
they even got rid of her
ill stay somewhere else next time
too bad the owners don't know what they are doing....

Room Tip: sleep on the beach it s more comfortable
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The location of the Hotel Mayto cannot be beat, smack-dab in front of an incredible beach. The pool is nice, and the small outdoor restaurant serves unexpectedly good food. But . . . the service is uneven, to put it nicely. Some of the people who worked there were helpful, but others were dour and unhelpful. My bedroom was just ok, but the bathroom smelled bad. Yuck! And, it was overpriced. Ok, it is not expensive by US standards, but for this part of Mexico, it was way overpriced.

Most importantly, there is a better place right next door, the El Rinconcito. It is super friendly and far less expensive. But, the view is not as good and the food is not nearly as good. So, there is a trade off.

Room Tip: You absolutely MUST get a room with an ocean view. The rooms themselves are rather dingy. I asked, and got the front room on the ground floor in the building closer to the beach. That gave me an incredible view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eastonlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

After making a reservation months in advance,, also calling twice before arriving to get there and find out or requested room was given to someone else. Not all bad things have to be bad. We found a place about 4 miles away that makes Hotel Mayto look like the pit it is. We have always stayed at Hotel Mayto because we didn't know we had another choice.
Hotel El Cielito, totally a wonderful experience. Single cabana type rooms dotted over a 20 acre area, most with ocean views, some like ours on the cliff over looking the vast Pacific. The price was just a little more than Mayto but well worth it, the beds were comfortable, the place was clean, for Mexico standards. the restaurant built along the cliff not only had great views but pretty good food. If I was to have a draw back, it would be the pool was cold? its Mexico in the winter?

Room Tip: Don't go to Hotel Mayto, go to El Cielito.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank larrybennettgjco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hotel is a bit rustic but clean. It is on a secluded beach and a great place if you want to relax and do absolutely nothing but maybe read a book and meditate. The hotel has a restaurant and bar which was not opened on our arrival so we had to go out and explore for dinner. The only truly bad thing I have to say about the hotel is I felt it was extremely overpriced. We paid 1800 pesos for 1 room with 2 double beds for 3 people. I understand it is a beach front hotel however given the remote location, age of the hotel, tourism downturn and time of year I felt it very overpriced. We were the only guest in the hotel when we check in and I believe only 1 other room arrived after us. If the price were lower we would have stayed longer and I would be returning soon. If you are not looking for a fancy hotel or active vacation this is your place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews