We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's so sad that we can't afford this place anymore!!”
Review of Hotel Mayto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jalisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mayto
Ranked #150 of 359 Jalisco B&B and Inns
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“it's so sad that we can't afford this place anymore!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

we have been coming to mayto hotel for 10 years now but we just found out it cost 800 pesos per person per night
they muct have lost their mind
the last time we were there it was 450 pesos a person and that is overpriced at that
the tvs never work and the air condition is barely cold if they do work at all
we can't see any reason the hotel would raise the rates since they haven't done anything to make the place any better
the food is just average and the only real reason to go here is the pesce and quiet
it is a great area but can't see paying 800 pesos a person
thats just criminal!!
plus they got rid of all the girls who madethe place fun
one girl in particular dulce could cook tend bar and clean your room before your eggs got cold
they even got rid of her
ill stay somewhere else next time
too bad the owners don't know what they are doing....

Room Tip: sleep on the beach it s more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The location of the Hotel Mayto cannot be beat, smack-dab in front of an incredible beach. The pool is nice, and the small outdoor restaurant serves unexpectedly good food. But . . . the service is uneven, to put it nicely. Some of the people who worked there were helpful, but others were dour and unhelpful. My bedroom was just ok, but the bathroom smelled bad. Yuck! And, it was overpriced. Ok, it is not expensive by US standards, but for this part of Mexico, it was way overpriced.

Most importantly, there is a better place right next door, the El Rinconcito. It is super friendly and far less expensive. But, the view is not as good and the food is not nearly as good. So, there is a trade off.

Room Tip: You absolutely MUST get a room with an ocean view. The rooms themselves are rather dingy. I asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eastonlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

After making a reservation months in advance,, also calling twice before arriving to get there and find out or requested room was given to someone else. Not all bad things have to be bad. We found a place about 4 miles away that makes Hotel Mayto look like the pit it is. We have always stayed at Hotel Mayto because we didn't know we had another choice.
Hotel El Cielito, totally a wonderful experience. Single cabana type rooms dotted over a 20 acre area, most with ocean views, some like ours on the cliff over looking the vast Pacific. The price was just a little more than Mayto but well worth it, the beds were comfortable, the place was clean, for Mexico standards. the restaurant built along the cliff not only had great views but pretty good food. If I was to have a draw back, it would be the pool was cold? its Mexico in the winter?

Room Tip: Don't go to Hotel Mayto, go to El Cielito.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larrybennettgjco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hotel is a bit rustic but clean. It is on a secluded beach and a great place if you want to relax and do absolutely nothing but maybe read a book and meditate. The hotel has a restaurant and bar which was not opened on our arrival so we had to go out and explore for dinner. The only truly bad thing I have to say about the hotel is I felt it was extremely overpriced. We paid 1800 pesos for 1 room with 2 double beds for 3 people. I understand it is a beach front hotel however given the remote location, age of the hotel, tourism downturn and time of year I felt it very overpriced. We were the only guest in the hotel when we check in and I believe only 1 other room arrived after us. If the price were lower we would have stayed longer and I would be returning soon. If you are not looking for a fancy hotel or active vacation this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We spent 4 days/3 nights over the New Year's and it was wonderful. Getting there was a bit difficult (ended up hiring a taxi at the airport- was about a 2-3 hour trip) but well worth it. We were the only non-native Spanish speaking guests there. It is where the Mexicans vacation. The beach was unspoiled and went for miles. The room was clean, had a balcony and view of the ocean.Free Wifi that worked well for the most part in the room. If we went again though, we would try to book a room in the more ocean front building. (closer to the ocean). Pool was nice. Restaurant had great food (a lot of varieties of shrimp). Waves are a bit big which make swimming not possible far in the ocean but playing in the waves on the beach is fun. The only option back to Puerta Vallarta was a 7am bus which took about 2-3 hours (need to transfer to another bus if you want to get to the airport once you get to PV). Would definitely recommend this if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation away from the resort/touristy areas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcibíades O, Gerente at Hotel Mayto, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Guest
i really appreciate your valuable opinion about our Hotel, we are working day by day to improve all our services, so you can enjoy most this Paradise in Cabo Corrientes , México.
thank you and I hope to see you again soon.
the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We came across this hotel on a day trip from Purto Vallerta last year . This year we booked 3 nights . We loved the miles and miles of Virgin beach with so few people . The hotel is under new management and Al bends over backwards to make you happy . The restaurant staff who double as the cleaners are also wonderful . The hotel its self is shabby and old and needs a facelift . It nly has 9 rooms ( We loved it being small ) The pool area is beautiful and how close you are to the beach . The restaurant filled our needs however if we stayed longer the menu is limited . It needs more staff at busy times. The value for money was amazing. The treck to get there is worth it , 4 wheel drive or a jeep style car is the best . If you want excape the world a great place to go . Its about an hour and half from the bussle of Purto Vallarta .

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a balcony on the top ! You can add blow up beds which is great if u have k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gypsygirlforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were in the Mayto beach area and stayed 4 days at the Hotel Ricconcito and the Hotel Mayto respectivly. These two aformentioned places are neighbours on a very laid back, secluded beach setting.

After a four day stay at the Rinconcitto,of which I was perfectly happy with, my wife wanted a change so we moved over to the more expensive setting of the Mayto hotel. Husbands....we got to keep our wives happy...LOL!!!

The hotel Ricconcito room is a little less comfortable,however, the price and the WONDERFUL family, along with the home cooked meals, more than make up for any room price ($50 or $90) difference.

When we opted for the Hotel Mayto, we were very lucky, as the ocean front room became available for our move in.I never got to see any of the other rooms, so I cannot comment, however, I imagine they must be clean and acceptible, at least 3-3.5 star quality

This ocean front room was located quite nicely and offered a beautiful ocean view from the outside attatched, ground level sun deck. The king bed was comfortable enough and the Mexican style room decor was average to good.

The room came complete with an old style TV and a decent bathroom. The overall room atmosphere was good,however ,not great, but definitly a satisfying change for my wife over the more plain neighbouring Riconcitto. The highlight for me, was defintly the sundeck and the ocean view it afforded us.

The overall hotel property was very clean, with swaying cocunut trees, an ocean view, a nice pool and an ok ocean front, outdoor restaurant.

We didn't have any laptop or Ipad with us to checkout any wifi options, however, the hotel office offered usage of a somewhat slow computer that had apparent off and on again signal problems.

The staff was generally shy and friendly and the lady at the front desk could speak english really well.

The beach out front went on for miles and miles with nary a soul to be seen as the hotel was almost completley empty when we visited.A nearby walk (to the left) past the neighbouring Riconcitto led to the very beautiful "lovers beach" that was set between two rocky cactus hilltops, with a few catuses growing here and there.... very beautiful!!! My wife and I took some plastic sun beds with us and had this very romantic little stretch of beach almost entirely to ourselves day after day 99% of the time. I spent many an hour here in solitude experiencing extreme rest and relaxation.

Spectaculiar waves crash the shore here as the tides and winds change and it made for some great pictures and videos. We say birds flying over head and whales jumping in the distance....awesome!!!

As previously mentioned, there were only two beach fron hotels in this area.

If you'd like to spend some time with a laid back, super nice Mexican family with some killer home cooked meals,free private tours, in a less luxurios room....the stay at the Hotel Riconcitto next store.

If you want to spend almost double the money and have some luxury with a swimming pool, in colder type(but OK) atmosphere, then stay at the Hotel Mayto.

In closing:

Aside from the two aformentioned hotels is the beaty ,serenity and peacefulness of Mayto beach and the surrounding villages in the area.This area is for nature lovers who who love serenity, peace and quiet away from the modern tourist areas. If you are that type of person, you will love this area. If you like modern luxury,action,partying etc, you may become bored very quickly.

In finality:

I would rate this place a 3.5 if that option were available. It was a 3 for me and a 4 for my wife. Got to be fair now!

Room Tip: Get the ocean front room....its the most romantic for sure, offering great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KevandJho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jalisco hotels
19.1 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#2 of 4 in Yelapa
341 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
43 reviews
21.8 mi away
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
#69 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
El Cielito Cabanas
El Cielito Cabanas
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
64 reviews
19.1 mi away
Casa Bahia Bonita
Casa Bahia Bonita
#5 of 6 in Yelapa
34 reviews
18.8 mi away
Casa Pericos
Casa Pericos
#2 of 6 in Yelapa
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayto

Property: Hotel Mayto
Address: Estrella del mar #45 | Mayto, Cabo Corrientes, 48400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Jalisco
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mayto, located between the green of the Occidental Sierra Madre and the turquoise blue of the sea is one of the most beautiful and unexplored places on the Pacific Ocean: Mayto Beach. There is located Mayto Hotel, it is a paradise in Cabo Corrientes in Jalisco, Mexico; undoubtedly represents nature kept for you and an excellent option for a marvelous vacation. Mayto Beach, 9km in length, is a virgin beach which is remarkable for its natural charms, especially its mangrove swamps, bearing fantastic flora and fauna species. It is wonderful to have the opportunity to admire the fish, turtles, snakes, birds and reptiles; not to mention whales and dolphins through their extraordinary sightings. Here, you will find the perfect combination of a vacation, an adventure and a learning experience since depending on the season, the Sea Turtle's Camping Protection which invites you to be part of this ecological activity: The release of baby turtles. Fishing trips, kayaking, beach volleyball and surfing are some of the activities that you can do in this paradise. Let us indulge you at Mayto Hotel, Paradise in Cabo Corrientes, Jalisco, Mex. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Mayto Mexico/Jalisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing