We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive. Lover's island is NOT included.”
Review of Marietas Islands

Ranked #3 of 78 things to do in Nayarit
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

The trip was fairly decent. Expect to wait about 4 hours on a boat taking turns to do activities. The lover's Island was BEAUTIFUL, however me and my wife were informed that everything was already included. That "part" of the tour cost us an additional 200 dollars. Very worth it, but don't go if you're not planning on spending those extra 200.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fish"
in 274 reviews
"hidden beach"
in 743 reviews
"boat ride"
in 147 reviews
"vallarta adventures"
in 380 reviews
"punta mita"
in 78 reviews
"day trip"
in 90 reviews
"whale watching"
in 81 reviews
"paddle boarding"
in 124 reviews
"scuba diving"
in 43 reviews
"marine life"
in 29 reviews
"blue footed boobies"
in 78 reviews
"sea turtles"
in 27 reviews
"national park"
in 46 reviews
"great trip"
in 45 reviews
"eco tour"
in 33 reviews
"private boat"
in 32 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 31 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 3,352 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2018

I booked this a few days in advance knowing that the islas Marietas cave is Nationally protected and requires bookings in advance. Unfortunately this tour does not include access into the cave. This was the aspect I was most excited about for this trip. The photos on their site are deceiving, I am not mad I just think it's important for anyone booking this tour to know you will NOT have access to the cave. Otherwise the staff were great and friendly and the trip was overall goopd experience, just not what I thought I was organising and paying for. Hopefully one day we get to travel to Mexico and Puerto Vallarta and do this properly.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank natalia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Just a multitude of species in a small place ... incredible. The surrounding water is also teeming with life. Unfortunately, it is jellyfish season so we were not able to stay in the water as much as we wanted.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

The trip to Marietas islands was amazing even though you can not go to the island seeing all the birds and fish that inhabit on and around the island make the trip worthwhile.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2018

The swim to Hidden Beach is not a snorkel: no masks or fins are allowed on the beach. There can be a pretty strong current but it's not too bad. You wear a life jacket but if you are not a strong swimmer, I suggest swimming on your back for some for some of the ways so that you don't get water in your mouth.

Once you get there, the beach is beautiful and very unique. You're allowed 30 mins total for the swim there and back and time spent on the beach. There are little caves there, but only go in with a guide because there can be a little current there too. The blue-footed boobies are on the rocks above as we swam in. It was a very exciting swim!

We also dove the Mountain dive site there. It was a beautiful dive at about 60ft with rocky reef and tons of Angelfish. The water was 81 degrees and visibility was about 50ft, really good. No wet suit needed unless you have bad buoyancy and hit the rocks.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank JessicaB8861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marietas Islands also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Marietas Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing