We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal
Ranked #2 of 2 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Kristine and Santiago have created a beautiful oasis where they and their staff were unfailingly helpful and welcoming. The gardens are lovely and the accomdation is clean and comfortable. It is clear that a lot of love and thought has gone into the creation of The Flycatcher and we thoroughly enjoyed our three nights there.

We have only one small criticism - and it is only small! We missed having a ready supply of cold drinking water in our room. During our holiday in the Yucatan, staying only in small, boutique B&Bs or hotels, this was the only place where a ready supply of drinking water was not readily available in the room. Admittedly, it was a pleasure to walk up to the main house to ask for a jug of water and ice, but as far as we were concerned it was the one thing that stopped us giving The Flycatcher Inn 5 stars!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndianaOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlycatcherInnUxmalMx, Manager at The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Although we always supply bottled water in the rooms, we stopped putting individual water jugs in the rooms because when part is not used, it must be discarded. To not waste purified water, we offer additional refills and/or ice water (and ice) in the main house at no charge, and we hope that is not an inconvenience to anyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 226 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

In our travels we stay almost exclusively at B & B's so we have certain expectations. This one exceeded them all. Kristine, Santiago and sweet Rosa have all the right touches (as all the previous comments attest). I would add that their complete dedication to your enjoyment of their home and the surrounds is unparalleled. It's clear they want you to leave with a piece of this area's rich culture in your heart - and we certainly did.

Santiago and Kristine are a wealth of information and each day is begun with them visiting your table and asking how they can help plan your day of exploration. If you are lucky, they may even create a wonderful dinner on the terrace which provides a rich environment for more lively conversation!

The one item I would suggest is to provide heavy curtains in the rooms for privacy although not a big deal.

HINT FOR CHOCOHOLICS: visit the Cacao Museo located nearby. It's extremely interesting and tasty!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad choice of rooms in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikergirl500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here so much. We felt so welcome, and happy to be surrounded by such lush beauty. Santiago, the owner, is one of the kindest people I've ever met, as is his wife Kristina. We really enjoyed our conversation, and our stay here was one of the highlights of our time in the Yucatan. We visited Uxmal, which was one of my favorite ruin sites, and the Eco-museo de Cacao, which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

When you want to visit Uxmal, Labna, Sayil and Kabah, this is the best place to accommodate. Very lovely, peaceful and unique place in the middle of tropical garden. Clean and cosy rooms in small bungalows are situated in the garden under the tropical trees. Great breakfast on the terrace, fresh orange juice and very tasty local food. Very helpful and friendly staff ready to recommed you interesting places to visit. The owner of this place are very nice people. New chocolate museum is in the neighborhood and is worth seeing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaDPrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Chel house while exploring the ruins in the area. The room was clean, comfortable and set in a lovely landscaped garden. All the facilities worked well enough, though the AC was a bit noisy (vibration) and the water pressure could have been stronger, but was still OK. The included breakfast was delicious, juice, coffee, toast, fruit and eggs cooked to order - a great start to the day! Christine is very knowledgeable about the area and provided us with helpful tips and information over breakfast. All in all a very pleasant place to stay while touring the Uxmal area. Only significant improvement needed would be a pool!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejbmgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The week of February 19, 2013, my wife and I spent two wonderful nights at the Flycatcher Inn. It exceeded our expectations and was a wonderful experience. The setting, the buildings, the staff, the breakfasts, the story, the service--all were delightful. We are eager to return and "drink it in" again. Kristine and Santiago, the owners, are wonderful. They come to breakfast each morning and share their story, talk about the area, and they make recommendations about things to do/see. We greatly benefitted from their recommendations regarding a cenote for swimming, a local bakery to visit, surrounding towns to visit, a Mayan arts store in Merida, and a wonderful, authentic Mayan restaurant (just across the street)--el Chac Mool where the food was delicious and we got to watch them cook our tortillas the old fashioned way. We had read Kristine's book before arriving--"Tales of the Yucatan Jungle"--and that added an extra special dimension to the stay at Flycatcher, but that is not necessary to have a wonderful experience there. The setting is beautiful and the rooms were an oasis in the jungle. If you're within 50 km, don't miss it. - Chuck Montgomery (Des Moines, Iowa)

Room Tip: All the rooms looked to be equally good. I was intrigued with the Owl's Nest and may stay ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I do not want to repeat what has been said by lots of visitors in recent years: about rooms, breakfast, garden with birds, quietness, etc. It is all true! Fine. I would rather recommend future guests looking for famous ruins, haciendas, cenotes and all the touristic pack, just take one hour of their time walking to the village of Santa Elena and back to the hotel. And then have a talk with Katrine about people living there.
Thank you Santiago for switching off your pc and giving me the chance to exploit the small signal; thank you Rosa for all pieces of information you emailed mew before I came; thank you Katrine for your active presence in the community.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
8.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
9.0 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
8.8 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
8.5 mi away
La Casa del Mago
La Casa del Mago
#1 of 1 in Uxmal
40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eco-Hotel Nueva Altia
Eco-Hotel Nueva Altia
#1 of 1 in Santa Elena
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal

Address: Corner of Hwy 261 and Calle 20, Santa Elena 97890, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range: $56 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated bed and breakfast boutique hotel, 10 minutes southeast of magnificent Uxmal, a perfect base for exploring central Yucatan. Family/owner operated, guests treated with personal attention, situated on 3 acres of gardens and orchards, walled secure parking. 5 separate rooms and 1 large suite and 2 private cottages, all with their own private entrances and private bathrooms complete this lovely boutique hotel. Immaculately clean and modern rooms decorated with authentic Mexican and Mayan arts and hand made wrought iron furnishings. Pillow-top beds and fine bedding. Complimentary full breakfast of tropical fruits, great coffee, and homemade breads start your day. Extensive expert local knowledge tourist information available. Transportation and Merida airport pick up on request. Plan 3 days minimum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal Santa Elena, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing