We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“An Experience”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was the second time that I stayed here and it was a lot of fun. Valerie the owner was there to great us and just ever so kind and helpful. Our party had 3 of the Mayan huts for our stay all of the rooms were lovely as they were the previous time that I'd been here. The main reason to stay here is to visit Uxmal or other Mayan sites on the Ruta Puuc. This is THE place to stay for a 'Mayan' experience. Surrounded by jungle in these 'huts' is quite an experience on its own BUT one can have the Mayan jungle experience and still sleep in a super comfy bed, with fabulous sheets and a modern bathroom with thick thirsty towels. The breakfast is lovely tropical fruits on the patio. Breakfast was so pleasant that we really had to make an effort to get up from the table to get off to Uxmal (which is only a few minutes away). I could have sat there in tht lovely setting until luchtime, it was so pleasant. As well there is a great pool, very clean as well. Valerie really makes you feel welcome and I will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Eat here- the food is very good. Better that what you will find in the village of Santa Elena
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabella333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for your lovely comments and so happy you enjoyed the experience.I am really happy how the breakfast patio turned out.. I find myself sitting there at times so that I can get the feel of how the guests would like it. We now have lighting around the patio so one can enjoy the evenings too. A great place to contact with internet and play a few games.
Take care and know that you are always welcome to come back
What is that they say here in Mexico... mi casa es su casa
cheers
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    65
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
115
261
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in Wolis Nah (a real adobe hut) which was circular with two double beds and a single and lovely bathroom. It even had its own special parking space! The pool was great and the food particularly good, especially the breakfasts served out on a patio in the gardens. Of course the best thing about the Pickled Onion is Valerie Pickles! She is so friendly (and a fellow countrywoman of ours, with no loss of Lancashire accent!) and very knowledgeable of the area. When my son mentioned that he loved dragon fruit (from a previous holiday in Malaysia) she specially got some for him and we all ate it as part of our glorious breakfast fruit plates! Great service and everything beautiful and clean.

Room Tip: The Wolis Nah is ideal for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkNosedPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I would like to say a special thanks to you and your family for coming and staying with me at The Pickled Onion . It was a pleasure and delight to have you all here.Ah yes the dragon fruit... so exotic and delicious one cannot imagine that it is a fruit from a cactus. You came just at the right time when the fruit is in season.Not only that my own plants are about to bear fruit for the first time. I am so excited and go out every day to see how they are coming along.I will certainly think of you all when I am picking them and eating.
Again thank you for your comments
Ta Ra then ( a real lancashire goodbye , for now )
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This B&B is truly a refreshing place for those who had been wandering hotels in Yucatan, searching for a little bit of fresh air (without air con), comfort (quite hard to find a good mattress in general) and really good food!
We spent 3 weeks in Yucatan and this place was all of that and more! Hot water, great swimming pool, great bed and beautiful room. And such a pleasure to find a good desert in the middle of nowhere!! Try the cheesecake, a wonder. Great breakfast too. All in all, the best value and place in a 3 weeks trips!

Room Tip: we had the purple room near the breakfast terrace, perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginieericf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for this glowing report. It means so much to me to read comments like this.So many people have written to me privately telling me how it was the best place they had stayed and the best food in their whole journey of the Yucatan.I feel humbled.
The breakfast terrace can now serve in the evening for playing table games,internet,or my guests can enjoy their evening meals outside..... great for the smokers too! The Terrace has now been illuminated with soft romantic lighting which gives another special addition to the Pickled Onion .
You and your family will always be welcomed here
Again thank you
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Múnich, Alemania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Everything was great in this place! The bungalows are so beautiful und everything is clean, everybody is friendly and helpful. Also the breakfast was very good - a beautiful fruit plate :-) GREAT! If you are travelling with your own car, it´s perfectly situated close to Uxmal. Otherwise it could be difficult to get there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments.... it was delightful to have you and your family staying here.Also thank you for the comments about the staff I will certainly relay this to them.
I agree with you that it is much better to have a car in this area. One can arrive here by bus and see Uxmal and Kabah but the other areas without transport is difficult............ but for those of you that would like a local experience we can certainly obtain a typical mototaxi to take you to the other ruins and the price is quite reasonable.
I hope you have many more exciting travels ahead of you
take care and again thank you
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Pickled Onion with a friend are enjoyed ourselves immensely. The owner/operator and her staff made our stay very enjoyable - great service and lovely suites and restaurant. The accommodations are unique and fully modern - very comfortable and beautiful gardens. The food was typical of the Yucatan and was delicious.
We will definitely go back for more exploration in this special area. The cocoa museum was very informative and the proximity to the Uxmal Mayan ruins and several other ruins in the area. And at the end of the day - relax at the Pickled Onion. Perfect!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much It was lovely having you stay with me ... I look forward to your return one day it will be a great honour to have you back
I hope too, as I just heard the news of the terrible flooding in Calgary, that you are safe and well . Sending prayers to all in Calgary at this time and outlying districts.
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hey travelmates....

Before I stayed in this lovely hotel, I never dreamt of finding such a cute place in a not so crowded region of Campeche state. After driving several hours to this place, I was really suprised to find this unique spot in Santa Elena. Some maya style palapas (huts with adobe walls and thatched roof) welcome you, super clean, spacious, equipped with private bathroom and even a fridge to cool your own goodies (absolutely OK to bring your own stuff). A ceiling fan gives the well deserved atmosphere (don't forget to close ALL windows during the day) after a hot day spent with crawling around the Uxmal ruins. If still to hot, enjoy a swim in the lovely pool and let the staff bring you a lovely cocktail.
The palapas are spread in a well maintained garden area, on a lovely terrace you will enjoy the super breakfast.

The attached restaurant serves high quality food (Try the "Poc Chuc" - or something like this), the always friendly staff never leaves you a second alone and taking care of all your requests. The Pickled Onion is a good base to explore Uxmal, the Ruta Puuc ruins, the cacao museum and the Grutas de Llotun.

The owner, Valerie, is very welcoming and helpful, and always in the mood for a small chat.
I never regret having picked this place to stay, the quietness makes it even more worth to say "Hello". I can defintely recommand this hotel.

Fritz

P.S.: Keep in mind there is no ATM in Santa Elena. So have sufficent money with you, or visit Ticul or the Uxmal visitor center to get more :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello Fritz. Thank you so very very much for this lovely comment. It will certainly help other travellers along the way that what a unique atmosphere but with all mod cons.
You were a delight to have around this place. Your positive energy radiated from morning til night and you made our work so easy.You would be welcomed back anytime.
Again thank you
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Campania, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This owner is a pretty middle aged English woman who welcomed us. She fell in love with Mexico and left her country to sleep on an hammock! Kind educated...simply wonderful! we fell in love with her and her tales. Ah yes the food was good and the recipes offered were original. ;-) hugs from Italy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianluca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and so happy you enjoyed everything here and my stories hope they were not too boring!
Many people think because of the name of the restaurant they will not get traditional Yucatan fare... but far from it . One of our best sellers is the infamous Poc Chuc along with Salbutes and Panuchos .
I wish you well and wherever you journey in your life I hope you enjoy all the experiences
take care
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
8.8 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
9.2 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
8.6 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
56 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Puuc
Hotel Puuc
#1 of 1 in Oxkutzcab
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant

Property: The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Address: Carretera 261 Uxmal a Kabah | Uxmal, Santa Elena 98760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Eco-Boutique Bed and Breakfast located close to Uxmal, Kabah, Sayil and Labnah. Quaint Maya style rooms, complete with private entrance, bathrooms, refrigerator ,coffe maker bottled water,toiletries, safety boxes, Wi Fi in all rooms ,clean, comfortable and secure, set in peaceful surroundings. Rooms are adorned with my own paintings. Beautiful gardens with labyrinth. Area for Yoga, Tai chi etc. Mini Spa.Swimming pool Excellent restaurant where you can taste some of the Yucatan cuisine. Located close to the village where you can experience Maya life as it really is.The bar awaits you for the best cocktails/margaritas in the area, as well as wine and beer.You have the luxury of Wi fi in all areas including your rooms .An artisan shop where you can buy items including locally made hammocks and snack shop if you want a small snack in-between meals. All the staff are local people from Santa Elena and all structures were build by local people too, including wood work, iron work etc I maybe a foreign owner but how good that work has been created for the local people who would otherwise not have an income. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Santa Elena, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing