We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

If you are going to make the ruta Puuc, this is the place to stay! A b&b made with love!
It has the feeling of home but in the middle of nowhere in Mexico! Very close to Uxmal so the place is really inspiring!
Very comfy and sweet! Good value for what you pay! Once you stay for 1 night you won't want to leave!
The restaurant is very good too!
Valerie is a wonderful woman who decided to move from England to Mexico 8 years ago... and you will understand why! She shines with happiness.

This is a must! :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GpTrululuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

I appreciate your time in making a comment on trip adviser it really means a lot to me .
I am so happy that you enjoyed stay and that you felt comfortable and relaxed.
So many times people say they wish they could have stayed one night longer.... this to me means so much. It has been a lot of hard work to get to this point but I am happy with the results and more happy when I have lovely people staying like yourselves
Again thank you
Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 526 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

I must have offended the owner when at my arrival I had put in the restaurant, what had been pointed out as the reception, my backpack (its protection coat evil messed up in the bus) on a chair standing at the wall for no obvious reason.
She had been unfriendly from the first moment on, making more a impatient gesture than speaking words to free the chair. Her answer to my question that I am looking for a single cabaña was that available would be only a big cabaña for $88, but it would be with fridge and coffeemaker.
Searching to get away from civilization for a while I told this wouldn't be what I was looking for. "If your budget does not allow it, I have nothing else for you." "It's not dependant on my budget, but I am not looking for a fridge and a coffeemachine. I have lived in Yucatan very simple and this is what I am looking for."
I had for all the time I had to do with her the feeling that she really wasn't able to stand me. I wondered why. From my outlooks there was not any reason given for that.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank MonikaMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for you comment on trip adviser
I am so sorry that you felt this way upon your arrival .
The room I offered you was the only one left at this time and the price of this family room that houses up to 5 people is 68US . I dont acutally have rooms at the high price that was quoted on the comment. The less expensive rooms where all taken so I could not offer you anything else. And as you mentioned to me you were looking to pay a lot less.... All the rooms are equipped with fridges and coffee makers ,toiletries and more.
I am accustomed to receiving many backpackers looking for acomodation but most , not all, are normally looking for the price range of $200 pesos a night or even less....In this changing world of the yucatan these prices are difficult to come by or if you do the rooms are in disarray . I know because I have lived here in the Yucatan for more than 8 years now!

As for the chairs I was concerned seeing a huge backpack that was placed on the restuarant chairs that are new, made of bamboo and nicely upholstered cushions , I am sure most people would appreciate my concern.
Again I thank you for your comment and I hope you have better luck in the future
Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was staying at a local hotel and wanted to find a place close by for dinner. had some cold beer and some really good mexican food. was just what I wanted. i didnt stay at the hotel but if its as good as the food I would stay there on my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Upnorthtransplant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your review on trip adviser.........
I am very happy that you enjoyed the food here and the cold beer! I hope to see you again in the future You would be very welcomed!
Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent only one night in the Pickled Onion in our trip from Calakmul to the Puuc Route.
We arrived very late in the night (22.30) but the owner Valerie was still waiting for us and, when we told her we hadn't eaten yet, she immediately prepared an excellent sandwich for us. The breakfast also was delicious as well as the lunch box we bought for the next day (sandwich, salad, fresh fruit and a small pack of dry fruits). The "cabanas" here are very nice, accurate in every detail and you will also find some books waiting for you and helping to discover this region. Our only regret? To have spent just one night here !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments
Yes, the late arrival made me a little worried wondering if all was O K . It was a relieve to see you though. People sometimes dont realize or are given the wrong information about distances and I felt so sorrow for you knowing how you must have been exasperated after such a long drive.
I am happy though for the sort time you were able to stay that you enjoyed it
Again thank you
Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is in the middle of the jungle, the huts are well furnished and very clean. The owner Valerie is very frindly and helpful. The location is perfect to see all the ruines in this area. I wouled stay there for more days then only one.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Udo_Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write on trip adviser it really means so much to me.As well as helpful for other travellers
I hope further travels take you far and wide and enjoy many more experiences along the way
Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Pickled Onion ist a very beautifull and lovely place to stay. Valerie and her Team are so friendly and helpful.The Mayan hut we stayed were very clean and so nice decorated.Thanks again for the upgrade. The Dinner and Cocktails as well as the breakfast was very delicious. We enyojed the time so much.Thanks again for meeting you and your Team.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Im so happy that you enjoyed your stay here... to get to this point it has taken 6 years to build , not without heartache and headache but we survived the worst and now reaping the best.
We will continue growing, with the help of people like yourselves ,it makes our work a pleasure .
I always pass on the comments to the staff ( who are all people from the village of Santa Elena) because it makes them feel worthwhile too .
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to trip advisor it is really appreciated
Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Valerie & her staff are warm & welcoming & make every effort to ensure guests are comfortable & well-informed. The Mayan houses are wonderful - traditionally built but with hot shower & fridge + coffee/ tea-making facilities for a perfect stay. The included breakfast is delicious - fresh & local/homemade as are other meals in the restaurant. Tip to British visitors: Valerie will love you forever if you take her some real English teabags! ;) We would dearly love to go back there...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GODFREYSBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your comment on trip advisor
It was great to have you here with me and maybe next time you will stay longer it would be the greatest of pleasure to have you again
Oh and yes yes yes I would love anyone for ever ,it they brought me some real english tea!
Ill let you know if i get some
Have a great new year and wherever you choose to travel , travel well
kindest regards
valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
8.8 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
9.2 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
8.8 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal
8.7 mi away
La Casa del Mago
La Casa del Mago
#1 of 1 in Uxmal
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant

Address: Carretera 261 Uxmal a Kabah | Uxmal, Santa Elena 97890, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range: $47 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Eco-Boutique Bed and Breakfast located close to Uxmal, Kabah, Sayil and Labnah. Quaint Maya style rooms, complete with private entrance, bathrooms, refrigerator ,coffe maker bottled water,toiletries, safety boxes, Wi Fi in all rooms ,clean, comfortable and secure, set in peaceful surroundings. Rooms are adorned with my own paintings. Beautiful gardens with labyrinth. Area for Yoga, Tai chi etc. Mini Spa.Swimming pool Excellent restaurant where you can taste some of the Yucatan cuisine. Located close to the village where you can experience Maya life as it really is.The bar awaits you for the best cocktails/margaritas in the area, as well as wine and beer.You have the luxury of Wi fi in all areas including your rooms .An artisan shop where you can buy items including locally made hammocks and snack shop if you want a small snack in-between meals. All the staff are local people from Santa Elena and all structures were build by local people too, including wood work, iron work etc I maybe a foreign owner but how good that work has been created for the local people who would otherwise not have an income. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Santa Elena, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing