We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, peaceful, wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful, wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed just one night ,,,, only one! What a pitty!! Everything was wonderful: mayan cabanas in the garden, relaxing atmosphere, very kind and polite staff, tasty breakfast! We wish we could stay longer. The hotel landlady takes care of each guest :) Valeire, all the best for you! Do hope to come back one day to your paradise :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    63
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
114
257
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I just returned from an overnight stay with a few friends. Valerie, the owner, is friendly and helpful, our private "hut" was comfy and well-appointed, and the pool was glorious. This is a wonderful escape, with delicious food, starry skies, intimate surroundings, and an international feel. Add "best" papas fritas to the mix and no less than five stars will do.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kehoedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
184 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

If you ever travel to the Yucatan, make sure you stay/eat at the Pickled Onion. Valerie and her staff are amazing and the place is beautiful. It had authentic Mayan cabanas with all of the luxuries that you need. (Keep in mind that you are in the middle of the jungle, so bring bug spray and expect heat!) You will feel like a local in this quaint town away from all of the resorts and cruise ships. Uxmal and other ruins are very close by. The pool was cool and clean. The food was outstanding and the breakfast that is included, is huge! Skip the air conditioned resorts and see the real Mexico by visiting this little oasis.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed here with daughter (21), 2 sons (12 and 5) and my husband. Loved it! Great price, modern amenities, gorgeous fragrant gardens (one of a kind rock labyrinth), awesome pool with hanging hammock. The hut we were assigned had two queen size beds with lots of space and a twin size bed on the other side (my daughter had her little corner). I had never spent a night in an authentic mud house with a palm tree leaf roof. The floors were ceramic tile, the shower eco-friendly, very well built. There was a small fridge too. You're surrounded by birds, it's like going back to nature. The price included a superb healthy breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delpilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

On a day of exploring Uxmal and a chocolate museum nearby St. Elena, my friends introduced me to the quaint Pickled Onion B&B. The very personalbe owner Valerie has created a unique and special place here to eat, sleep and relax. After a swim in the pool and a most scrumptious (and bountiful) meal, I explored nature within her exquisite grounds. A calming walk in the labrynth, more food and many laughs, I completed my night with a peaceful sleep in one of various distinctive mayan hut lodgings.

I highly recommend this special place for the reasons above, but also as it is clean and reasonaby priced.

Thank you so much Valerie for creating and sharing this sanctuary - I can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: All Valerie's rooms are nice, clean, warm showers, include bottled water and coffee supplies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LongLiveCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at The Pickled Onion for a night while we visited Uxmal nearby. From the wonderfully kept gardens to the beautiful bungalows, our time here was really perfect. The owner, Valerie, obviously puts a lot of thought into the details that make anyone's stay here comfortable and relaxing -- coffeepot in the room, a night light, mosquito netting that surpasses its practicality and actually feels romantic. Even the pool is enhanced by a hammock that floats above the shallow end. The fruit trees, lounge chairs and greenery around the palapas also make the outside environment as inviting as the cozy huts. The complimentary breakfast consisted of a full plate of ripe, fresh fruits, delicious breads and honey, juice and coffee. It was so satisfying and honestly surpassed our expectations.

Valerie's suggestions of sights in the area, including the small mummy museum in town were all greatly appreciated and added to our time there. Without hesitation, The Pickled Onion was one of our favorite places to stay and one of the best values in the Yucatan. It served as a great base for visiting Uxmal and spending some time outside of Merida.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duranatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

While staying in Chicxulub , near Progreso, for a few months, the Pickled Onion in Santa Elena was recommended to us by others in our area. Their praise was not unfounded! Valerie has a wonderful spot and she has built it slowly into a magical oasis. Her British heritage shows in the gardens, the attention to detail in the unique wattle "cabins" and the great food make this a haven after a day of climbing ruins. Valerie is very willing to share her extensive knowledge of the area. She will also help arrange for a driver if needed...our car broke down and Valerie made a call and arranged a driver for us at a reasonable rate. If you run into issues finding the Pickled Onion in the village, just ask any local for the "cebolla" (pronounced like "ceboya" which means "onion").

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
8.8 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
9.2 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
8.6 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Puuc
Hotel Puuc
#1 of 1 in Oxkutzcab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#2 of 2 in Ticul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant

Property: The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Address: Carretera 261 Uxmal a Kabah | Uxmal, Santa Elena 98760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Eco-Boutique Bed and Breakfast located close to Uxmal, Kabah, Sayil and Labnah. Quaint Maya style rooms, complete with private entrance, bathrooms, refrigerator ,coffe maker bottled water,toiletries, safety boxes, Wi Fi in all rooms ,clean, comfortable and secure, set in peaceful surroundings. Rooms are adorned with my own paintings. Beautiful gardens with labyrinth. Area for Yoga, Tai chi etc. Mini Spa.Swimming pool Excellent restaurant where you can taste some of the Yucatan cuisine. Located close to the village where you can experience Maya life as it really is.The bar awaits you for the best cocktails/margaritas in the area, as well as wine and beer.You have the luxury of Wi fi in all areas including your rooms .An artisan shop where you can buy items including locally made hammocks and snack shop if you want a small snack in-between meals. All the staff are local people from Santa Elena and all structures were build by local people too, including wood work, iron work etc I maybe a foreign owner but how good that work has been created for the local people who would otherwise not have an income. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Santa Elena, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing