We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising taste of old Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Taverna Intru U Vicu
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed there four nights in early May, based on reviews of Toby P and kenan15. I was looking for a special place to base out of in Calabria, and this was definitely a special, family run place. Francesco was away the first two days of my visit. No one else spoke any English, but were friendly and helpful as could be. I got out my Italian phrasebook and became much better prepared to answer their questions about my preferences for meals. I recalled traveling 40 years ago when English was not so prevalent all over the world. The village is a piece of history, largely empty of full time residents, with most of the homes now passed on to younger generations as holiday places. Views abound, and I was immersed in a world of stone construction at the top of a precipice for defense against marauding pirates. The village and the inn are centuries removed from the beach strip development 1000' below along the coast.
I ate dinner at the Taverna each night. Always excellent, simple Italian food of fresh ingredients, wonderfully prepared. Francesco's mom reminded me of my grandmother, passed away many years ago, but with a similar presence and mastery of her kitchen.
The location of Belmonte Calabro was not ideal for my interests due to distance and travel times, and yet Taverna Intru u vicu will stick with me as the most vivid memory of my time in Calabria.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dickanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 30 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed one night in April. The town is very quiet but is like something out of a film set in terms of how picturesque it is. You want to look around every corner and get lost in the place.

A short uphill walk from the piazza (where you can park for free) through winding streets after driving up some old mountainous roads. Good fun if you like driving! Definitely gives you a sense of arriving somewhere special.

Our host, Francesco, is a lovely guy who has worked incredibly hard on the place, always making improvements to the garden and buildings. He was so friendly and welcoming. He opened the restaurant and kitchen just for us as we were the only people staying there out of season. He and his mum's cooking is incredible. I've been craving their spaghetti vongole ever since I left. He keeps excellent wine and is a lovely guy to chat to as he pops in and out with your food and drink. Could quite happily spend an evening just chatting to him and having a drink.

The room was large but really cosy with a beautiful sea view from our window, over the Belmonte rooftops. We were kept very comfortable and happy the whole time we were there.

Will definitely return when we are next back in the area and would strongly recommend for anyone wanting to experience this beautiful part of Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed in Room 1 for one night in late August. Belmonte Calabro is like a postcard, incredibly beautiful, charming, and full of history. After winding our way up ancient and narrow mountain roads, we were grateful to park in a small piazza (the closest you can get by car) and walked the remaining 100m or so up to the hotel. This would be quite difficult with large suitcases or for older travelers, but it is worth the walk! The room was very spacious and quite clean, though the bathroom is tiny (but clearly shown in the website's photos). The view from the balcony was outstanding. The owner and his mother were sweet and helpful. Best of all was the breakfast and dinner in the adjacent garden, truly the most spectacular setting and with excellent cooking by the owner's mother. Very reasonably priced, unique accommodations, the experience of a lifetime. You won't regret this adventure!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank manuperrone77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evadalla85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Ale Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoli16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intruvicu, Proprietario at A Taverna Intru U Vicu, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmonte Calabro
0.5 mi away
Villaggio Albergo Belmonte
Villaggio Albergo Belmonte
#1 of 1 in Belmonte Calabro
66 reviews
5.8 mi away
Guest House Mare e Luna
Guest House Mare e Luna
#1 of 2 in Fiumefreddo Bruzio
13 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mediterraneo Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Trevi Village
Trevi Village
#1 of 8 in Amantea
699 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel La Tonnara
Hotel La Tonnara
#2 of 8 in Amantea
393 reviews
0.0 mi away
EcoBelmonte Albergo Diffuso
EcoBelmonte Albergo Diffuso
#1 of 4 in Belmonte Calabro
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Taverna Intru U Vicu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Taverna Intru U Vicu

Address: Vico Terzo Indipendenza 7 | Storic Center, 87033 Belmonte Calabro, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Belmonte Calabro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Belmonte Calabro
Price Range: $45 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'A Taverna Intru U Vicu offre camere rustiche nel borgo medievale di Belmonte Calabro, a 3 km dal lungomare e a 35 km dall'aeroporto di Lamezia Terme.Le sistemazioni presentano un balcone privato, l'aria condizionata e una TV con canali satellitari. Vantano uno stile semplice ma elegante, con pavimenti in piastrelle decorate e letti in ferro battuto.L'A Taverna a conduzione familiare comprende un giardino privato con tavoli e sedie. Presso il bar sono disponibili drink e spuntini. Il ristorante propone piatti della tradizione calabrese, preparati esclusivamente con prodotti regionali. We are centrally located in the old town, easily reached by parking your car in Piazza Del Giudice and then 100m on foot, or park your car in Piazza Galeazzo di Tarsia and descend on foot along the decumano. Our cuisine is characterized by freshness and genuine. Our dishes are prepared with extreme care, according to traditional recipes from Calabria, but with a touch of delicious Ligurian cuisine, using only local produce. Our tourist complex consists of: restaurant, bar, kitchen, 5 bedrooms with 9 beds, plus seats added. Our guests enjoy the service "breakfast" and, at their request, including treatment of "half-board." Services provided satellite TV, air conditioning, linen change once a week, including towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your A Taverna Intru U Vicu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing