We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Masseria Torre Maizza
Nearby Hotels
Borgo San Marco(Fasano)(Great Value!)
$158
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Peschiera(Monopoli)
$763
$740
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Beach Club(Torre Canne)
$41
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$172
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo Egnazia(Savelletri)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casale del Murgese(Savelletri)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Sorgente(Savelletri)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GranSerena Hotel(Torre Canne)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveler rating
502
63
23
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
63
23
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubgolf coursesister hotelolive treesfree shuttleheated poolprivate patiogorgeous poolbottle of proseccobeautiful surroundingswine tastingour honeymoonhotel restaurantsuperb foodstayed here for nightshotel shuttleshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 596 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The main buildings are beautiful, the location is beautiful, the room furnishings are beautiful but I think this Masseria believes it is better than it really is.
Things I loved and will remember forever:
The heated pool, walking through lemon trees to get to the pool; the rooftop yoga, the bathroom; the breakfast - One of the best things about this hotel is the restaurant where the food really is as close to perfect as it is possible to get.
Things I found annoying:
The unwillingess of the staff to help us find local things to do anywhere other than in their facilities: We asked the way to the beach; they said they'd shuttle us to their beach where lunch is timetabled and you have to pre-order, not very relaxing; We asked for some local cycle routes so we could explore the countryside; they told us it was too dangerous, we should go to their other Masseria instead. We asked about public transport to Alberobello. They said we should take a taxi.
The price of the cooking course has soared compared to what is advertised, making it prohibitively expensive
We asked to see the kitchen gardens and olive groves that are so heavily publicised on their website, no-one seemed to know what we were talking about
The accomadation, while beautifully furnished, is laid out like a Butlins.
We didn't feel we could open a single window or the door because each was facing a golf course, into another lodging or the passing traffic.
I wouldn't go again. I will though go back to Puglia which is truly a beautiful place with so much to see. And the public transport is terrific.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happiest_swimming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElioZazzera, Direttore at Masseria Torre Maizza, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking your time writing a comment about Torre Maizza, thank you so much for pointing out the beauties of our Masseria like the pool, the orange gardens, the breakfast, the food, the private sandy beach with shuttle service and many other things that you did not mention but that are available and you have used during your stay.

About your "annoyances" anyway, I think some clarifications are needed in order to avoid misunderstandings for the Trip Advisor readers.

First of all the friendliness of the staff it's one of our point of strength and you can easily read it on all the comments of former travelers; I m very sorry if we have not been able to pass this onto you,

About the bicycle route we always try to suggest safe roads since a proper bicycle promenade it is not available yet (by the way this is out of our competence) and you asked us to go to Alborebello biking, we are speaking about 70kms, on auto route with a climb that only professional bikers may afford.
Since this the reception staff helped you arranging to go there with public transport (you changed several buses to get there) and we have also shuttled you complimentary to the first bus stop and we came to pick you up upon return: is this unwillingness? moreover upon check-in we give printed paper with a map of the region and suggestions on where to go and what to visit in more than 15 cities.

About olive groves and gardens, the masseria it's surrounded with 12 hectares of secular olive trees and gardens everywhere, it's difficult to miss them to be honest, you have to pass through every time you exit from the room.

About the beach club there's been some misunderstanding: the restaurant it's a la carte, the waiters, in order to give a better service ask to the guest if they have a preferred time to eat or not, but again you do not have to.

About the quietness and the view of the rooms: we have overall 28 rooms in a 12 hectares estate, i can say it's quite and private no more then 56 guest satying in the hotel every day, can you call this traffic? all the rooms are on the ground floor with private terrace facing olive groves or towards the golf course (not on the golf course) and if you are lying or sitting on the deckchairs at disposal in each private garden you have all the privacy you need, being sheltered by the white wooden fence.

At this stage we only would love you to come back and enjoy a new holiday in our Masseria with a little more trust in our staff and their suggestions.

Warmest regards
Elio Zazzera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

There is nothing negative to say about this Masseria. It is truly beautiful, an oasis of calm and tranquility.The service of the staff is impeccable, nothing is too much trouble they will go out of their way to help you.There were 2 weddings being hosted during our stay and whilst the staff were obviously busy this did not impact on the service to hotel guests.
The rooms and public spaces are spotlessly clean and the grounds meticulously tended to.
Food in the restaurant both at the hotel and beach club is superb and breakfast is plentiful.
The beach club is great, plenty of sunbeds and lovely clean facilities.
Great location for exploring the surrounding towns. Highly recommend Ostuni, Locorotondo and Alberobello.
Having been lucky enough to stay in many "luxury" hotels around the world I can safely say that this deserves it's rating. No it's not cheap, but you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "basic" room and whilst a little on the small side it was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean with a great power shower and comfy bed. It had a nice sized patio area overlooking the golf course and you could see the sea! I can't imagine that there are any "bad" rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElioZazzera, Direttore at Masseria Torre Maizza, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for your lovely comment, we are so happy of your thoughts about the masseria, the facilities and the services, we appreciate so much and we hope to have you soon again as our guests.
Warmest regards
Elio Zazzera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Masseria Torre Maizza is a wonderful hotel/restaurant complex that ranks with the very best. We stayed the middle of May for 5 nights and that was just the right amount of time. The staff upon check-in was very helpful, spoke English, bent over backwards, to do anything they could to help. We were given a very large room with a big bathroom with a door leading out to a medium size patio, that looked out over the 9 hole golf course. The room had a king size bed, tables, chairs, a couch, big enough to walk around and not get in each others way. The restaurant is very good, all you would want to start the day, even special orders are accommodated. The evening meal is just as good if not better. There is also a cooking class that was super wonderful. There is a very large pool, cocktail lounge, Spa, and everyone associated with the Masseria Torre Maizza is professional,warm, knowledgeable, and great. It is located a little way from the coastal town of Savelletri (Brindisi), but not a big deal. We walked into town, about 45 minutes and up the coast to their private beach club. If staying in Puglia, this Masseria is not to be missed.

Room Tip: We did not have the opportunity to look at any other room, but all seem to be as nice as ours.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElioZazzera, Manager at Masseria Torre Maizza, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your nice comment, we are happy you totally enjoyed your stay, you appreciate our Masseria in all its services and more then all the helpfulness and kindness of the staff together with quality and variety of food .
We hope to have you soon again in Masseria!
Warmest regards
Elio Zazzera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We returned to Masseria Torre Maizza for the second time in May this year. We had stayed there for a week in July in 2011 for our honeymoon. The price is not cheap, but the hotel, grounds, bar and restaurant are worth it in my opinion.
For our honeymoon we had booked a junior suite, this time we decided that as the hotel and grounds were so lovely, with so many places to relax outside of your room, there was no need to book a larger more expensive room and booked a weekend special offer in a standard double, with one dinner and a welcome drink included. When we arrived, the hotel was not full and so, they upgraded us, not just to the next room up, but to a junior suite - in fact the very same room we had stayed in for our honeymoon!
The breakfasts are included in the room rate and are outstanding, you can eat enough here that you don't think about food again until dinner and can choose from cakes and tortes, hams and cheeses, cereals, fruit, or various cooked options, all made with fresh local produce.
The pool is idyllic, the bar has a wonderful hip, laid back vibe with bouganvillea in abundance. The gardens are evocative - in May this year, the orange blossom was out with the fabulous sweet scent filling the air, last time when we were there in July, we had jasmine by our room door, the scent of which now reminds us of one of the most wonderful and relaxing holidays we have ever had. There is a small golf course and driving range, which was unintimidating for those who are not golf pros and there is a small, but perfectly formed Aveda spa with great therapists, a steam room and a jacuzzi.
Dinner at Le Palme is outstanding. The food there is as good as any michelin starred cuisine I have tried and the sommelier is very good at working out which wines you might like and which are within your price range. The restaurant at the Torre Coccaro is possibly even more romantic, with alfresco dining and a more rustic approach to cuisine, which if you are staying for a week is a nice change, but I preferred the food at the Torre Maizza. Eating almost anywhere else locally becomes a disappointment.
The trouble with the Torre Maizza is that the accommodation, the grounds, the food and the service mean that you really don't want to go anywhere or do anything else during your stay. We normally love to explore our local surroundings, but last time we stayed for 6 days and did not get bored of our very immediate surroundings in the hotel grounds or the food. This time we stayed for 2 nights before continuing on to a villa holiday locally and it was far too short. We will be back.

Room Tip: The hotel grounds and communal areas are beautiful, relaxing and were not at all busy in May or July, so which room you have is less important as you have so many other options for lounging about and relaxing.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjulie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElioZazzera, Manager at Masseria Torre Maizza, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your detailed and courteous review, a huge thank you for the care and attentiveness in the description of all the details we give to all our guests and that you've been able to catch.
We look forward to having you soon back in Masseria, to enjoy our exclusive services once again.
Warmest regards
Elio Zazzera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you want peace and quiet in luxurious and historic surroundings coupled with excellent service and top quiality cuisine, Masseria Torre Maizza is the place for you! The calm of the olive groves surroundings and subtle golf course provide an oasis of calm with the beach just a short bike or shuttle ride away. The spacious, comfortable and quirky rooms provide the perfect haven for a relaxing and good nights sleep, The staff cannot do enough to help in their recommendations for meal/wine choices and also places to visit and restaurants to try. If you like seafood, Chichibio in Polignano a mare is a fantastic, atmospheric, local restaurant with the freshest fish cooked in their woodfire oven at the entrance to the restaurant. Gone are the frenetic kitchens and staff of any busy London restaurant - this is relaxed and enjoyable eating! A visit to the Trulli houses of Alberobello and the views from Cisterno and Ostuni are a must as well as a visit to Lecce. Back at the hotel, the heated outdoor pool is framed by stone pillars, the tower of the main building houses a whirlpool Jacuzzi and massage tables and the golf course and beach club provide relaxing activities. Guests can also use the underground cave spa of the Sister hotel, Masseria Torre Coccaro just a short bike/shuttle ride away. The food at Masseria Torre Maizza is incredible - you can taste the freshness from the home-grown produce and if the Red Mullet is still on the menu for dinner - order it! Truly delicious. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for discerning couples wanting to really relax and unwind from the stresses of every day life in historic and beautfiul surroundings!

Room Tip: The hotel is divided between the reception area and spa in the main old building, the restaurant and bar in another and the rooms in a separate building. The Superior and Deluxe rooms have small private terraces. Go for the Junior Suites with small private pool for something more special.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElioZazzera, Direttore at Masseria Torre Maizza, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for taking your time writing us such a wonderful review, the guests satisfaction it's our best prize, we are delighted from your words and we hope to have you soon again in our unique Masseria in order to spend another wonderful experience.
warmest regards,
Elio Zazzera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews