We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,687)
Filter reviews
1,687 results
Traveler rating
1,243
260
93
54
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,243
260
93
54
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club rocky beach family pool la frasca golf course italian village beautiful hotel main building interior design two story adult pool family hotel beach restaurant special place attention to detail beach club fish restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,687 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

This is our first trip to Borgo Egnazia which came highly recommended to us from friends. When you initially arrive at Borgo your breath is taken away by the pure beauty of the place. Everything from the staff, technology & architecture is so well thought out. No expense has been spared into the thought of this hotel & it’s guests. I’m looking forward to visiting again in the future as a week just didn’t feel long enough for all we wanted to do / experience. My only critic would be the lack of activities for children especially toddler age. There is a kids play area, children’s club & also a restaurant specifically for children which is great but I just feel there could have been a little more such as some entertainment arranged in the morning or afternoons or some sort for mixed ages. My only other critic is the children’s pool area is fantastic however I just wish the kids shallow area was covered with some shade for them to play in the water during the hotter hours & some play water features for them. I wasn’t the only parent who seemed to agree with this, however this is when the kids club was handy as you can go in there for a period of time with your child or leave them to play out of the sun.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Hk200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

This resort is extensive and, as expected in its price range, has a full suite of facilities.
These include several different restaurants (all good - differing styles, prices and locations), a nice bar, good gym, a spa(which I didn’t use so can’t comment on) and pleasant and helpful staff.
Various activities are organised and programmes provided in your room.
It is relatively new (c10 years since built) and has embraced many features. It’s built in a local style. There is is separate family focussed area with shallower pool and play activities etc. It also has a golf course and beach access.
Rooms were very well equipped (no coffee making ability, unless we just couldn’t find it) but the light and AC systems seemed overly complex for my brain.
Timing is important as this is a very family friendly resort and so is busy in the international school holiday weeks with guest from across Europe.
It is, as the result of at least one US celebrity wedding now a destination wedding venue. We were there a week and had to endure three. These groups left areas, such as the bar, under staffed and overwhelmed. Maybe we were just unfortunate with all three groups as the were perpetually loud, doing FaceTime calls and generally disrespectful of other guests. There really isn’t a need to have a shouted conversation from one end of the pool to the other - is there. Unfortunately hotel staff were reluctant to get involved.
Whilst that is a negative note to finish on we had a very enjoyable week overall, especially as it’s very easy to get into the local village which has s couple of authentic bars and restaurants.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank IanS278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019 via mobile

On the positive side -
Gorgeous modern hotel built to look like an old italian town. Apples everywhere used as decoration and for you to enjoy. We stayed at a Casseta Bella, which was a spacious two-story house with a small kitchen, and patio with fruit trees. Excellent hair dryers. Everything is very special. Bicycles for you to use until 5pm without a fee.

On the negative side -
Phone in our bedroom didn't work despite having advised the front desk three times on three different days.
Sensational concierge service, but don't trust their restaurant recommendations too much.
Theatrical staff in costume: men in Khaki pants with brown blazers and pashminas around their necks. Women in long petroleum green dresses and wine colored velvet belts.
Despite the staff being friendly, I would advise that they don't automatically treat tourists in English. It's not nice. They should greet with a nice Buon Giorno and see what language the tourist answers in, as not all tourists are American, and many would like to practice their Italian. That goes especially for the staff at the restaurant.
All in all it is a special and elegant place full of beautiful detail in a gorgeous area and deserves my highest recommendation. If you would like something more authentic stay at the Masseria San Domenico, which belongs to the same group.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Cedar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

Borgo Egnazia is a truly special unforgettable place. Since you first come is you understand this is a place like no other. The soft ligths, the architecture, the village views from the terrace. Truly special. And what’s more suprising is the attitude of all personnel, really attentive to your need before you ask. They look for special activities for you that are out of the most turistic destinations. Truly authentic local advisors. The food is amazing as well.
The beach is not fantastic but the restaurant there is excellent.
The Spa is also something to remember. Hyper competent people and great athmosphere.
Truly deserved ‘nowhere else place’.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank efrontini74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

I don't even know where to start. This place is a DREAM and you feel like you're staying in a charming village straight out of a Restoration Hardware catalog. No detail is left unnoticed. We stayed in a three bedroom villa, and the rooms were perfection, each with their own bathroom, plenty of space for 8 or more people, and one of the biggest pools I've ever seen in a villa. We had bicycles that came with the villa and rode them for a 10 minute ride past the golf course to their beautiful beach club. The restaurant outlets are fantastic, and they even have a michelin starred restaurant. The staff is fantastic and will make sure they do what they can so that your trip is unforgettable. They also have a family/kids pool area and an adults pool, and a kids club. They even have a cute little restaurant just for kids with tiny chairs and tables! They offer cooking classes and tons of day trip options, the staff set us up with some day outings that included a visit to a town nearby in a classic car as well as an olive oil tasting in a masseria with olive oil trees that are over 2000 years old. I can't say enough GREAT things about Borgo Egnazia, it's an absolute must.

Room tip: Make sure to make reservations for dinner at their michelin star restaurant
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheHungryChronicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews