We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,674)
Filter reviews
1,674 results
Traveler rating
1,231
259
93
54
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,231
259
93
54
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club rocky beach family pool la frasca golf course italian village beautiful hotel main building adult pools interior design two story beach restaurant family hotel every corner bike rental special place attention to detail
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,674 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2018

We were so excited to come to Borgo Egnazia but I don't think any other hotel has ever disappointed us more or was so far from expectations.

Overall, there is nothing warm, charming, welcoming or cosy about this place. Everything here is about the decor which is actually pretty bland and I think misses the point - yes maybe it was constructed for 10 years and with local materials etc., but do you feel comfortable and happy here? We certainly did not.

Our "Cassetta Magnifica" was dark and uncomfortable - hard beds and a sofa which seems to be a slab of stone covered with a blanket. Everything is beige/cream and the blankets, pillows, pouffes and headboards were quite dirty and are clearly not cleaned between guests which is totally unacceptable anyway but especially at these prices. There is a concrete "garden" with no where to sit and a kitchen with no cooking utensils or plates etc - form over function I am guessing but I would gladly have traded both for the space to use in the bedrooms which are actually quite small.

The service was poor throughout except in the La Frasca restaurant. The life guards were wonderful too. Otherwise, this is nowhere near a luxury five star service experience. The entire staff seem sad or disgruntled - their unhappiness is pervasive. With the long rope-belted robes the assistants wear and silence of the place, it has a monastic vibe - but not in the spiritual sense. For us, it seemed there was a feeling amongst the guests of "lets make the best of this" but this is not a happy holiday environment.

The food was OK but nothing like what you expect from Italy and we found the portions really small and the prices high. We did find fantastic food outside the resort at a fraction of the price. Room service however was surprisingly efficient and quite good. The breakfast buffet was pretty good (although the hot items were always cold) and the staff made a point of saying that if there was anything we wanted that we didn't see, they would get it for us- this was one area where we did experience a five star service and we felt very welcomed by the staff at La Frasca.

The kids' pool and small kids' club are both without light or windows and are actually quite depressing with little going on for kids, at least in October. Both of my kids cut their feet in the family pool and I know this happened to other people too - completely unacceptable again. On a positive note, my kids did love the go-carts which they offered free for 2 hours and thank goodness they were there because there really is not much to do here. The beaches were closed although nobody told us which was really disappointing after waiting for the shuttle to take us there with our beach bags packed for the day. Why have a shuttle going to the beach every 20 minutes when there is nothing there except some wet and dirty chaises - not a towel or employee in sight. We had one rainy day so decided to watch a movie - they had only 6 kids movies to choose from and zero new/recent releases. I didn't come here to watch a movie but given that there is nothing much to do, I thought there might be more choice - this would be an easy one.

We had several service mishaps throughout our stay and because of this our advisor offered us a free hour tour of Alberobello (trulli town) which was nice but frankly too little too late. You do get the feeling here that the staff does not want to hear about any issues and they feel it is your problem that you are not pleased. I never heard from a manager which I think was warranted considering the many things that went wrong during our stay here - no working A/C for one night, no hot water one day, we were dropped off at the wrong restaurant in Fasano for dinner and had to drive another 20 minutes to the correct restaurants with 2 hungry kids and were still charged 40 euros for the driver ...

As another reviewer says, you really do get tired of the beige and white - somehow it drains you and you find yourself wishing for color. More that that though, we wished for atmosphere which despite the great care taken on the decor and design, it is just so lacking in charm and life that it really did take away from the holiday we were hoping for.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank afg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

I recently brought my wife on a quick trip to Puglia, following a visit to Morocco. it was our first time in this region with previous trips to Venice, Florence, Lake Como, Verona, Rome and the Amalfi Coast. In all destinations we were lucky enough to have stayed in the top hotels and resorts.

Simply put, this trip made Puglia my favourite region of Italy and the Borgo Egnazia, the most beautiful of all hotels I have seen in Italy.

What we loved about the hotel:

- The staff. Authentic, lovely and hard working, all aiming to please. Our trip was "managed" by the lovely Paula, who checked in with us on a regular basis to ensure that our plans were going smoothly. She was present 24/7 but from behind the scenes. We loved her and her genuine approach.

- The grounds are immaculate and created to emulate an authentic Apulian village. I have NEVER seen a resort successfully feature their region so well, and so tastefully.

- The hotel design is thoughtful, timeless, elegant, sexy and understated. All limestone, earth tones, beige linens and white/light colors, accented with burning candles, to add romance and such a dreamy ambience.

- The food, restaurants and dining atmosphere in all of the dining locations are authentic and sumptuous. Each dining experience we had was world-class.

- The golf. We played one round at San Domenico Club, the links course owned by the hotel. Tough and challenging course, but we loved it.

- The Experience: Paula and the Indigenus Team (the hotel has an in-house operation which offers guided experiences and car rentals), created the most romantic and over-the-top experience for us, and THIS was the true highlight...they allowed us to experience Puglia, while using their hotel as a base. We got the most of it. We spent 3 days of driving around Puglia in our little 1973 Alfa Romeo Duetto convertible (which they rented for me, other options include Ferrari, Maserati, etc), exploring the region, dining in fabulous restaurants and visiting ancient villages along the coast and throughout the region.

They also arranged for a private tour on bike to a local olive oil production facility, on the most stunning grounds and surrounded by 2000 year old Olive trees. We loved that little excursion.

They also arranged for a fabulous guide to meet us in Alberobello, named Mimmo. I highly recommend this 90-minute walking tour to understand the story behind that village, worth hearing and he is delightful.

Places we visited include Ostuni, Lecce, Monopoli, Alberobello and Polignano a Mare (twice).

We literally spent our time driving and exploring, and found it impossible to remove the ear-to-ear smiles from our faces. The hotel truly helped us make the most of the region. This trip was as romantic as it gets and created a bonding experience that we will never forget - all delivered thoughtfully and with genuine care by the hotel staff.

Thank you to Paula and the team at Borgo Egnazia, we are truly grateful beyond words and we will recommend your hotel to our family and friends.

Room tip: At a minimum, nice to have a sea view. I only saw our room, but i'm positive that every room is stunning.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank explorer031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

This is an amazing hotel and it is an experience to be there. The service, the food, the ammenities were above expectation. There is a maze of structures that wind around the property. The ambience inside and out, is a treat for all. They have people in golf carts driving people from pool to room and back again. They also have a shuttle to the beach.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank bostonsonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

From check in to check out, we were treated as though we were the most important patrons! The setting is indescribable:truly like a set in a movie. Attention to detail is everywhere. The staff was attentive but never overbearing, the food options were outstanding and rooms extremely comfortable. Expensive but worth it! I hope to return.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank TravelinGalCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

From the moment we arrived, until we left, we (4 adults) were amazed at the hotel and the entire staff. Beautiful, quiet and had a totally relaxing atmosphere.
Special mention to Rita for always keeping us informed and Donatello at one of the restaurants that always made us feel welcome, gave suggestions and service was second to none. We also went to the restaurant on the beach which was wonderful. The sommelier did a unique presentation. Breakfast was beautiful, plentiful and delicious. Our only complaint was the we didn’t get enough time to enjoy the resort because of sightseeing. A real gem. We will be back!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank imbieelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews