We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything exudes quality here - and is very reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Saltauserhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Saltauserhof
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saltusio
Certificate of Excellence
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Everything exudes quality here - and is very reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The main dining area had been renovated and re-decorated since our previous visit. Very nicely done too.

The Pircher family have a most successful formula that results in guests returning, like ourselves, year after year. The buffets at breakfast and dinner are superb and the rest of the food, though not "haut cuisine", includes a wide range of well-cooked and presented regional specialities.

The in-house leisure facilities are first-class and fellow guests praised the nearby golf course.

Rooms, both in the original building and the adjoining Residence annex, are spacious and beautifully appointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cromar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    56
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
91
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

This is a great hotel which offers excellent value, particularly the special offers that are available early and late in the season. A previous reviewer described the owner and family as "cold" and another as "professional". I incline to the latter view and much prefer the efficent operation one finds here to the false bonhomie and over-familiarity often encountered in lesser establishments in an attempt to hide their shortcomings.

Nine years ago the hotel was only one third its present size yet the extension has been carried out with great sensitivity and blends well with the original 600 years old building.
Mind you, in such scenic surroundings the architect had an easy task and one wakes each morning to a breathtaking view of the nearby mountains.

The rooms and facilities are in keeping with its 4 star status, although I agree with ElizabethF that better toiletries are required. By the way Elizabeth, free internet access is now available in all rooms and works fine. Just ask at the desk for a network cable if you don't have one.

Finally the food. Breakfast comprises an extensive cold buffet, a wide range of breads and pastries and a small selection of hot dishes.

After that feast little lunch is required but a full a la carte menu is available. Pastries will fill that afternoon gap and then there is the five course dinner. If neither of the two choices of main course from the Table d'hote menu take your fancy there is always an additional choice from the a la carte menu. The wine list is extensive and reasonably priced while the draught local wines available in the bar are surprisingly quaffable.

You may be fortunate enough to be staying on the night when dinner is preceded by a complimentary aperitif in the wine cellar. Don't pass this up - it is most enjoyable.

The hotel arranges a weekly guided hike for the more energetically inclined while the indoor and outdoor pools and the surrounding garden provide plenty of opportunities to laze away the days.

The nearby (8km) town of Merano is well worth a visit as are the Gardens at Trautsmandorff Castle on the outskirts of the town. They have been voted Italy's No 1 and the 6th best gardens in Europe.

Nine years ago British visitors were few and far between. Since then we have recommended Saltauserhof and the Val Passeiera to friends and they have told friends who have also told friends and so it goes. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cromar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for four nights over Easter and had a wonderful time.
The hotel dining rooms, public areas and rooms have all been finished to a very high standard.
We had a beautiful room with high quality furnishings, plenty of storage space and a wonderful, big bathroom.
The hotel has an indoor and outdoor pool in a mountain setting. The sauna and steam room have been very well done with beautiful tiles, plenty of cold and hot showers, plunge pool and anything else you might expect of a sauna area.
The food is very good (we had half board) and consists of 4 courses plus salad.
The whole place feels very Tyrolean rather than Italian.
The previous reviewer mentioned cold and arrogant owners. We would describe them as professional and friendly.
The hotel is situated in a small village with one shop selling postcards, clothes and newspapers. If you go to this hotel, it helps to have a car so you can drive to the next nearest village about 5km away for any supplies you might need.
My only complaint about this hotel was the lack of toiletries. In a hotel of this quality, we would have expected shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. All we got were two little sachets of shower gel.

  • Liked — cleanliness, spaciousness, food, quality of furnishings
  • Disliked — lack of toiletries and appalling internet connections - we gave up after spending 2 euros!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

We stayed 5 days at this hotel; we loved it! The day we arrived, we were shocked finding out that there wasn't air conditioned (it was July and it was hot), but the other days we understood why: high temperatures are so rare in that area! It was a very lovely place, our room was so cozy and we had a good view over mountains. The best things were pools: one inside the hotel (but often too hot), and the other outside, facing mountains. We ate there on breackfast and dinner, and there was high quality food, always a lot of choice. The hotel is in a good position, not too far from Meran (amazing city), but closer to mounts, so you feel truly peaceful. We made some good trips to Passo Rombo (2600mt high), Saltzburg, Munich. The only thing I didn't liked was the family who owned the place: too arrogant and cold. But if you just don't care about them, your holiday is safe!

  • Liked — The chance o swim facing mountains
  • Disliked — Owners
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FLAvour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltusio
1.3 mi away
Quellenhof Sport & Wellness Resort
Quellenhof Sport & Wellness Reso...
#1 of 6 in San Martino in Passiria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Wiesenhof
Hotel Wiesenhof
#1 of 10 in San Leonardo in Passiria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
6.4 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Muchele
Hotel Muchele
#1 of 3 in Postal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Der Waldhof
Hotel Der Waldhof
#5 of 12 in Lana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilburger
Hilburger
#11 of 32 in Scena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saltauserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saltauserhof

Property: Hotel Saltauserhof
Address: Passeirer str. 6, 39010 Saltusio, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Saltusio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saltusio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saltauserhof 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fascinating present reflecting a long history… your hotel Saltauserhof in Passeier near Meran / Merano South TyrolA hearty welcome to the Hotel Saltauserhof, one of the most beautiful aristocratic manors in the Passeiertal. With its battlements and sumptuously decorated facade, the Saltauserhof is, in our ordinary times, a fine example of the patrician dwellings from centuries ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Saltauserhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing