We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quite place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kenney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kenney
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elgin
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice quite place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

A few of us on motorcycles stayed at the Hotel Kenney for the weekend. We all had a good time and the surroundings was very nice. The person running the hotel was very accommodating. The food in the dinning room was good also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badrider2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
10
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Went for lunch, and thoroughly enjoyed the meal. It was simple (liver and onions , and quiche) and well prepared. All meals are a fixed price, three coarse selection , off a changing menu. So you might want to phone ahead to see what is on for that evening.
The hotel has been in operation since 1877 and is set on the Rideau canal system overlooking the locks, a setting that is hard to duplicate. Inside it is filled with reminders of simpler times that compliment the food and setting. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandtwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hotel Kenney has a long history - originally with one family, the Kenneys, now with an American owner who bought it primarily because of his affection for the place and his family visits when young. During our two days there we found out that there are a number of American families who have visited year after year. In some ads I have seen the Kenney call itself a luxurious hotel - which it is not. However, it is a wonderfully comfortable place in a pleasant old-fashioned sort of way. The common areas seem to have been updated under the new ownership and are a wonderful amalgam of comfortable seating with quirky country décor. We stayed in the lakeside section, old-fashioned motel rooms which are large and have a magnificent view of the lake and three steps of the Rideau Canal lock system. The rooms have what I think is seventies décor and are in pretty good shape although there is the odd nick in the doors. What I suspect is the new management has provided flat-screen TVs (although a bit smaller than I would have liked) and plenty of white fluffy towels and good plump pillows, much appreciated. Outside the screen door there is a gravity chair, perfect for an afternoon nap and watching the boats manoeuvre into the locks. There are no in-room coffee or tea-making facilities although the hotel staff were happy to provide afternoon tea and cookies to take back to our room, at no charge. The cooking is generally competent, and homemade soups seem to be a speciality - we had some excellent ones. Although the lunch is fixed price the soup can be combined with sandwiches made to order. As others have said, the Rideau Canal was an amazing project for the 1830s and well worth exploring. And what can be better than waking up to the call of the loon at dawn? The service from all members of staff was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailr97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
409 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Despite the many drawbacks mentioned by previous reviewers, we continue to return to Hotel Kenney year after year.
The view and solitude of this piece of heaven is remarkable.
The cabins are comfortable and homey. You have all you need, including wi-fi. This is not the Marriott, so be pre-warned.
The meals are good and plentiful. We stayed for 5 days and would have preferred more of a variety in the evening meals.
All of the staff are outstanding. Everyone is happy and helpful. You won't find that elsewhere.
This place is not for everyone, but it is for us......since the mid-70's!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GmaSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

After a full day of boating from Kingston. my husband and I docked at Jones Falls and went to Hotel Kenny for dinner. We had a 4 course dinner - potato and leek soup, creaser salad, cod (me) & duck (my husband), followed by crème de mint sorbet - GREAT dinner for only $35!!!

We will be stopping in on our way back down the Rideau!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combermere, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was there with a group this summer and was given a group rate for ONE night of $80 DBL occupancy plus $30 each for our dinner for the two of us. We were told lunch and breakfast was included. We did tip our waiter and waitress. Not sure if it is included in the bill or not. Do not order the potato salad ( boiled potatoes with some green and red pepper and no dressing)
There are no beer, liquor or grocery stores near there. The room was OLD, DAMP and MUSTY. I will say it looked clean though.
Be prepared to walk on wet grass in some places.
There was no printout at check out so I have no idea what all the charges are. Our total was $349.oo.. I didn't have any alcohol. Maybe my bf drank 100 dollars worth of booze lol
Just be prepared for your jaw to drop. That is,unless you have that kind of money to blow.

Room Tip: Wish I could tell you. One of our friends was out front across from the main lodge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieM3743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

A small group of us went for lunch and were sorry we did. Service was fast, server was great. But the only option was a fixed price, three-course lunch for $17.95, and nobody really wanted it-- we would have liked something lighter. There was no vegetarian entree, so the vegetarian settled for the ham and cheese croissant minus the ham, and it was served small and soggy with a little salad. Most had the schnitzel and spaetzle, which seemed poor imitations of the real thing. For the accompanying salad, there was no choice of salad dressing, just an oil and vinegar mixture. On the upside, the dessert choices were tasty.

In summary, a charming dining room in a lovely setting by the locks. But the hotel would do better to offer a simpler lunch with easier to prepare food, and forget the heavy entrees. It's not hard to to do simple food well. We all agreed that we routinely do better lunches at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
24.8 mi away
The Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
21.5 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
14.4 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
13.5 mi away
Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa
15.3 mi away
Glen House Resort
Glen House Resort
#8 of 11 in Gananoque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kenney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenney

Property: Hotel Kenney
Address: 59 Kenney Road | Jones Falls, Elgin, Rideau Lakes, Ontario K0G 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Rideau Lakes > Elgin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kenney 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Kenney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kenney Ontario, Canada - Elgin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing