We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bet you can't stay just once!”
Review of Hotel Kenney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kenney
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elgin
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bet you can't stay just once!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed for five days once for a retreat to get some work done and I have now been back 4 times in one year, staying for five days each time. The people are wonderful and take the time to get to know you. The little touches like knowing your name and responding to specific food needs make Hotel Kenney a friendly and accommodating place to get away from the hustle and bustle of normal every day life in order to read a book, take walks along scenic trails, take pictures of wildlife, and focus on yourself. It is a great location for a group of writers, artists or any group wanting the time and service to do what you need to do. Absolutely a wonderful time and I'm already planning another visit in the Fall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLP18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We celebrated 2 birthdays this spring in the Hotel Kenney dining room and will be back for more! The food was excellent and unique. The desserts are not to be missed - home baked cheese cakes and carrot cake among others. We loved our waitress - really personable and focussed on making our evening a success. Well done! Looking forward to our next meal at Hotel Kenney.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyT718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Ancient and a little worn this place is a ge
Service and food were spectacular when you think this is a small rather remote summer facility.
You have to leave the main road to find it.
Supper was venison with well prepared fresh veggies and FABULOUS carrot cake my server baked.
Breakfast was fantastic Welsh rarebit .
Don't find that on every menu.
After breakfast I walked across the bay an old stagecoach bridge to the series of hand operated locks installed in the 1800s and toured the free museum and blacksmith shop.
Hotel Kenney is the real deal .
No Disneyland this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Amazing site, food is excellent and the staff are wonderful! Would recommend it to any one looking for an beautiful location on the Rideau Canal system. Dinner was incredible, the staff or friendly and eager to please.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

After reading some of the previous reviews, I was leery about staying there. I am so glad we did.
The staff was terrific, the food was unusual and good. The setting is wonderful and the locks are amazing. The rooms aren't very modern but that is the charm. Choose a room facing the canal with big sliding glass doors to view it! It was very reasonable...room charge included 2 dinners & 2 breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have been going to Hotel Kenny for a number of years and all I can say is that the service and food have deteriorated to a point that I feel it is hard to believe it is the same hotel. The staff has been cut to the bone and this reflects in the service, especially the restaurant. The servers are extremely slow. The menus sound great but when the food is served, it is totally different than what was advertised. Certainly not good value for money. If the new owner wishes to make a success of his purchase, he will have to try much harder.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buckiecanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elgin hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Had another wonderfully peaceful stay at Hotel Kenney, this time for a quick birthday getaway. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate, but we were able to make the most of it, relaxing in the screened in porch outside our room, with the sound of rain on the lake beside us. The hotel has wonderful views of the Rideau canal and Jones Falla locks. Normally we would have cycled in the surrounding countryside or visited one of the local towns or even done the quick trip down to Gananoque, but we decided to just chill at the inn. Dinner was good, my Lamb Shank special tender and delicious, my partner's fish cake not as successsful, but overall good value. With a decor straight out of the 50's, the restaurant does have romantic views of the Rideau. In fact the hotel's atmosphere harkens back to a simpler, more relaxing time, great for a weekend (or week) away. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and breakfast is great as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaphall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
14.4 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
24.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
15.0 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
215 reviews
13.4 mi away
Westport Station Motel
Westport Station Motel
#1 of 1 in Westport
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kenney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenney

Property: Hotel Kenney
Address: 59 Kenney Road | Jones Falls, Elgin, Rideau Lakes, Ontario K0G 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Rideau Lakes > Elgin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kenney 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kenney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kenney Ontario, Canada - Elgin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing