We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Historical Inn with a Unfriendly Manager”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kenney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kenney
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elgin
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historical Inn with a Unfriendly Manager”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Been frequenting Hotel Kenney every summer for years now, and have eaten at the Hotel but mostly went to the nostalgic snack bar for breakfasts and ice cream. Went to Hotel Kenney a few times with different friends who wanted to go there and experience the Hotel, locks etc..in the summer of 2011. The Inn is beautiful and has retained for the most part it's historical charm and beauty. The scenery is splendid. The Hotel food on the three occasions that I went, was okay. Not bad, have had better, but it was okay. The waitress's were friendly and accommodating. But the lady at the front desk who called herself the manager, was very unfriendly and un-accommodating. She seemed angry and with a scowl on her face and we heard her being angry and saying nasty words to the other friendly staff. Certainly not a good presence or representative for the old Hotel. We were glad that she did not serve us our food. Also, when going last summer, we could not get our favorite breakfast at the snack bar anymore. They do not serve it anymore and are not even open anymore in the mornings. We use to love going every weekend for breakfast there. Sometimes we had to wait for a table because it was so busy in there and on their porch. And there is no more store either and the old familiar friendly face's of the ladies that served us all the time arel gone. Not sure what has happened at the grand Hotel Kenney in the past couple of years as a whole, but surely some mis-management and poor choices and decisions have been made....It is still a beautiful place to go and see, with the canal and locks there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samantha22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
10
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We enjoyed a rainy weekend at the hotel during a cool October. Despite the weather the hotel was cosy, the food was enjoyable, and the staff were outstanding. For a place only open in the warmer seasons it is rusticly pretty, and the location is truly unique. A hidden gem!

Room Tip: Try for the view of the locks
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaulovers
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Kenney to visit family in the area after a death in the family. To start, if you arrive late, you won't get your room - this was made quite clear by the not so friendly front desk lady - once I told her that I'd traveled far for a family funeral, she was accommodating, considerate and very hospitable. We found that all the staff were very nice and friendly. We had a room on the water with a small patio and excellent beds. The room was spacious enough for the three of us although dated - that said, the decor suited the setting perfectly. Furthermore, breakfast was excellent - well served and in a sweet dining room overlooking Jones Falls Locks (we never had any other meals there but I hear they're not 5 star but a solid 3 -1/2). When we asked for anything, it was brought - ie - wine opener, a bottle of wine, extra pillows/towels. Everything was clean.

The best part of the place is the setting - the beautiful old trees, the sense of history, the snack shop, the locks, the turning basin for a nice cool swim. The lockmasters house and the blacksmith shop are a must - a great treat for kids and adults alike. A few mornings we woke before the sun to see it rising above the mist of the lake - magical!!

I recommend it highly both as a destination and a great place if you're in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nassaulovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

My friend was married on the grounds of the Hotel Kenney, located on the banks of the Jones Falls - Rideau Canal locks. Setting was breathtaking, weather was superb. We had a great time. The downside was the hotel itself. The nice old hotel which dates back to the 1800's and until recently was family owned...is in dire need of an update. The roof needs renovated and the small cabins need a facelift. It would not do for the cabins to be completely modernized, as it would not match with the "rustic" feel of the setting. The food was average and the room was far too expensive for the amenities your were given. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Given the hotel is located on a UNESCO historical site, it would be nice if the hotel got a facelift.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rtistik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stopped for late lunch while on a day trip. Set three course lunch at $15.95 - soup or juice; choice of hot meal, hot panini sandwich, cold sandwich or cold meat/salad plate; pie, carrot cake or sundaes for dessert. Food was acceptable but not exceptional in any way. Impression that gravy, salad dressing etc were not from scratch. Service was friendly and efficient.

Really lucked out with the best table at the window overlooking the docks and locks - lots of activity to watch.

Lock site is very interesting - makes a nice walk, very hilly. Could have enjoyed just as much with a picnic lunch at the locks.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ontheroad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

The room had twin beds, rock hard, both leaning to the head; the floor was not flat, the shower was a trickle; room stank of mold/mildew. Food was adequate but nothing special - all the options were not available. Owner was apologetic but there was no compensation. $300 (with a $20 tip for the waitresses) per night is a rip-off. Worst room stayed in since 1982.

Location is wonderful, just go there in a boat or drive on after a nice look.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank xsbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

After reading the online review about the new owner and the "wonderful" chef who used to cook for the Governor General in Ottawa, we decided to go there for dinner.
The service was amateur, poorly trained college girls. The food was mediocre at best, like a roadside diner not a high end restaurant. Tiny portions of salad and Kraft dressings nothing gourmet. They could not serve a glass of tomato juice "because it had not been delivered for the season yet" even though it was on the "printed daily" menu. Servers kept bumping our chairs as they squeezed through to other tables, and after waiting for 20 minutes for dessert we had already ordered, I had to go to the serving station to ask for it. Not grand cuisine, just a country diner.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tracker748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
24.9 mi away
The Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
21.5 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
14.4 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn
13.4 mi away
Westport Station Motel
Westport Station Motel
#1 of 1 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kenney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenney

Property: Hotel Kenney
Address: 59 Kenney Road | Jones Falls, Elgin, Rideau Lakes, Ontario K0G 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Rideau Lakes > Elgin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kenney 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Kenney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kenney Ontario, Canada - Elgin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing