We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent resort but........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent resort but........”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Without a doubt, this hotel made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms were large and clean, with an excellent maid service where the girls cleaned the room and changed the towels daily. The mini bar was restocked every other day with 1 bottled water, 3 different soft drinks and a small can of beer. The only criticism was that the shower was more often than not cold water only and no water pressure, Oh and the pillows were the worst I've ever had!
The food was good, if a little repetitive but fries were only available in small quantities on the kids counter (where it was quickly snapped up by the adults). The dining room staff were attentive and plentiful. (A particular favourite of mine was the omelette chef who was excellent). The gardens and pools were all well manicured and cleaned throughout the day.
On a critical note the "quiet" pool became a kids pool most days. Some of them were often unsupervised and very loud. The main problem was a VERY LARGE influx of Canadian, 17 year old S Trip, high school graduates and spring breakers. Although efforts were made to keep them to one main pool area and not allow them to drink, neither were particularly successful. During most evenings their presence, en masse in the large reception area, could only be described as noisy and intimidating. As this resort is quite remote, it was difficult to get away from them. In the A la Carte restaurants they could often be seen drinking alcohol. Had our Tour Company (Thomsons) informed us that this was going to be the case, we would definately NOT have booked this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Postyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for letting us know about your recent experience in our hotel and also for taking time to share your comments with our trip advisor community. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our service and facilities we put our greatest interest and value in our guest´ opinion.

We would like you to mention that this kind of review help us to improve and raise our service. We regret so much to hear that we could not meet your expectations regarding some of our service and facilities. Comments such as like yours are what we strive for following every day in order to improve the quality of service we offer.

We sincerely would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Bahía Príncipe San Juan to experience the hospitality of our people and the quality of our services and facilities. Please do not hesitate to contact us in a future stay with us.

Best Regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,685
    1,688
    758
    433
    321
See reviews for
1,093
1,707
61
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This resort was worth the money we paid. The rooms were clean, the food was good, the staff were very nice and helpful. The only bad thing we would say is the beds and pillows need to be upgraded. It felt like we were sleeping on a box spring instead of a mattress. The room safes as well should be upgraded to combination safes. They are currently lock and key, and not every tour company covers the price of the room safe. We travelled with Nolitours and we had to pay $28 for the weeks use of the room safe. The internet use was also restricted to certain tour companies.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We are very happy and glad to have received your comments. We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future please do not hesitate to contact us whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Dominican Republic.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericia, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two weeks at BP San Juan...and the overall description is GREAT EXPERIENCE! Looking at some of the previous reviews I can say that we didn't experienced any of the mentioned issues...but I have to mention that we traveled with Apollo and the review is based on our own experience.
The ROOM can be described as BASIC...but with functional TV, fridge, air conditioning, fan ceiling and shower(we had hot water all the time). Everyday the room was cleaned, the minibar refilled and the towels changed.
Regarding the FOOD the buffet offered a big variety(chicken, pork, beef, fish and seafood) even if every 2-3 days some dishes were repeated... and of course delicious fresh fruits. All the 3 restaurants were OK...but our favorite was Orquidea.
The BAR offered a decent selection of drinks and you could chose your cocktail from a cocktail menu. The beach BAR was a nice facility as well...and we really enjoyed the attitude and the happiness of the bartenders and of the entire staff. It gives you the holiday mood!
Before closing my review I would like to congrats the entertainment team for the good shows, for their efforts and for the fact that they LOVE their JOB!
BIG APPLAUSE for the entertainment team!!! YEAH BABY!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iulian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it.

We are so happy that you have enjoyed all our services and facilities during your stay in our hotel; we also appreciate your compliments to our staff, especially to our entertainment team; We are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve the continuous improvement of our services and the total satisfaction of our guest. Please be aware that your wonderful comments have been forwarded to the General Manager as well as the rest of our team.

We sincerely hope to welcome you once again in Bahia Principe San Juan. Please do not hesitate to contact us whenever you are planning to come back.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Kindest regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Overall: Beautiful resort, great value, would certainly consider going back!

Room: Nothing special about the room - overall comfortable, was nice they restocked the fridge as we drank things, and they have carts to take you and your luggage to/from your room when you arrive/depart. The A/C is easily adjustable which is nice. The only room complaint is that the water pressure leaves something to be desired but it was workable.

Food/Beverages - Drinks were easily available and the bar had a list of specialty cocktails and you could ask for anything else you wanted. Water was readily available at coolers throughout the bar areas, which is also good. Never much of a wait at the bar. Be sure to try the mamajuana! The food is about what you would expect, from both the buffet and the reservations-needed restaurants. If you're a foodie, this isn't the place for you, but everything was decent. Can't expect too much from a place where they are cooking for so many people.

Beach/Pools - No complaints about either - never felt crowded, chairs were comfortable, and options for shade if you're not someone who can be out in the sun too long

Extras - Recommend some time at the spa. Great value - did a 2.5 hour package that was great, wonderfully relaxing. Also recommend the jeep tour for horseback riding/lunch/beach. It's an all day tour but was really nice to see some other areas of the DR and the tour guide (Nico) and driver (Eddie) did a great job.

Only three general pet peeves:
- In spite of being all-inclusive (which I tend to believe also includes gratuity), there were tip jars for bartenders and the porter who helped with the luggage expected tips.
- Also - make sure to make arrangements to/from the airport when you book your stay, if at all possible. We didn't, and it was more of a challenge than it should have been for that to run smoothly. All fine in the end, but if you are booking online and have the option to do transportation then, just do it!
-You also do have to pay for wifi usage over the first free 60 minutes , but I felt the cost was reasonable, just wasn't expecting it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking of your time in writing us such nice review regarding your recent stay at Bahia Principe San Juan. We truly appreciate it.

We are really happy to read that you have truly enjoyed your vacation with us, and therefore you have good memories of our services and facilities.

Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime, if you are coming to the hotel in order to prepare all your finals details and make once again your stay with us the most comfortable and unforgettable experience.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed at Bahia from Feb 26 to March5th!! We loved this resort ,the rooms were large and loved our balcony,could see the beach from our deck!!
They never stopped cleaning and gardening all day long!!They need a lawn mower as now they use a whipper snipper to cut the grass and can be very noisy for many hours!
The beach was lovely and never ever had a problem getting a lounge or cabana!
!The vendors left you alone if you said NO!!
The mix for our drinks was good OJ,I really think that they water down the drinks in Dom Rep.have been there 6 times and find it at every resort!!
No musty smelling drawers or room!!
The only thing was the time share people ,don't do it!!!LOL
Smoking was not a problem at this resort ,lots of non smoking spots!!
The pool and swim up bar were great and never a problem to get chairs!
The food was great and we really enjoyed the buffet which was huge!!!
Very clean and well kept resort would definatly go back and just may next year!!!
We had room 1409 and loved it very quiet and close to everything!!

Room Tip: 1409 was close to everything!!No noise!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments, we are a family hotel and we always do our best to fulfil our clients as part of this great family.

We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact us whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Puerto Plata.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband and I went with another couple for one week and we had a very good time. The staff were wonderful, the food was good and our room was clean and fresh. The king bed and linens were very good and they provided a stocked mini bar free of charge. There was a great variety of mixed drinks and beer at all of the bars and the drinks were actually made with full strength alcohol. The grounds were well kept and there were enough lounges around the pool and on the beach for everyone. The only negatives, which were not a big deal to us, was that the shower was never hot and no face clothes. But like I said it was not a big deal for us. It is a great place for a good price. A special hello to the entertainment guys Alex & Gabriel and Louis in the Brista buffet.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the second floor which feels larger because of the vaulted ceilings and it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanlake55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our services as well as it will be really helpful for other guests that would like to spend their holidays with us, and we really thank you for it.

It is a real pleasure to get your comment. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed all our facilities and services during your visit with us. Also, we appreciate your compliments to our staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guest. We are delighted to share your comments with all of them.

Once again, thank you so much for your review and we sincerely wish to welcome you again very soon to our Hotel Bahia Principe San Juan. We will be at your disposal for whatever you may need.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your holidays in Puerto Plata.

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014

After travelling to Cuba, and the price paid for this resort, I was very satisfied.

The staff aimed to please, always very friendly.

One of the comments on here was about the english. The english of the staff was great, one has to remember that it is their second language and never did we have a problem that we couldn't communicate with the staff.

The room was good, only problem was the hot water, but that was expected from some of the other reviews. Every day we have fresh towels, and new drinks in our room.

The beer on tap isn't very good, so the drinks were limited for me, but overall the bar tenders wet good and listened to the requests maid.

The main lobby bathrooms were always clean, as well as the main lobby, and the wait staff was very quick to clean.

The beach was nice, the water was not clear, but that was due to the rain and waves coming in, but made it fun to be in the water.

The food was good every where on the resort, all equipment was cleaned with purified water, as well as the ice was made with the same water for our safety.

The only issue I had was that the Bahia Principe staff for the time shares, tried to convince us that the meeting was mandatory, and everyday since then would not take no for an answer. Its kind of hard to avoid them when they come at you every day harassing about this meeting.

It was little bit of a drive from the airport and the only resort in the area, but if you are looking for a relaxing place to go this is it.

Overall I was happy with the service of the resort and would return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is very valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciated your comments about of our facilities and services. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

Thank you so much for your review and we sincerely wish to welcome you again at Bahia Principe San Juan.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Dominican Republic

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio San Juan
34.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
125.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 111 in Punta Cana
2,135 reviews
35.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,214 reviews
35.6 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,071 reviews
34.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Property: Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Address: Ctra. Gaspar Hernandez, km 18, Rio San Juan 33000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Rio San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 4 pools BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, mini golf, football pitch... Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24 hour free per day/device) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo Main restaurant and 3 specialty restaurants 6 bars Playa Grande Golf Course just 40 minutes from the hotel Convention / Meeting centre Pueblo Principe: shows, live music, bars, stores, karaoke, casino and disco Rooms 608 rooms including 2 types: Suite & Standard The Standard rooms are equipped with: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom: Bathtub plus shower, wash basin, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ceiling fan Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar (Restocked daily) Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen TV Coffee set WiFi (additional charge) The Suite rooms have the same equipment as the Standard rooms but also include: Ironing set Sitting area with sofa Pool towel available in room Bathrobe and slippers Evening turn-down service International newspapers Terrace or balcony Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service for children aged up to 12 (additional charge) Other Services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe San Juan Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe San Juan Dominican Republic
Dominican Republic Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe San Juan Resort
Bahia Principe Sj
Puerto Plata Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Resort San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing