We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice resort”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed at Bahia from Feb 26 to March5th!! We loved this resort ,the rooms were large and loved our balcony,could see the beach from our deck!!
They never stopped cleaning and gardening all day long!!They need a lawn mower as now they use a whipper snipper to cut the grass and can be very noisy for many hours!
The beach was lovely and never ever had a problem getting a lounge or cabana!
!The vendors left you alone if you said NO!!
The mix for our drinks was good OJ,I really think that they water down the drinks in Dom Rep.have been there 6 times and find it at every resort!!
No musty smelling drawers or room!!
The only thing was the time share people ,don't do it!!!LOL
Smoking was not a problem at this resort ,lots of non smoking spots!!
The pool and swim up bar were great and never a problem to get chairs!
The food was great and we really enjoyed the buffet which was huge!!!
Very clean and well kept resort would definatly go back and just may next year!!!
We had room 1409 and loved it very quiet and close to everything!!

Room Tip: 1409 was close to everything!!No noise!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments, we are a family hotel and we always do our best to fulfil our clients as part of this great family.

We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact us whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Puerto Plata.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,685
    1,687
    758
    433
    321
See reviews for
1,092
1,707
61
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband and I went with another couple for one week and we had a very good time. The staff were wonderful, the food was good and our room was clean and fresh. The king bed and linens were very good and they provided a stocked mini bar free of charge. There was a great variety of mixed drinks and beer at all of the bars and the drinks were actually made with full strength alcohol. The grounds were well kept and there were enough lounges around the pool and on the beach for everyone. The only negatives, which were not a big deal to us, was that the shower was never hot and no face clothes. But like I said it was not a big deal for us. It is a great place for a good price. A special hello to the entertainment guys Alex & Gabriel and Louis in the Brista buffet.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the second floor which feels larger because of the vaulted ceilings and it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanlake55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our services as well as it will be really helpful for other guests that would like to spend their holidays with us, and we really thank you for it.

It is a real pleasure to get your comment. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed all our facilities and services during your visit with us. Also, we appreciate your compliments to our staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guest. We are delighted to share your comments with all of them.

Once again, thank you so much for your review and we sincerely wish to welcome you again very soon to our Hotel Bahia Principe San Juan. We will be at your disposal for whatever you may need.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your holidays in Puerto Plata.

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014

After travelling to Cuba, and the price paid for this resort, I was very satisfied.

The staff aimed to please, always very friendly.

One of the comments on here was about the english. The english of the staff was great, one has to remember that it is their second language and never did we have a problem that we couldn't communicate with the staff.

The room was good, only problem was the hot water, but that was expected from some of the other reviews. Every day we have fresh towels, and new drinks in our room.

The beer on tap isn't very good, so the drinks were limited for me, but overall the bar tenders wet good and listened to the requests maid.

The main lobby bathrooms were always clean, as well as the main lobby, and the wait staff was very quick to clean.

The beach was nice, the water was not clear, but that was due to the rain and waves coming in, but made it fun to be in the water.

The food was good every where on the resort, all equipment was cleaned with purified water, as well as the ice was made with the same water for our safety.

The only issue I had was that the Bahia Principe staff for the time shares, tried to convince us that the meeting was mandatory, and everyday since then would not take no for an answer. Its kind of hard to avoid them when they come at you every day harassing about this meeting.

It was little bit of a drive from the airport and the only resort in the area, but if you are looking for a relaxing place to go this is it.

Overall I was happy with the service of the resort and would return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is very valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciated your comments about of our facilities and services. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

Thank you so much for your review and we sincerely wish to welcome you again at Bahia Principe San Juan.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Dominican Republic

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We just got back on March 3/14 and had the best time at a resort yet! We had been to Sousua last year at Casa Marina and were some what satisfied with it, but this resort blew it out of the water. Very clean, friendly service, happy employees, fridge continually being restocked with 1L of water, beer, pepsis, orange pop..etc, lots of towels, plenty of water to shower, no bugs like some places in the DR. Food was great. There was a huge variety. Breakfast was awesome and I actually liked the coffee. Bars are up by where you arrive, so they don't interfer with sleeping. The vendors will drive you nuts on the beach. They are kept at the far end, but they have a guy for each one walking the beach in an official looking white shirt trying to get your business. We did the snorkeling adventure through the water sports shop on the beach. It was amazing!! Saw a sting ray and turtles in their habitat and fed monkey fish pieces of banana. We also did jeep safari. It is equally as great. Anyway, great for family and kids..really great entertainment for us and 8 and 10 year olds and fun karaoke bar and disco. Air Transat Reo Samuel was helpful and always available. Really great place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erinn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Resorts as your holiday’s destination.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again in our hotel and have the opportunity to continue providing the most memorable experiences. Please feel free to contact us whenever you are planning to return.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our journey to this resort started almost a year ago when we were booked into the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum in Mexico. 2 days before we were to leave we were phoned by our travel agency and informed that the resort was overbooked and that we did not have a room. We were given a choice of getting bumped to another resort that had been arranged or to not go at all. As part of the “sorry we so badly screwed up your holiday” Bahia Principe gave our family a voucher for a 7 day stay that was good for a year. Except for Christmas and Easter and you have to use it within 8 months. It took a great deal of phone calls and emails to their head office in Spain to get them to honor it. Then they told us the only place we could use it was the Bahia Principe San Juan. Some voucher. We were not the only ones who got bumped, there had to be over 30 other people. I am curious the troubles others had trying to get this company to honor their commitments.
I had read the reviews and had an idea what to expect so I wasn’t surprised when the gentleman working the reception desk could not speak English. Fortunately I showed him the vouchers and he returned shortly with our keys. We had a really difficult time getting things figured out. The next morning we had a similar problem when we tried to book our 3 a la cartes. The woman running the computer and I could not communicate. In the end we were only able to book one dinner and were told to come back tomorrow. The next day we had a nice young man (wish I had his name) and things were going much better. We found out, much to our surprise, we were VIP’s and were able to book 5 a la cartes; 3rd day at the resort and who knew? Then the same lady who we had the first day came in and took over. I asked to have the young man back because we could communicate. She looked a little put out. Oh well. By this point however we were only able to book 3 more dinners.
The rooms; where to start? I can’t remember the last time I had an old fashioned key for a hotel room. Our room had a chain lock on the inside; the room our kids were staying in next door had no secondary lock system from the inside. We were given the locking mechanism and key for our safe. Problem was the hole for the lock in the safe looked as if it had been cut out by an amateur with a blow torch and it would not fit. It did fit the safe in the kids’ room and so we used that one. The fridge was stocked but we found out it took a long time for anything to get cool in it. The company that built these motel units should have really invested in a level. Nothing is square and all the doors had gaps and the place was very noisy. The bathroom: wow! What you would typically find in a Super8 motel. Except the Super8 has hot and cold running water. The first day we did not have any hot water to shower with and barely any water pressure at all. The whole week, we could not shower; the water would just trickle out. A good thing is that they have a hand held shower otherwise the water would just fall 4 inches from the wall. The toilet barely flushed and you had to flush it 3 times to clear it. There were little black bugs all over the small vanity and walls. No tissue, just toilet paper. The air conditioning failed twice while we there. The power went out at least once every day. They did offer to fumigate the room the last day we were there, never had that offer before, maybe it’s a VIP thing, however we declined.
Food and Drink: the food was ok. The buffet gets a little repetitive after a few days. My insides were upset on day 6 but it passed in a few hours. On the 7th night we went back to the Mediterranean restaurant and my 16 year old son got food poisoning and spent the night on the bathroom floor. My wife and I both came home with colds we picked up the last day. They are very good with the hand gel whenever you go into a restaurant but when you go to a buffet 17 times in a week with 2000 other people you are probably going to pick up something. When you ordered a drink from a bar you could never be sure what you were going to get but it kept things interesting. No drink service at the beach or around the pool.
The Beach: yeah, if you’re a beach person like us, this is not the resort for you. A couple of days before we arrived they replaced all of the fabric chairs on the east half of the beach with white plastic ones. We found out very quickly they are very hard and not comfortable. Some people were dragging the old fabric chairs from up the beach. They had a couple of dozen pads but they were all taken by 7 am. We also had the pleasure of being beside where they rent out the jet skis. They were constantly working on them and loudly revving the motors on the beach. Didn’t seem to know what they were doing however because just about every time they were taken out at least one of them broke down and had to be towed back to the beach. Don’t waste your time and money on those.
Bottom Line: I know most of these things are minor issues, but if you are going to market yourself as a 4 star resort you expect these things to be taken care of. The staff work very hard and I had no problems with anyone who worked there. A high end resort that markets itself to the world would have someone working the point that can communicate with their customers. If you’re already booked at this resort you will probably be fine. If you’re thinking of booking here, spend a few more dollars and go somewhere else. We have stayed at 4 and 5 star resorts before and this place is not a 4 star. Given the conditions of our room and other details, I cannot even say this is a 3 star. The Bahia Principe San Juan is at best a 2 star resort. Some have said ignore the bad reviews, well; ignore them at your peril. We won’t be back and will never book into a Bahia Principe ever again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort to give the proper attention.

We fully understand that you are a person with a great experience in all inclusive Hotels and we are truly sorry that we could not fulfil your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to receive you again in one of the hotels of our chain to be able to offer you a more agreeable experience, especially either of one of our Gran Bahia branch or Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service and superior rooms.

Warm regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband an I planed this holiday at the Bahia Principe San Juan in Dominican Republic for our 34th Anniversary. We called to make sure our rooms would be ready but on our arrival 2/18/2014 we were told they never talked to us, so it all went down hI'll from there.
My husband & I were bitten up by sand fleas. , food was cold an poor quality. The 3 restaurants again cold food an bad, no hot water or pressure! ,Mickey mouse alcohol, rooms very small even if you up grade. Very big resort so you had to walk slot. Went to public relations with the our problems an nothing was done.Even when I got home can email the corporate I was told so sorry but thank you for you comments.I've been to Dominican alot an this was the worst!
So stay away!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time in sending us your feedback about your stay in our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We sincerely regret the fact that we were not able to fulfill your expectations regarding some of our hotel facilities and services.

However, we have follow up with our staff regarding your concerns and we would like to emphasis that we strive work for to create the best experience possible for all our clients according to our standards.

Once more, we regret so much that you have not enjoyed your holidays as you were expected. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels Bahia Principe in a near future, especially either of one of our Gran Bahia branch or Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service and superior rooms.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Recently spent 2 weeks at the Bahia Principe with my mom. And even though the hotel was situated near a pretty nice beach, the staff was supernice and we had a good stay all in all. There are some things that I need to point out:
- The buffet is pretty decent, but the A'la carte restaurants suck. It's basically rearrangement of the buffet food served by a waiter. (They should consider having good restaurants that cost something extra instead).
- The bars suck as well. Basically all their "cocktails" are different variations of the same lemon/orange/coconut slush ice. And even if you order one of those, you're certainly not sure to get the same thing you ordered last time. Sometimes you could get a blended drink with milk, other times not. (this depended on wether the bartenders felt like using the blender). They are generally superstressed by the bars even if there's only 6 people in line. I only drank pure whiskey or rum for the two weeks as that is the only way to know what you're getting.
- They have very aggressive salesmen stalking people, by the beach who is a constant irritation. I don't know why they have them there, as it is 20 shops carrying the exact same products and these hustlers trying to sell you rum and cigars for 4x the price. We went to one of the shops (Dont ever do that) and literally had to pay the seller to let s go. (Why not have 2 or three souvenir shops instead of flooding the market?).
Other than that. The staff is superfriendly (Not always too helpful) and the hotel is pretty good for its pricerange

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fengelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write us this review about our hotel.

We are really happy that you have enjoyed your holidays in Bahia Principe San Juan.

We regret so much that we could not meet your expectations in some of our services. However, we sincerely appreciate your review as it is through communications on this nature that we can see what specific points we must focus to our attention.

We sincerely hope to welcome you again in BP San Juan in a near future.

Kindest regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio San Juan
34.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
125.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 111 in Punta Cana
2,129 reviews
35.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,210 reviews
35.6 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,057 reviews
34.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Property: Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Address: Ctra. Gaspar Hernandez, km 18, Rio San Juan 33000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Rio San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 4 pools BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, mini golf, football pitch... Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24 hour free per day/device) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo Main restaurant and 3 specialty restaurants 6 bars Playa Grande Golf Course just 40 minutes from the hotel Convention / Meeting centre Pueblo Principe: shows, live music, bars, stores, karaoke, casino and disco Rooms 608 rooms including 2 types: Suite & Standard The Standard rooms are equipped with: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom: Bathtub plus shower, wash basin, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ceiling fan Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar (Restocked daily) Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen TV Coffee set WiFi (additional charge) The Suite rooms have the same equipment as the Standard rooms but also include: Ironing set Sitting area with sofa Pool towel available in room Bathrobe and slippers Evening turn-down service International newspapers Terrace or balcony Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service for children aged up to 12 (additional charge) Other Services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe San Juan Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe San Juan Dominican Republic
Dominican Republic Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe San Juan Resort
Bahia Principe Sj
Puerto Plata Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Resort San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing