We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First All-Inclusive Resort Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a few problems upon arrival with the key to our room and safety deposit box. After a couple of hours we finally got a new room but the air conditioning didn't work properly. By this time we were so exhausted in trying to speak english with the people at the front desk that we just put the request in to have it fixed and finally, after 3 1/2 hours upon arrival, went to the pool. Two days later we had the air conditioning fixed and by the last day, received our complimentary champagne that was promised to us upon arrival. Language barrier indeed.

Overall, the food was great...the entertainment was great and other than people putting towels on chairs to hold them for the next day and not showing up until 5:00 pm so there would be no chairs at 7:00 a.m., the resort was good and clean. The water at the beach was murky though, so didnt swim in it. The excursions were fantastic!!! Catamaran and Scuba Aquatic. We were able to snorkel at a private beach with the crew at Scuba Aquatic, Kao, Domingo, Coco and Clara, and have lunch at a local restaurant right in the village. We met many people on the catamaran and it was a full day of fun sailing!!!

I wouldnt recommend bringing small children to this resort unless you plan on staying away from the main pool area. There were alot of young adults and we all know how crazy they can be especially when alcohol is involved. I had to witness some abusive vulgar language being used right in front of an 8 year old....not good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TraceyDB C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on our Tripadvisor community regarding your experience in our hotel. In Bahía Príncipe San Juan, we put a greatest interest on our client’s opinions, both positive and negative as it is through communication of this nature that we can see what specific points we must focus to our attention.

We are very sorry that we were not able to impress you with some of our services. We regret so much to hear about your discomfort with the students, we have informed about your observations to the Hotel Management as well as the mentioned issues with the room and the language barrier. Please be assured that we will take the appropriated actions in order to improve the areas indicated by you. We sincerely appreciate your comments about the food and the entertainment, we are aware that it is only through our staff effort that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel.

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 5,113 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Food was exceptionally good. They even caterer to my daughter's glutin free diet.
You have a coffee table with snacks for those who miss breakfast, or need to fill in a sweet tooth during the day.
As for the staff, you will remember their names from the very first service and they treated us like royalty. Other clients from the hotel get to be friendly so you have fun every night and share activities together
As for activities, there is snorkeling, out in the Caribbean Channel in a bottom glass bottom boat, and do not the miss swimming with a dolphins. The parrots give a good show. You can swim with sharks and sting rays, and have free activities which are just as exciting. So many activities I cannot write all of them down. Go see for yourself. Victoria and I were impressed with the quality of food, the service, and the no noise from the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Villa 67 is close to the pool and to the beach, but far from the lobby and the buffet. We enjoyed V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NinaTestaguzzaGuitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Bahia Principe San Juan, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Resorts as your holiday’s destination.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises, especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again in our hotel and have the opportunity to continue providing the most memorable experiences.

Best regards,

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have been to this resort a few years ago and loved the experience....Have told my new husband he will just fall in love with it and want to return like I am.... Staff very friendly, rooms very clean and good sight seeing activites... I have just booked a two week vacation for December this year and have just had a total Knee replacement and need a wheel chair to get around... I can walk some but not much... The people I booked with said it is wheelchair friendly but I am very concerned about this... They told me that it is a backdoor booking and I would not see that it has been arranged for me but I would find out when I get there...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our services as well as it will be really helpful for other guests that would like to spend their holidays with us, and we really thank you for it.

It is a real pleasure to us to get your comment. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed all our facilities and services during your past visit with us. All hotel areas as well as the ground floor rooms are wheelchair accessible.

Once again, thank you so much for your review and we sincerely wish to welcome you again very soon to our Hotel Bahia Principe San Juan. We will be at your disposal for whatever you may need.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went wil our two children and family friends. The food, room and the kids activities was the best we every experienced. They have great show in the evenings. One evening our children participated in the show by doing a fashion show. It was both hilarious and Fun.

Room Tip: Take part in the activities . We met a lot of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chizanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such good opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it.

We are so happy that your family and you have enjoyed all our services and facilities during your stay in our hotel. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence, thanks to an arduous team’s work and the devotion and commitment of each member of our staff.

We hope to welcome you once again in Bahia Principe San Juan. Please do not hesitate to contact us whenever you are planning to come back.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Kindest regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The wife and I been here twice now and planning to go back this feb . We tried other resorts in Jamaica and was very disappointed So now we're going back to the one resorte that we really I joyed ourselfs at The staff here were amasing Food was outstanding and the nightly intertainment was outstanding We like the fact when the bars close down the party continues just outside the resort gates in the little strip mall that's on the road in Well I should say its kept up like the resort and you swear it was part of it Drinks kept flowing at the bars and disco witch was all free .Im not one to write a review but had too on this resort Was amasing and we be coming back over again Hope this is helpful ,Try it you won't be disappointed oh it won't let me put in the right date but we stayed here in feb 2012 and feb 2011 and 2009

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dave and sylvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this detailed review for your stay at Bahia Principe San Juan.

We are really glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, specially our services. We work every day to satisfy our guest needs and to make their stay a memorable holiday and we are really happy to see that we did it with you. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We are looking forward to welcome you again very soon to Bahia Principe San Juan.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a wonderful two weeks with my husband! We are not overly picky people but want to share our experience. We decided to upgrade to golden club, and it was worth it to us for the room location. However we were not able to enjoy all the possible benefits due to low vacancy at the resort. A la cartes were not open everyday, so we missed some. Seafood restaurant was never opened, beach snack bar/bbq was never available during the entire 2 weeks.

The gym is also important to us when we decide on which resort to stay at. We were able to work out, but it wasn't as nice as we expected. Equipment is old and in need of repair. My husband couldn't do full weight on some machines as the cords were wearing and close to breaking. No towels or cleaning solutions. The towel return basket is used as a garbage can.

I also was bitten multiple times on the beach, but not my husband!? Bring repellent and/or after bite as the cream purchased at resort was very expensive ($25 for small tube).

On resort bars closed at 10:30pm, you had to walk down the road to the party area if you wanted anything to drink. We did party late one night and it was fun, but usually in bed by 11:30pm. It would have been nice to have a night cap in the lobby or patio rather than go to a club.

All restaurants and the buffet were excellent. Lots of selection for every palate. Staff did keep the buffet area nice. Offered hand antibact. at entrance and witnessed them denying access to a sweaty jogger in tiny shorts! (good call)

Beach is beautiful and great for long walks, not rocky at all, walked bare footed.

Over all a great time, but could use improvements!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank AnneMarie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this detailed review of your past stay at Bahia Principe San Juan.

Let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us; therefore we are happy for having left a pleasant memory. We work every day to satisfy our guest needs and to make of their stay a memorable experience.

We regret so much to hear that we could not satisfy your expectations in some aspects of our service. However, be aware that your particular concerns were submitted to the Hotel Management, so that we can together improve our standards and procedures and take it to the level expected by our guests.

Once more, thank you for your valuable comments. In Bahia Principe San Juan we have very clear that only by listening carefully to the comments of our guests we are able to assess and evaluate our performance. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you again here at Bahia Principe San Juan.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I visited this hotel with my husband and two older kids. We stayed for a week and would definitely go back. First of all the location is right on the beach. Some people complain about the greyish sand, fleas etc. The truth is that we didn't mind. A few moments when the resort ends the wild beach starts so we enjoyed this untouched beauty. The sand fleas appear only after dark so it's easy to avoid them. Foods and drinks were fabulous with lots varied options and plenty choices. I liked the fact that before we entered the buffet we were asked to use some antibacterial gel provided by staff. Rooms were clean but a bit tired and basic. On the day of departure we were placed for a night in the different area for golden club as our flight was delayed. I found this room in better condition so would definitely recommend. The bottles of drinking water supplied daily including bathroom for teeth washing purposes. Shops were open till late and a bar with burgers the whole night. Karaoke singing and disco are also on site. Parents look after your kids all times! In the restaurant me and my husband went to the buffet leaving our kids at the table for a moment and they were asked by a fat guy to come with him to his room so I urge you to watch out.
We were using taxi to visit the places we wanted. The major attractions for us were Sosua Beach and Samana whale watching with Kim. Would strongly recommend both, Sosua for its clean waters full tropical fish that we watched when snorkelling. Whale watching was another amazing experience with an optional break on the Bacardi Island which we opted In. Overall Dominican Republic is a stunning place to visit and I do hope to return there one day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank justimari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is very valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are specially appreciated your positive comments about of our facilities and serviced. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

Thank you so much for your review and we sincerely wish to welcome you again at Bahia Principe San Juan.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,
Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio San Juan
34.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,669 reviews
34.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
35.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#5 of 54 in Samana Province
4,111 reviews
35.6 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,613 reviews
19.5 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Address: Ctra. Gaspar Hernandez-Rio San Juan, Km 18, Rio San Juan 33000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Rio San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Price Range: $105 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 4 pools BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, mini golf, football pitch... Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24 hour free per day/device) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo Main restaurant and 3 specialty restaurants 6 bars Playa Grande Golf Course just 40 minutes from the hotel Convention / Meeting centre Pueblo Principe: shows, live music, bars, stores, karaoke, casino and disco Rooms 608 rooms including 2 types: Suite & Standard The Standard rooms are equipped with: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom: Bathtub plus shower, wash basin, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ceiling fan Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar (Restocked daily) Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen TV Coffee set WiFi (additional charge) The Suite rooms have the same equipment as the Standard rooms but also include: Ironing set Sitting area with sofa Pool towel available in room Bathrobe and slippers Evening turn-down service International newspapers Terrace or balcony Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service for children aged up to 12 (additional charge) Other Services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe San Juan Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe San Juan Dominican Republic
Dominican Republic Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe San Juan Resort
Bahia Principe Sj
Puerto Plata Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Resort San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing