We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Week - April 1-8, 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
New Minas, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Week - April 1-8, 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful, fun-filled week at the BPSJ. Cleanliness is a major thing to mention as the staff was always tidying things, cleaning, manicuring the grounds ... to ensure that everything was attractive and well maintained. We enjoyed four a la carte restaurants. The Mediterranean was the best - very classy dining! The Golden Room was a highlight indeed. Our view from our balcony was spectacular. We saw the pool and the ocean. The food was very good, the staff was very friendly, and we met a number of nice people. The City Tour of Puerto Plata and Cable Car Ride was well worth the time and money. It was the only excursion that we did. We enjoyed swimming in the pool, walking the beach, swimming in the ocean and reading our books under the shaded umbrella areas. No problem to get a chaise lounge chair. It was a nice get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: Golden Club Room - E section -#2224 - second floor has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 786lindas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on our Trip advisor community regarding your experience in our hotel. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our service and facilities we put our greatest interest and value in our guest´ opinion.

It is truly a pleasure to us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and we greatly appreciate your comments about our facilities, services, grounds, food, restaurants and the staff. Comments such as like yours are what we strive for following every day in order to improve the quality of service we offer.

We sincerely would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Bahía Príncipe San Juan to experience the hospitality of our people and the quality of our services and facilities. Please do not hesitate to contact us in a future stay with us.

Best Regard,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,659
    1,667
    747
    432
    318
See reviews for
1,067
1,692
61
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a great time at this resort. We stayed for a week in March 2013. Everything was very clean and the grounds were well kept, including the pools and beach. We upgraded to a diamond room when we booked, which was good because our room was lovely, clean, and very close to everything.

I also enjoyed the food and the variety at the buffet. The bars had fun feature drinks everyday and friendly staff. The only disappointment was the Italian restaurant, where my ravioli tasted like it was freezer-burned. But the Mediterranian restaurant more than made up for it! It was absolutely my favourite meal of the trip.

The shows at night were colourful and lots of fun to watch! (but a bit repetitive) We didn't do a lot of activities on the resort (mostly lay on the beach, reading), but there always seemed to be something going on.

I would definitely recommend this resort to others. It was a great stay and a great value for the money.

Room Tip: diamond rooms are nice and close to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 505AmandaH505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your stay at Bahía Príncipe San Juan in our Tripadvisor web page and share with our fans your experience with us.

You can be sure that there is no biggest reward for us than to get a message like yours knowing that we have exceeded your expectations. We are a family hotel and we do everything possible to make feel our guests like part of this great family.

Once again, we thank you for your constructive observations. We are at your disposal for whatever you may need, please do not hesitate on contacting us in a future visit with us.

Regard,
Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Sackville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went from March 25- April1st. with friends. We had a great time. We just wanted some R&R. our room 2210 was perfect close to the pool and beach and not too far from the buffett or main building.Rooms were clean.hot water!

Food was great. One night there was a change in the restaurant so we had to look around to see where we were going but ended up at the right place.There was always something to eat. Staff was great.We didnot mind that the waterpsorts were slowed down during holy week.

Entertainment compared to other resorts was a lacking in abilitiy and content.
Resort was clean.
I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: golden Rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie13456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for letting us know about your recent experience in our hotel and also for taking time to share your comments with our trip advisor community. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our service and facilities we put our greatest interest and value in our guest´ opinion.

It is a real pleasure to us to get your comment. We are glad that you have enjoyed all our facilities and services during your visit with us. Also, we appreciate your compliments to our staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guest. We are delighted to share your comments with all of them.
We hope to welcome you again to Bahía Príncipe San Juan very soon and to thank you in person.

Kindest regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara region, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I got a "last minute" deal for this resort. It was a colourful bus ride from Puerto Plata to Río San Juan, 1 hour + 15 minutes. We were nervous because it was "all inclusive" (our first) and we thought everyone would have their hands out for tips all the time. Reception was courteous and able to speak English sufficiently well to serve. The grounds were immaculate! Our room was very clean and sufficiently stocked with toiletries in the bathroom, robe & slippers, and water, sodas and beer in the fridge. When we went to supper, we were not prepared for the extensive food selection that awaited - it was magnificent. As well as the buffet offerings, there were also 2 chefs who cooked pasta in a variety of ways during lunch/supper and omelets at breakfast times. It was to be expected that at times food was less than hot by the time you sat down, but it was good food. Having said that, there were some compromises in the offerings - which is to say, there were desserts labeled as "peach pie" or "apple pie" or "cheesecake" and they weren't the expected American/Canadian version. Likewise, "Greek salad" was a bit odd because there was no feta cheese to be found (Manchego cheese, which is from Spain, is delicious, and they had blue, cheddar and Danish cheeses as well). We simply accepted that some things are just different food-wise because of local interpretation. There was no shortage of food, nor a shortage of variety; if one was dissatisfied, it was not because of quality or amount, rather just because some things were different than expected.
As for service, I have never experienced the likes of it anywhere! When one was finished with a plate of food, it rarely sat even 4 minutes on the table before being whisked away by one of the diligent dining staff! Also, the staff didn't have their hands out for tips - as a matter of fact, one had to pretty much chase them down to give them a tip because they were so busy! Also, the general demeanor of the staff appeared to be genuinely happy to be there and happy to serve you. My wife speaks no Spanish, and the staff was good to speak English for her but seemed very pleased at my efforts to speak Spanish. There was no shortage of drinks either, and though we are not really drinkers, it was obvious that others were content with beverages. We asked for a fair bit of water, and if it wasn't at the front desk, it was delivered to our room very quickly. We enjoyed that relaxed atmosphere, and for us, we had no desire to leave the grounds or do much in the way of activities, however there were many activities offered for those who were interested. There were also 4 pools, all beautifully maintained, and of course the ocean. The ocean was a bit rough, and because of this there was a fair bit of silt that was stirred up by the tide. I had hoped to do ocean kayaking but the ocean was too rough. Internet is available only in the huge lobby area + a separate area (for us) if you are in the "Diamond Club". Also, the layout of the resort allowed for night shows to be loud enough yet it was quiet in our room.
So; would we do this again? ABSOLUTELY!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pablacito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Bahia Principe San Juan, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday’s destination.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises. We are so happy that you have enjoyed all our services and facilities during your stay with us. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence, thanks to an arduous team’s work and the devotion and commitment of each member of our staff. We are delighted to share your comments with all of them. Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to receive such wonderful comments and I know that it will be very helpful for other clients who are thinking to stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again in our hotel and have the opportunity to continue providing the most memorable experiences.

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A little late for this review
Was there a few years back
I'll make this quick
Food was good didn't get sick
Night entertainment was good too
Big place for shows
Lots of loungers at pools
Bars always stocked and beer cold
I think the main beer is presidente
And brugal rum
Resort was clean !!
And workers and service staff were all great

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strikeforce27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Firstly, we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our services as well as it will be really helpful for other guests that would like to spend their holidays with us, and we really thank you for it.

It is a real pleasure to us to get your comment. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed all our facilities and services during your visit with us the past May 2012.

Once again, thank you so much for your review and we sincerely wish to welcome you again very soon to our Hotel Bahia Principe San Juan. We will be at your disposal for whatever you may need.

Best regards,
Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My friend and I visited the Bahia Principe San Juan from 2 - 10 January 2013. Our room was lovely and clean, as was the resort. There was always staff cleaning the communal areas. The beach was literally a 2-minute walk from our room, beach restaurant that catered for lunch times. The 3 main restaurants, Mexican, Italian and Mediterranean were all very good, having pre-booked, our tables were waiting on arrival. The food was exceptional. The food in the buffet restaurant was a little repetitive but a good selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The weather was good, a little rain but still warm and hot enough to get a nice tan (and swim in the sea). The staff were so friendly, in the bars and restaurants. Cocktails were great, a little hit a miss, we tried to get the same female bar tender to serve us as she make the best drinks! The only down side was the shower was cold for the duration, not that we complained, because it was nice to cool down after a day on the beach! Unfortunately we were given the wrong currency at our local Post Office, so we had no cash for the week, luckily we went all inclusive so didn’t actually need any money but had to put the safe deposit on a credit card which came with a large charge! Beach towels are provided and you can exchange them daily for clean ones. The resort was pretty and the colours of the little shops leading up to the hotel were lovely. The Christmas tree and decorations were still up when we arrived which was nice!
All in all, for the price, nice holiday, lovely place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest away from the main buffet restaurant as the beach that end is much nicer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us in our Trip Advisor community. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities as well as you appreciated the friendliness of our staff; we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve the continuous improvement of our services.

We sincerely hope to count on you in futures and once again thank you for taking the time to send us all your valuable comments, which are highly appreciated. Be assured that Bahia Principe San Juan will never cease in its efforts to constantly improve the quality of services provided.

Kind regards,
Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed from March 24th-March 31st 2013 and stayed in room 2507. It was myself, my husband and our 2 children aged 3 1/2 yrs old and 9 months.
First thing I have to say is that I found this resort to be spotless! I was paranoid as this was our first vacation traveling with the kids and having a baby with us I wanted to ensure things were very clean. I was looking for any signs of dirt, bugs etc... and could not find anything! Very impressed. The cleaning ladies were amazing, very friendly and very clean.
The food in the buffet was very good some days and okay others, nothing to complain about. The a la carte dinners were great, every time. I had the baked lasagna at the Italian restaurant and it was so good! Had the pepper steak at the Mediterrani and the chicken burrito at the Tex Mex, all very good.
The people were very nice on the resort and great with our kids. Our daughter (3 1/2 yrs) especially liked the kids show at 8pm every night where she got to go on stage and dance and sing with the staff and other kids. They were really great with her.
The beach was very nice, soft sand and great for swimming. We had both our kids in there.
As we were with small children we did not get to enjoy the night life, we were in bed by about 9:00pm every night so cannot comment on that.
The only complaint I would have is the hours of the buffet. Lunch did not start until 1pm and dinner did not start until 7pm. At home our kids get hungry and usually eat at bout 11:30am-12:00pm and dinner at 5:30pm-6:00pm, especially as they are usually going to bed between 7pm-8pm so we had to deal with tired cranky kids at dinner.....
I would suggest they start buffet a little earlier for the kids, even if just certain foods at that time.
This however would not stop us from going back, especially when the kids are a little older.
We had a great time and have great memories, already missing it!

Room Tip: Would suggest any rooms around room 2507 if you have kids. Close tot he buffet and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel as your holiday destination and also for taking the time to share your comments with our Trip Advisor community regarding the experiences you had during your stay in our Resort.

We are very proud to have received your comments regarding our services and facilities. We would like you to mention that this kind of review help us to improve and raise our service. Also, we appreciated your comments about our staff regarding their attitude we are aware that it is only with their effort that we are able to achieve our goal- the total satisfaction of our guests.

We regret so much if the opening hours at the buffet caused you any discomfort. Please be assured that your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Management in order to be evaluated and try to take whatever measure appropriated in this case.

Once more, thank you for your valuable comments. In Bahia Principe San Juan we have very clear that only by listening carefully to the comments of our guests we are able to assess and evaluate our performance. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you again here at Bahia Principe San Juan.

In a further visit, please do not hesitate on contacting us.

Yours respectfully,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio San Juan
34.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
125.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
35.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,301 reviews
35.6 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,833 reviews
125.0 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#63 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Property: Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Address: Ctra. Gaspar Hernandez, km 18, Rio San Juan 33000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Rio San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 4 pools BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, mini golf, football pitch... Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1 hour free per day/device) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo Main restaurant and 3 specialty restaurants 6 bars Playa Grande Golf Course just 40 minutes from the hotel Convention / Meeting centre Pueblo Principe: shows, live music, bars, stores, karaoke, casino and disco Rooms 608 rooms including 2 types: Suite & Standard The Standard rooms are equipped with: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom: Bathtub plus shower, wash basin, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ceiling fan Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar (Restocked daily) Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen TV Coffee set WiFi (additional charge) The Suite rooms have the same equipment as the Standard rooms but also include: Ironing set Sitting area with sofa Pool towel available in room Bathrobe and slippers Evening turn-down service International newspapers Terrace or balcony Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service for children aged up to 12 (additional charge) Other Services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, BookIt.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe San Juan Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe San Juan Dominican Republic
Dominican Republic Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe San Juan Resort
Bahia Principe Sj
Puerto Plata Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Resort San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing