We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic March Break destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Port Carling, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic March Break destination”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very kind staff who were always sweet to my 2-year old. Even though it was March Break and there were a number of student groups there, we were never bothered by noise or antics. The food was amazing and the beach was always clean. Rooms were just fine for our family of 3.

Room Tip: A room at the end of the building has more ambient noise from the air conditioner unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for choosing Bahia Principe San Juan as your holiday’s destination and for the time spent and effort of writing your feedback about your recent visit to our premises.

We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our services and facilities. We would like you to mention that this kind of review help us to improve and raise our service. Our goal it is achieve maximum satisfaction of our guests.

We sincerely appreciate all feedback. We hope to welcome you once again to our Hotel or to any of our Resorts of Bahia Principe in a near future.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,690
    1,702
    764
    436
    327
See reviews for
1,112
1,715
62
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, ON
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent a week here from March 8th to 15th.
Resort is located 60 minutes from the airport.
Hotel is well kept but could use a bit of modernizing. Rooms were small but the AC worked perfectly. Housekeeping did a good job of keeping our room in great shape.
Beach was okay. It was a very windy week so a lot of seaweed washed up on shore, but it was quickly raked up by resort staff. The vendors from down the beach can be a bit pushy though. Be sure to negotiate better prices as the first price is never the final price. Do not be afraid to walk away and shop elsewhere.
Bar staff was good and made the drinks to your specification. We heard some people complain that the drinks were weak, but all you had to do was ask for a bit more and we were never told no.
Every staff person we ran into was pleasant and friendly.
The buffet food was okay but a bit repetitive. The Mediterranean was the best of the à la carte restaurants and we really enjoyed it.
Pools were nice and warm and the animation staff did a great job keeping everyone entertained and were not too pushy. My only real complaint was that sometimes there were competing sound systems with music by the pool competing with music by the beach.
All in all, we had a pretty good trip. I like to try new places so will not go back, but I would definitely recommend it to others who want some fun in the sun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renrenren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time and write your experience about your recent stay in our hotel.

We truly appreciate that you have enjoyed your holiday in our hotel. Your opinion will be really helpful for other guests that would like to spend their holidays with us, and we really thank you for it.

We appreciated your comments about our staff regarding their attitude we are aware that it is only with their effort that we are able to achieve our goal- the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our staff.

We sincerely hope to welcome you very soon to our Hotel Bahía Príncipe San Juan.

Kindest regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our vacation was from March 8th to March 15th 2013. I honestly can’t believe a few reviews, because we stayed here during the same time. Bahia Principe San Juan is a solid 4 star, but I wouldn’t give it a higher rating for the reasons that I will detail below. The way I look at it, we live a 2+ star lifestyle in Timmins, ON. Therefore, this was absolute paradise. No dishes to wash, no meals to cook, no carpooling, no snow, no 30 below weather and no kids fighting! That being said, we had an absolute wonderful time with 2 other couples.

It is over an hour by bus to get to the resort. If someone offers to stop to purchase a few Cervezas on the way, I suggest that you jump on it. I didn’t and was regretting the decision all the way there.

The staffs are very friendly and generally in a good mood. A couple of them might ask for the occasional tip, but this isn’t required. Some days we were generous and other times we weren’t. Honestly, the level of service you will receive doesn’t change either way. The animation team work hard to liven things up around the pool, but they need a few new ideas. It becomes a little repetitive after a few days. (Water aerobics, beach volleyball, bingo, water polo).

The grounds are very well maintained and beautiful. The beach is nice but it isn’t the white sand most expect. The waves leave a thick layer of seaweed daily. Everyday, the workers are out there racking and cleaning the beach for our enjoyment. That said, the beach is nicer than any around our area. We enjoyed our afternoon breaks from the sun, by sitting in the shade, while the ocean breeze cooled us off.

The buffet restaurant was great. A few items are available everyday, but for the most part, we always seemed to find new items to savor. A good variety of dishes, even for the fussiest of eaters. We had the opportunity to try 2 of the à la cartes : Tex Mex & Mediterranean. Everyone in our group preferred the Mediterranean. We visited twice and between all of us, we pretty much tasted the entire menu.

The resort is starting to show its age, even though we would see maintenance happening everywhere. I agree that you can get the occasional whiff of something here or there, but it isn’t enough to completely ruin your trip. The rooms are cleaned daily; you get the odd insect (or a small gecko) that makes its way into your room and a couple of things that might need to be fixed or painted in your room. These are all minor things, that didn’t really bother us. Therefore, we didn’t see the need to call the front desk about them.

** The only thing that requires immediate attention would be the recreation area. The mini putt needs an overhaul. The resort needs to invest in some Tennis equipment (They have 2 courts and only 2 rackets). The pool table cues will give you slivers. The Ping-Pong paddles are very old and worn. The don’t have any arrows for archery.**

The most important question : Would we return to this resort? We really enjoyed our trip. The positive out way the negative 10 to 1. We had great friends travelling with us, that made our vacation that much more enjoyable. I would definitely consider another Bahia Principe property, but it is very unlikely that we would return to this resort again. This would never stop me from recommending this resort to others. In one word : FANTASTIC ! (even though she wasn't there...inside joke!)

Room Tip: Second floor rooms. We stayed at the second to last building and area seemed much quieter than other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clement-Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us in our Trip Advisor community. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion.

We regret so much to hear that the sport area did not meet your expectations. However, we sincerely appreciate such good review regarding our facilities & services, and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your holidays as much as you were expecting.

Besides, we would like to add that it is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff; we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve the continuous improvement of our services. Please be aware that your wonderful comments have been forwarded to the General Manager as well as the rest of our team.

Once more thank you so much for your time in writing us. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Bahía Príncipe San Juan very soon.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Lovely hotel with some of the nicest staff you could ever hope to meet. In particular the staff working in the restaurants were wonderful, cannot fault any of them. Too many nice people to name, but they all had a smile for every customer no matter what time of day or night it was (especially Raul, Randy & Jose).

The food was excellent in both the buffet restaurant & the al a carte restaurants - these are definitely worth a visit, food is exquisite. Breakfast was a delight, eggs & omelettes made to order while you wait, choosing your own fillings.

Rooms were cleaned daily, towels & bedding changed too. All areas were constantly being cleaned, the pools, bars & toilets were discreetly cleaned continuously throughout the day. Gym overlooking the sea, mini golf, bicycles, tennis...worth doing one of these activities just to meet the staff in the sports department.

The whole holiday was a joy, lovely place to stay, but definitely made all the more special by the staff - so thank you to each any every one of them.

Room Tip: Buildings all have 2 levels, we had an 'upstairs room' which I would recommend as this added...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your stay at Bahía Príncipe San Juan in our Tripadvisor web page and share with our fans your experience with us.

You can be sure that there is no biggest reward for us than to get a message like yours knowing that we have exceeded your expectations. We are a family hotel and we do everything possible to make feel our guests like part of this great family.

We are your disposal for whatever you may need, please do not hesitate on contacting us in a future visit with us.

Regard,
Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I travelled to this hotel for years on end more than twice a year and staying for two weeks each time, there is nothing to dislike about the place.
The restaurants
The bars
Staff from bell boys to managers are all pleasant and would go out of there way to help you. But I do believe that it goes both ways. If you are respecting someone then they will respect you back.
Must try the Italian restaurant
And head to pueblo principe where the casino. Karaoke bar and disco are.

You will not be disappointed in this hotel. I'd live there if only that was possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, and always upper rooms are better xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amiri101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking of your time in writing us such nice review regarding your recent stay at Bahia Principe San Juan. We truly appreciate it.

We are really happy to read that you have truly enjoyed your vacation with us, and therefore you have good memories of our services and facilities. Also, we sincerely appreciate all your compliments to our staff, we are aware that it is only to their effort that we can accomplish with our goal –Total satisfaction of our clients. We are very proud to share your comments with all of them.

Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime, if you are coming to the hotel in order to prepare all your finals details and make once again your stay with us the most comfortable and unforgettable experience.

Kindest regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

they say they are 41/2 star not a chance!! The hotel has see better days,but the staff is ok depending on who you get.They are having a problem with their sewer I guess. because thats all you can smell in the dining hall and beside the pool. the last week of our 2week vacation I absolutly could not eat because of the smell, I or my husband wouls rush in grab some bread and cheese and go back to the room.close the screendoor and try to eat something,We gave up 3 of our 6 alacarte dinners because it was like we were eating in a septic tank, The our shower stopped working they finally fixed it but the worst was when the toilet overflowed(and we were not the only ones that happened to) I called the front desk being very polite because I'ma very polite person,called 5 times over a 4 hour period then they started hanging up on me!!On the last call I asked for the manager and was told by staff that they did not have one!Now I had read on tripadvisor before we left about the sewer problem and had thought it must be fixed by now,you know stuff happens then you fix it,no ones fault, On the review I read the family were complaining about a awful lot of things,so I thought some people are just hard to please or it's a case of sour grapes for whatever reason, these people were right on,we came home 5lbs lighter and my husband is still sick,and on 2nd round of antibiotics,checking him for parasites,We loved their beautiful country and beautiful and welcoming people,by all means go just don't stay at the bahia principe san jaun

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bonnebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Bahia Principe San Juan, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Regarding your comments we are very sorry to hear that we could not fulfil your expectations regarding our services and facilities, we must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning our hotel, services and facilities has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our questionnaires.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the matters the proper attention.

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects from our services you find worth to mention, especially the service from our staff. We sincerely would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Bahia Principe San Juan to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Best wishes,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from the Bahia Principe and have to say it's a really nice place. Probably rate it at a 3.5 star.But having said that, it really is a good value holiday resort. Food was ample and good, all of the a la carte's good (pepper steak,chicken burrito's and pasta).Staff were friendly and approachable at all times. Beach is exposed and wake can get quite rough so it's not the best for snokelling or water sports. The town of Rio San Juan is worth a visit ($30.00 US return cab fare). There is a nice little bar and restaurant (Le Cafe de Paris) across the road from the laguna Gri-Gri and a nice beach about a 3 min. walk. All in all, don't expect a 4+ star and you will really likes this place. Recommended.
Cheers

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gdb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our service.

We greatly appreciate your comments about facilities/grounds and the friendliness of our staff; Comments such as like yours are what motivate us as a team everyday to improve the quality of service that we offer and fulfil our commitment with customer satisfaction.

We hope to have you back in the near future at Bahía Príncipe San Juan and I take the opportunity to send a very warm greeting.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio San Juan
34.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
35.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,708 reviews
35.6 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,441 reviews
43.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,256 reviews
34.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Property: Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Address: Ctra. Gaspar Hernandez, km 18, Rio San Juan 33000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Rio San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 4 pools BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, mini golf, football pitch... Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24 hour free per day/device) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo Main restaurant and 3 specialty restaurants 6 bars Playa Grande Golf Course just 40 minutes from the hotel Convention / Meeting centre Pueblo Principe: shows, live music, bars, stores, karaoke, casino and disco Rooms 608 rooms including 2 types: Suite & Standard The Standard rooms are equipped with: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom: Bathtub plus shower, wash basin, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ceiling fan Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar (Restocked daily) Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen TV Coffee set WiFi (additional charge) The Suite rooms have the same equipment as the Standard rooms but also include: Ironing set Sitting area with sofa Pool towel available in room Bathrobe and slippers Evening turn-down service International newspapers Terrace or balcony Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service for children aged up to 12 (additional charge) Other Services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BP USA TRAVEL INC, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe San Juan Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe San Juan Dominican Republic
Dominican Republic Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe San Juan Resort
Bahia Principe Sj
Puerto Plata Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Resort San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing