We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome vacation spot....already planning next time!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome vacation spot....already planning next time!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We traveled in a group of 4 ladies. From Feb 26th till Mar 5
I will start by saying Ive read many bad comments about this resort and I really don't know what people are talking about. We had a wonderful experience staying with Bahia Principe San Huan and would highly recommend it to anyone. Check in was quick and easy. Since we were in two different rooms I requested we be put in the same area or somewhat close. They placed us right next door to each other which was wonderful. We stayed in C section and were very close to the lobby, pool and beach. Our rooms were great, beds comfortable, it was cleaned spotless daily and the bar was stocked as soon as you used one item.(our maid Rosa was wonderful, she organized our shoes, makeup, hair products etc..any stuff we left laying around).I do have to agree with some reviews Ive read about the water it wasn't very hot. It was really warm and was certainly comfortable to shower with. I never had an issue with it personally but if you want a steamy shower you arent going to get it.We found the resort to be very clean, you always seen someone going with a dust cloth or mop. The grounds were kept really clean you would see people even mopping the concrete walkway.Cleanliness is obviously something they dont take lightly.The buffet was good and seemed to change up everyday to offer variety. Food was good and plentiful staff constantly refilled dishes as they emptied. There was also a snack bar available everyday to if you just wanted to pop in for a quick bite. We were allowed 4 al a carte reservations but were satisfied with the buffet and snack bar so didnt bother to go. We did hear great things about them from other guests though. Look for Eddie in the buffett hes a wonderful waiter that remembers exactly what each table likes to drink with their meals and always greets you with a big smile. The beach was good, and maintained and raked daily. Chairs were the same as they are at every resort sometimes hard to get unless you get up early to reserve them.The pool is huge and kept clean. There is always something going on by the pool.The anamiation staff do a great job of getting everyone involved in fun activities. They were always doing something to keep you entertained and laughing. Special shout out to Edgar, Carlos, Miguel, David, Minime and Isabell for making our stay wonderful. They kept us laughing and entertained day and night. If you are needing help translating look for Edgar hes a big help with the language barrier...and you cant miss him...you will hear him long before you see him (in a good way)...always doing something to make everyone feel included and entertained. Carlos was great to help translate or get information as well. These people on the animation team work long hours in the heat and manage to keep the same energy and a big smile from morning right through till night. The resort offers all kinds of activities- mini golf, soccer, basketball, tennis, beach/pool volleyball, horseshoes etc...it seems to offer something for everyone. The shows nightly were entertaining and well put together. This resort has a great night life, which is kept away from sleeping guests. The bars are located a short 2 min walk up the strip away from the guest rooms. After the show nightly they shut down the strip and have an outdoor dance from roughly about 10:30pm till 12:00am drinks are free there. The animation staff dance there and will teach people the steps...There is a karoke bar that was booming every night I was there open from 10:30pm till 1:00am and the disco is open right next door from 10:30pm till 2:00am. They are so close it is easy to pop back and forth between both. Drinks are free in both of these bars. The bartenders and waiters/waitresses keep the drinks coming and you dont have to wait in big lines. The Casino is located across the street from the disco, not sure what the hours are...and you do have to pay for drinks there. After bars shut down at 2 am theres is a late night snack place open located in the buffet restraunt. You can get sandwiches, hotdogs, hamburgers and nachos....and 24hrs drinks. This resort felt very safe, walkways were well lit and security presence was always there. Nemo on security staff is great to answer any questions you may have or to direct you if needed along with keeping things safe and secure. I think this resort does a wonderful job of keeping the late night partiers or drinkers from distirbing guest who may like to go to bed early. One of the ladies in our group wasnt feeling well and she said when she left the show at night and went to the room she never heard any noise from up the street. All in all we had a wonderful stay. The resort staff make this a great place to stay. They were super friendly and always greeted you with a smile. I'm already planning on my next vacation there...cant wait...ignore the bad reviews and give this place a shot...I think you would be pleasantly suprised.

Room Tip: C section rooms 1606 and 1607 are great and very close to the lobby, pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for your feed back about your recent holidays in our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially because of the attentive of our staff, we appreciate all your value comments of our hotel premises and we are very happy to know that we have been able to exceed your expectations.

Hoping to welcome you again in Bahia Principe San Juan in a near future.

Best regards,
Johanny Arvelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,658
    1,666
    745
    432
    318
See reviews for
1,067
1,689
61
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Overall – We were there in mid Feb of 2013, as a family of four, when the resort was at about 50% occupancy. As a result some of the bars and restaurants were closed. The International cuisine (read: a la carte) restaurant was closed and the snack bar was relocated to the Tex Mex cuisine restaurant. The a la carte system saw only one open per night with the three restaurants in a rotation. Otherwise the impact on us was negligible. The resort was closed last year for some upgrades (electric back-up generator and painting as I understand it), which do show that the resort is in generally good shape for its age (being the first BHP resort and opening in 1995). With the status of the Dominican electrical system there were some power outages with a lag of 5 – 20 minutes until the generator kicked in and full power was available. There are some mosquitos and sand fleas due to the location (expected in the areas of the Caribbean we have visited) but the resort does regularly fog and spray. They were mainly noticeable just after some rain when the effectiveness of the fog/spray was reduced.

Rooms – For our family we had two adjoining rooms with a door between them. We were able to visit two other rooms as well. Overall the rooms are clean and well maintained. They do vary somewhat depending on recent maintenance (newer air conditioners as they wear out, repairs to flooring/walls/electrical which means that they are no longer identical throughout). Our focus was not on spending time in the rooms, so we were very satisfied. I noted during the Super Bowl game that satellite TV reception is a little grainy and one person we talked to had limited hot water pressure in the shower, but we had no issues and had lots of hot water and shower pressure. Beds are small (I’d call them twin) and firm. We noticed lots of room repairs going on and replacement of furniture including of beds. We had repair service within hours when we contacted the front desk; twice we had minor issues that were fixed quickly.

Food – Generally we have found the food to be a little bland during our two trips to the Dominican and there was no change here. Having said that there were some things we greatly enjoyed such as the soups, BBQ chicken, desserts, rice dishes and calamari. Just like every all-inclusive buffet, you have to force yourself into variety. We had four a la carte dinners to rotate through the 3 open restaurants (Tex-Mex, Mediterranean & Italian cuisine). Service was generally better at the a la carte restaurants versus the buffets, but the buffets also had self-service options for drinks. This was mainly due to the ongoing training of new staff. This is the only resort in the immediate area, and really the only significant employer. New staff are paid very little during training. More experienced staff were excellent. Small tips to demonstrate appreciation guaranteed excellent service. However we also noticed a number of other guests that were very demanding and rude. Needless to say, we had a great experience.

Activities – We chose this resort for the long beach, SCUBA diving opportunities and somewhat isolated location. We wanted to mainly stay at the resort and relax. We were very happy with the amenities and activities. There are three pool areas (one reserved for Diamond guests) and a very long beach. There are all the usual excursions – horseback riding, cross-country truck rides, ATV trips, hikes to the falls and trips to the larger cities. We only did one excursion to Samana, part of the group went whale watching and the other part went diving. Cayo Levantado was definitely an amazing beach. Overall the trip was good, but expensive. The resort offers the usual free one hour rentals daily for kayaks, paddleboat, and sailboat (if you are experienced, otherwise you need to pay for a short lesson). As well you can rent jet skis ($35 USD for 15 min).

Beach – The beach was good. It is quite long and generally pretty clean; just the usual seaweed and shells on shore. We found the sand fleas bothersome in the evenings, but much better with some insect repellent. We did not go on the beach near or at sunset when the fleas were the worst (or immediately after some rain). They spray along the edge of the beach every night to control the sand fleas, whose bites are about 3x the size of mosquito bites and 3x annoying. The beach is protected by large sand bags, but as a result after only a short distance out the seabed is covered in sea grass. Past the sandbag barriers there are some small areas of coral with some small fish.

Pools – We had access to two pools (Activity or noisy pool and the smaller quiet pool). Both were clean and well maintained. Although nearly all the pool chairs were taken by 10am, we always found some and they opened up at times throughout the day.

SCUBA Diving – We chose the resort in part for the diving opportunities. The resort dive shop is a Scubaquatic site. They are at many resorts throughout the Caribbean. This one is run by the same individual as the two Scubaquatic shops at the Bahia Principe resorts in Samana. We have dived with two of these locations (as well as on other trips to Punta Cana and Mexico) and have been completely satisfied with their professionalism. Although their equipment is functional, it tends to be well used. We were able to dive at pretty much all the dive sites they had set up at the time in San Juan. We found the diving better than when we were in Punta Cana, mainly due to the significantly less fishing pressure. We emailed the shop in advance and pre-booked our dives and excursion for a small (5%) discount. The site manager Cornelia was excellent and very friendly. Originally from Switzerland, she speaks several languages. The dive instructor Eduardo was very thorough and safety conscious as he instructed our two children through their open water dives and overall, did an excellent job. The divemaster Daniel was extremely knowledgeable about the area, having grown up there, and share quite a bit about the area and the country. The two boat captains, Domingo and Kao, were extremely friendly and helpful. The entire group definitely made our stay at the resort better with their cheery, friendly attitude. They went out of their way to help us in any way possible, not just with water sports.

Overall we met some great staff and had a very good time. If the price remains as reasonable as it was for this trip (we paid almost the same for two weeks as it would have cost for one week at other Caribbean resorts), we would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dw_calfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write about the Bahia Principe San Juan. We appreciate your kind words and are happy we have been able to live up to your expectations.

Hoping to see you again at Bahia Principe San Juan in a near future,

Best regards,
Johanny Arvelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

First of all, I am not a picky person, but this hotel is definitely NOT a 4 star, I would give it a 3 star!!! The service was very very bad, we ordered room service twice never received it, tried to call but got the run around to call all other numbers and still got nowhere and no one spoke english, go figure! The water was turned off one day (not for long but we got no warning), our room was fumigated with no notice except we could not enter our room for an hour, nice for our clothing out and bathroom accessories (ie: toothbrushes etc...). The room was outdated, needs a complete overhaul!!! The buffet food was awful, no variety almost same thing everyday. The a la cartes were the only good thing as they were delicious! We stayed in the Golden Club, but had nothing in our room that was offered with the extra cost, we had to call to get the items we paid for! WARNING!!! To all who want the Diamond Club, do not do it, the private pool and buffet for that club are CLOSED! Don't know why they are still selling it as you don't get the ammenities with it! Now we read a comment before booking here and the Manager at the resort responded about the Diamond Club saying it was open, he LIED it really is not!!! Lucky we didn't get it as that is what we wanted but couldn't out of Ottawa. I wanted to come home after 3 days. The maid kept turning off our A/C when she came to clean, so when we got back to the room it was hot! They offer waiter/waitress service at night in the lobby but good luck getting what you order, better off to get it yourself, now I know its not much but don't offer the service and then not have it! The beach was what we expected, but expect to get up at 6am to get a beach chair or even a pool chair, you need to go put your towel(s) on the chairs to reserve them, a MUST TO DO!!! We did no excursions as they were to far from the hotel, never went into the towns as they were a but to shaddy for me, didn't feel safe. There are vendors who wander the beach area asking you to go to there hut to buy stuff, not really a problem if you don't mind it. I will definitely NOT return, just a bad experience all around!

Room Tip: Don't go here as you will not be happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaughnmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us at Bahia Principe San Juan.

We really understand your regrets and we would like to apologize for not succeed your expectations. We are really working hard to improve our services and facilities in all aspects.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort in order to give them the proper attention.

I would like to clarify that Diamond Club is not closed; this club is relocated since 2 years ago closest to the main lobby.

We appreciate once again to taking you time to write your opinion, as it helps us to improve our service day by day and provide a better service to our guests.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel to show you our commitment with customer satisfaction and change any misperception that you may have about us.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

After reviewing the comments prior to leaving I can tell you that the sand fleas are not that big of a deal...no more so than a regular mosquito bite. It is a lovely resort, well taken care of and the service was spectacular. I loved the server in the buffet restaurant who would whistle like a bird when refilling your water and cry like a cat. Most of the people enjoyed there job and it showed. They are constantly taking away cups, cleaning the bathrooms, taking away dirty plates, refilling water etc. They kept the pool clean and the grounds and beach were lovely.
While we were there the people were from kids all the way to seniors. I heard one lady complain about trying to cater to too many people but they can't discriminate either. If you are looking at no kids or partiers then go to an adults only resort. The karaoke bar was. Blast and a highlight of my day. We were away for the week without kids so we also met some great people as well.
We took the Jeep safari excursion which was a blast! I would do it again in a heartbeat. Bring lots of candy and dollar store stuff for the locals.
The beach towards the market though still on the resort is nicer to swim in. I also recommend getting up by 7 to make sure you have a lounger.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. This serves to acknowledge you that your opinion is very valuable for us; therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory.

We especially appreciate your comments about the hotel cleaning, grounds, food, beach and the staff. Comments such as like yours are what motivate us as a team everyday to improve the quality of service that we offer and fulfill our commitment with customer satisfaction.

Kind regards,
Johanny Arvelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to BP San Juan. and our fourth Bahia principe experience

as many of the reviews tell you, the beach is long...but not white sand or clear water. That's the north coast of the DR. be aware and you won't be surprised,

We travelled here first six years ago, with our three adult daughters, and the resort met every expectation. that's not the case anymore. there have been numerous reductions both in staff and service. I can't say why. the resort was packed.

None of those was really a back breaker. But added up they become a problem. You pay for the services advertised and in some cases they are not being delivered. Most of the rooms lacked hot water. it was room temperature. And no one at the desk seemed to care, Sure. we got through it. But you advertise fully functional washrooms....they should be that

We stayed in building A 16... a great spot if you have to deal with the chair reservation foolishness,,,,which trust me...you do. We weren't concerned...knowing there were a couple of snack bars and bars along the stretch....we would be okay, Except they are not open. Not at all. Again BP advertises a variety of beach bars and outlets...but they are not available. I can understand it if it's low season, Not when the resort is jammed. I'd put the blame on the chain management, not local officials. They, like the rest of us are just doing what they are told.

But again....be aware I'd that before you book or travel...and try to stay closer to the ,aim building if the closures remain in effect

Of the restaurants that are open, the Mediterranean and Italian are the best, The tex mex will disappoint, I've made better tex mex at home...and Ive got an Irish background...

the buffet is OK. Maybe even better than average based on our travels in the Caribbean. And the service from the staff is good....although its declined in the last six years...mostly because they seem run off their feet

As for the entertainment,,,,the night time shows are what you expect. they are not my cup of tea....but my wife watches them. I generally just take off and nap. After the shows end...the action moves out to Pueblo Principe....personally I think they should keep the lobby bar open....but hey....they're trying to drive business up the street.

and that street has declined....many of the places along the strip have shut down or redUced hours. That being said...the extended hours and outdoor location now for karaoke is a big improvement, the disco needs a refit. kinda dingy

Other services which seem to have disappeared. The shuttles between the main building and the rooms...no longer run very much, it's not a bad walk....but it's a lot longer on the way back. :)
and there was some live entertainment a few years back, gone now....too bad it offered some nice ambience

overall for price and the fun we had....not a bad deal. But it is disappointing compared to our previous visit...and our other Bahia principe trips. hopefully management can bring this place back to those standards

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelpair58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Bahia Principe San Juan Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort to give the proper attention.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at our hotel and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have.

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We travelled with our 2 kids aged 9 and 11. From Feb 9-16, 2013. The room we had was with the golden club. We were close to the beach and the pool but in a quiet area of the resort. We found the resort to be very clean. Seemed they were always cleaning. Buffet was good. We definately didn't starve. A la Carte's were awesome. We did the Mexican and the Italian and were allowed up to 4 guaranteed reservations with being the golden club through transat holidays but only did 2 because they were all open and availability was nill. But, we only planned on doing 2 so it was no big deal. The beach was ok. It was not the best i've been to. I'm not much of a beach person, so it was okay..it was maintained and raked nightly! Chairs were a hit or miss depending on how early you could get up to reserve them, but that's with any resort. There was always something going on by the pool and of course nightly entertainment. Our room bars were stocked daily and beds were changed daily (we knew this because the kids split pop on the sheets). We did the jeep safari excursion. It was awesome and had a great tour guide. We also did the Ocean Adventure excursion and found it to have been a bit pricy for what we got. We did the dolphin encounter. We definatley would return to this resort in a few years.

Room Tip: The golden club package with Transat Holidays had our rooms close to the beach but away from the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sueg1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Bahia Principe San Juan, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We are glad to find out that you have enjoyed your stay with us, we sincerely appreciate all your compliments to our staff, we are aware that it is only through their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our main goal-the total satisfaction of our clients. Your opinion is very valuable for us; therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory.

We appreciate all your feedback, comments such as like yours are what motivate us as a team everyday to improve the quality of service that we offer and fulfill our commitment with customer satisfaction. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels Bahia Principe in a near future, please do not hesitate to contact us in a future stay with us.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our first trip to the Dominican and we stayed during Spring Break, Feb 18-25, 2013 as a family of 4. The resort is very clean and the Dominican people are very friendly. Not sure about the complaints about the beach, was sandy and outside of a bit of seaweed was great.The food was what we have come to expect catering to international tourists and having prevously stayed at the Bahia Principe Alkumal. We paid for the Golden package to be closer to the beach and despite it coming with 4 a la carte reservations available we could only book 2 during our visit as the restaurants were not all opened every night. It also was promoted as free internet access inhe Golden Club recetion area but it was only opened from 9-5 daily restricting access to the computers after the sun went down and it was much too nice out to be wasting time indoors.
The response from the front desk was hit and miss in dealing with issues. Both of our rooms went 3 days at one point without a resupply of drinking water even after phone calls and a visit to reception. On the other hand, when there was a problem with the toilets backing up for all the rooms in our buliding the maintenance staff were on site before I had got back from reporting that to reception. Our biggest issue during the stay was the consistant lack of access to beach chairs. IF YOU ARE NOT UP BY 6AM FORGET GETTING A CHAIR! Guest services was no help in resolving the issue despite every welcome packaging expliciting stating chairs are not to saved by leaving towels or dishes on them. Apparently a lot of the guests had a problem reading, and it wasn't the university crowd guilty of this, it was the older guests.
We did have issues with bug bites, more so after returning home than during our week there, but did see staff treating the beach area at night to try and limit the bugs. Just have to remember it is a tropical area where it was 30 Celcius everyday and deal with the same thing at home when the weather is warm. The one thing I have not seen previously mentioned was that the restaurants are the only place to escape smoking. If you have serious issue with second hand smoke you may want to look elsewhere as it seemed a greater number of guests were smoking at this resort than any we have been to previously.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Duane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time in sending us your feedback about your stay in our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We sincerely regret the fact that we were not able to fulfill your expectations regarding some of our hotel facilities and services.

However, we have follow up with our staff regarding your concerns and we would like to emphasis that we strive work for to create the best experience possible for all our clients according to our standards.

Once more, we regret so much that you have not enjoyed your holidays as you were expected. We would love to have the opportunity to not only meet your expectations but to exceed them and welcome you back in a near future. We hope to have the chance to do so.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio San Juan
34.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
125.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
35.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,300 reviews
35.6 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,829 reviews
125.0 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#64 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Property: Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Address: Ctra. Gaspar Hernandez, km 18, Rio San Juan 33000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Rio San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 4 pools BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, mini golf, football pitch... Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1 hour free per day/device) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo Main restaurant and 3 specialty restaurants 6 bars Playa Grande Golf Course just 40 minutes from the hotel Convention / Meeting centre Pueblo Principe: shows, live music, bars, stores, karaoke, casino and disco Rooms 608 rooms including 2 types: Suite & Standard The Standard rooms are equipped with: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom: Bathtub plus shower, wash basin, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ceiling fan Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar (Restocked daily) Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen TV Coffee set WiFi (additional charge) The Suite rooms have the same equipment as the Standard rooms but also include: Ironing set Sitting area with sofa Pool towel available in room Bathrobe and slippers Evening turn-down service International newspapers Terrace or balcony Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service for children aged up to 12 (additional charge) Other Services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe San Juan Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe San Juan Dominican Republic
Dominican Republic Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe San Juan Resort
Bahia Principe Sj
Puerto Plata Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Resort San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing