We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The room was clean and god services from the staff. They was kindly and helpful to us. The food was good and many dishes in the buffetrestaurang. We have a great time at that resort and I think we be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johmar_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, especially the services from our staff. We appreciated your comments as it is through this kind of communications that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding your stay.

We hope to welcome you again in BP San Juan, please feel free to contact us whenever you are planning to return.

Kindest regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,180 - 1,186 of 5,015 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I never write reviews on tripadvisor but after seeing all the bad reviews this hotels receives I felt it was time to do so. So to start off with, this is the best hotel ever :) Me and my sister have been numerous times. Not only have we had the best experiences of our lives we have made friends for life. All the staff there work their hardest, from the entertainment to the gardeners, and even the people who work at the front gates, they all make us feel very welcome and they are probably one of the main reasons why we have such a good time. ( Big shout out to Pedro on mini golf, we'll see you soon :) )

As for the food, my sister has always been really fussy, but she still always finds something she likes there, it's obviously not gonna be a five star gourmet restaurant, you're in a foreign country and it's probably 10 times better than the macdonalds etc u eat at home.

The biggest thing that really annoys us is that everyone keeps going on about the sand fleas or bed bugs, they are MOSQUITOS!!!!! Its not the hotel's fault! You're in the middle of the jungle! My sister and I have been to lots of different countries before and we always get these same bites, from mosquitos, it's not just the hotel, if you go into San Juan, they are there too. All you need to do is wear some off (its usually sold in the hotel shop and if not in all the shops in san juan) and that keeps them away, just make sure you put it on as soon as the sun goes down.

As for the grounds it's immaculate, yeah the beach is not the usual white sand of the Caribbean but you can still build a sandcastle, what difference does it make?

Stop your moaning and just enjoy your holiday for once!




  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mamaguevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on our Trip advisor community regarding your experience in our hotel. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our service and facilities we put our greatest interest and value in our guest´ opinion.

It is truly a pleasure to us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and we greatly appreciate your comments about our facilities/grounds, food. Comments such as like yours are what we strive for following every day in order to improve the quality of service we offer.

Once again, thank you so much for your review and we sincerely wish to welcome you again very soon. We will be at your disposal for whatever you may need.

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

buffet food warm at best
shower water luke warm
staff cannot understand you when you try and talk to them
bugs are very bad,never saw so many people bit
if your lookng for tidy bowl blue water,look someware else
got my own coffee more than once,tierd of waiting
pool towels seemed to be out a lot
I wish we would have beleved the other reviews,would have went someware else

Room Tip: try a southern island resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Bahia Principe San Juan, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Regarding your comments we are very sorry to hear that we could not fulfil your expectations regarding our services and facilities. We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the matters the proper attention.

We sincerely would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Bahía Príncipe San Juan to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Best wishes,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just came back from Bahia Principe yesterday. Well to start off with you have really bad service at Le Brisa the main buffett i counted three average waiters outta like the 50 that are there. You need to beg to get any kind of service and dont look for water or drinks to be filled again if you ever get a drink to begin with and that goes for service at the front lobby or bar you will get no service u need to go to the bar and wait. All bars and resturants on the beach are closed and there are no lifeguards anywhere on the resort. The shows at night are performed by the animation team they do not have anyone special shows where they bring others in to perform and a couple shows are good but most are boring and the same type of stuff everynight. But to be fair they are way overworked. The maids not once decorated a towel or did anything special when u tipped them everyday and they have three different people each day in your room to clean do towels and one for bar ( for me i do not like moe then one maid in and out). The food at the main buffett was the same stuff everyday with some of it being served at breakfast and it was nothing appealing. They also let locals in on the weekend and the place turns into a zoo and you will not get a plate or a seat.It is funny cause the hotel never asked for a review card.Yes the resort is clean but i also look for good service. Oh as well i found the manager staff rude and not friendly at all. The only great part of this trip was our Safari Jeep trip with Lewis it was a awesome day and we had so much fun and our Transit operator Jairo was really nice too. To bad cause this hotel has potential they are just not using it

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smallgal37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a review of your stay in our Trip Advisor community as we put a great interest in our clients comments as their perceptions are the most important to us as this is the only way to know what specific points we must focus our attention.

After we carefully have read this review, we truly express our sincere apologies if you felt that you did not receive the service you were entitled to. This is not definitely the image that we wish to project, nor does it fit in the general pleasant atmosphere of our hotel. We are vey concerned about your impressions and we sincerely do not want you to keep a bad memory of us.

We are in the business to bring an enjoyable and unforgettable experience to all our clients. We sincerely would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Bahía Príncipe San Juan to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,
Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just returned from a great week at the Bahia Principe San Juan with family and friends.
Weather was great, a few rain showers in the morning and overnight, but sunny and warm for most of the trip. I will first say that the staff work long hard days and always have a smile on their faces. I know we would not be in such great moods if we worked their long days. The entertainment staff were always busy trying to keep the guests entertained. They did a great job keeping the guests involved in games and dancing. They had a great beach barbecue for lunch one day, the food was very good. The food at the buffets were decent and the fruits were so good. So much better, flavourful and juicy than here in Canada. The A la Cartes. We're a nice way to break up the buffet for the week. Of the 3, the Meditaranean was the best! The maids were always cleaning the restrooms and they were very clean. The rooms were small and dated, but clean. We were only there for sleeping so that was not an issue. As for the sand fleas, yes, they were there after dusk so we left the beach before then. The beach was not white sands and blue waters but we already knew that before arriving. I was pleasantly surprised, it was much nicer than anticipated. The beach was clean and not covered in garbage and seaweed as I read previously. They raked up the little bit of seaweed that beached and the staff was diligent in picking up after guests who LEFT the garbage on the beach. The pool was clean and nice. The grounds are beautiful and the staff works all day to keep it that way. The landscaping is so pretty. The street in front of the resort was quite deserted, kinda sad because it really is a nice spot. If you are looking for some Dominican Culture, the Laguna Beach Safari is a good trip. We got to see the "Dominican Republic". Bring candy for the children, unbelievable how happy a piece of candy made these children. They come running when they see the bus. On this trip we stopped for a yummy lunch and had a dip in the Blue water, so cool. The trip was from 9:30 - 5:00. Overall, a great vacation and we would return.

Room Tip: Close to Main buildings as it is a large resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank momma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such good opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it.

We are so happy that you have enjoyed all our services and facilities during your stay in our hotel. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence, thanks to an arduous team’s work and the devotion and commitment of each member of our staff. We are delighted to share your comments with all of them.

We hope to welcome you once again in Bahia Principe San Juan. Please do not hesitate to contact us whenever you are planning to come back.

Kindest regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service Bahia Principe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in Bahia Principe San Juan between 27/12/2012 and 10/01/2013.

The check-in was the quickest ever - we received our room keys once in the bus, still at the airport. Transfer took just about an hour. On arrival we left labels on our bags and went straight to the room.

Receptionists were mostly efficient although a few were a bit too relaxed, especially in the night shift. Problems reported during the daytime are solved quicker.

Our room was large, clean and in good condition. It looked fresh although equipment was not new. Everything was working. The main bed is very big - 2x2m, and comfortable. The child’s bed was a standard single. Our room was far from the disco and very quiet. The only downside was the safe box which is free in most places and here costs $4 per night or almost $60 in 2 weeks.

Room cleaners were quite good, diligent and punctual. They changed daily all bed linen including sheets which is not always the case even in 5 star hotels. Tips absence did not seem to make any difference to the quality.

The territory is very green, with all kinds of palm trees, bushes, etc. Gardeners are great; they do an awful lot of hard work all the time, cutting old palm leaves, changing flowers and keeping the place nice and tidy. It’s amazing to see them climb trees.

The hotel’s appearance is not luxurious but pleasant and very relaxing. Blocks are spread along the beach, all very close to the sea.

The restaurant is excellent. The hotel can be proud of it. Food was diverse with good choice for 4 stars, very fresh and well cooked. World cuisines are rotated daily. The snack bar is in fact another smaller restaurant open 10am-5pm; it’s got the best fruit because there are fewer people there.

Waiters were absolutely fabulous, always smiling, very friendly, helpful and quick, even without tips. They polish every knife and fork, fold napkins and change tablecloths after every guest.

The New Year dinner was very impressive. The restaurant was decorated with ice and vegetable sculptures, and boats with seafood. There was champagne, langoustes, king prawns, crabs, etc. At midnight there were even fireworks.

This place boasts beautiful nature. The hotel has an enormous 3 km long beach, covered with palm trees, with enough both sunny and shadow areas. The sand is grey, sometimes with tiny shell pieces, fine and soft, like in Weymouth, UK. It was clean from rubbish, with only occasional seaweed patches. Water is shallow, warm and pleasant, with some sand and sometimes seaweed. There are unobtrusive wave breakers along the beach which look like rocks just above water surface. The sea and coastal views are really beautiful.

The water sports club offers free of charge kayaks, pedal boats and even diving equipment for certified divers. Diving certificate programs cost $350-450.

There were no sand flies or mosquitoes during the day, there could be some at night. It’s a good idea to use repellent and not open the doors when the light is on.

We were not bitten during the day but at night did have a problem with invisible insects which bite where the body touches the mattress. We could not find them and do not know if it were sand flies or bed mites. When this was reported to the reception the hotel promptly fumigated our room and changed our mattress. We were happy with their actions but would recommend to treat all mattresses for bed bugs just in case. You might want to bring a can of Raid just in case, too.

For children there is a separate section in the main swimming pool 0.6 m deep, a shallow area in the pool and another separate pool in the diamond (Western) part of the hotel. There is a kids’ club with basic activities, and mini-disco at 8pm.

Bartenders were very good, smiling and friendly. They might occasionally miss an ingredient and tend to make cocktails strong, so please ask how you want them.

A lot of staff, even in the bars and some receptionists struggled with English. They were all right for basic conversations though.

There were always plenty of sun beds and towels, however, only one towel changing point at the main pool. It would help to have 1-2 more towel points along the beach.

Last but not the least there is free wi-fi throughout. We had excellent connection in our room and used internet mostly there.

Overall, this hotel is not a poster beach with golden sand but a very cosy, quiet place not too far from the airport. It is a very solid offer for 4 stars and an excellent place for a simple relaxing vacation. It has the potential to do a lot more on special occasions like our New Year dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the main pool/restaurant will be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sergey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 7, 2013

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking your time and write your experience about your recent stay in our hotel.

We truly appreciate that you have enjoyed your holiday in our hotel. Your opinion will be really helpful for other guests that would like to spend their holidays with us, and we really thank you for it.

Your point of view about the room is very valid due to the sourrondings vegetation it may very rarely be that some aspect from the exterior may appear in a room. However, be assured that all rooms are subject to a very strict supervision and as well as our Housekeeping department follow up established procedures of cleanning. We are really working hard to improve our services in all aspects.

On behalf of all our team members we would like to thank you once more for the nice comments about our hotel, employees and services during your stay. We would love to welcome you once again in Bahía Príncipe San Juan. Please feel free to contact us whenever you are planning to return.

We always happy to serve you,

Johanny Arvelo


Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

3rd. time stay jan 3to17 the staff where friendly and helpful as always,what a beautiful place to watch the sun come up over the atlantic ocean,every morning at day break you can see a army of maintenance workers heading out to keep the resort clean and to rake and pickup debris on the beach yes there are sand fleas early morning and late afternoon some protection will help,i will be going back in december love it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank frosty11695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 30, 2013

Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Bahia Principe San Juan, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our staff.

Thank you so much for your tip regarding the sand fleas is very valid; we appreciate so much your comments. We are looking forward to welcome you once again and have the opportunity to continue providing the most memorable experiences.

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service Bahia Principe San Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio San Juan
35.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,924 reviews
34.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
34.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.6 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,392 reviews
34.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
46.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Address: Ctra. Gaspar Hernandez, Rio San Juan, km 18, Republica Dominicana, Rio San Juan 33000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Rio San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Price Range: $95 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 4 pools BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, mini golf, football pitch... Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24 hour free per day/device) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo Main restaurant and 3 specialty restaurants 6 bars Playa Grande Golf Course just 40 minutes from the hotel Convention / Meeting centre Pueblo Principe: shows, live music, bars, stores, karaoke, casino and disco Rooms 608 rooms including 2 types: Suite & Standard The Standard rooms are equipped with: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom: Bathtub plus shower, wash basin, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ceiling fan Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar (Restocked daily) Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen TV Coffee set WiFi (additional charge) The Suite rooms have the same equipment as the Standard rooms but also include: Ironing set Sitting area with sofa Pool towel available in room Bathrobe and slippers Evening turn-down service International newspapers Terrace or balcony Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service for children aged up to 12 (additional charge) Other Services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe San Juan Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe San Juan Dominican Republic
Dominican Republic Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe San Juan Resort
Bahia Principe Sj
Puerto Plata Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Resort San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing