We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest sunset of the DR”
Review of Hotel Bahia Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bahia Blanca
Ranked #4 of 7 Rio San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here over the weekend and had really good stay. Laying directly at the sea looking towards the sunset, perfect! The furniture is a bit older, but we didn't expect much more. The breakfast was ok, but pretty expensive, I would suggest the fresh panderia in Rio San Juan!

Room Tip: Take room 35 on the third floor, the best and nicest view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 85 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our family stayed here for 3 nights. The location is the best part about this hotel. There are 2 beautiful beaches on either side of it. We stayed on the 3rd floor and the gorgeous sunsets at night will always be etched in my mind. It's also a quick walk to the town. The hotel is very old, beds are hard +++ and pillows flat as pancakes. The bathroom door doesn't shut all the way and the windows do not lock. Other then that we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor was the best for us. The deck was 1/2 sunny and 1/2 shady with small tables and loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The place is not the cleanest or the most "updated", it's got its wears and tears, but the staff is great! I was in touch with Massiel via email prior and during my stay there, and she was really helpful and responsive! A+!! The French lady that works at the front desk was very helpful as well. Told me about a great place to eat, yummers!! Just yummers!! And right on the beach and spitting distance from the hotel, that was one of my favorite moments on this trip! And told me how to get to Playa Calenton and to the bus station, very helpful! The location is superb, the beaches on either side are lovely. It was a great and comfy place to stay, I was happy with it!
Don't expect luxury, but you'll get a deal and a great service!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vana31198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice small hotel. Clean room, shower. Friendly owners. As minus: WiFi only on lobby, it is not so comfortable. But rest is nice.
About transportation, from Santiago or Santo Domingo by taxi will cost you 4000 DP (~100 USD) +/-
2 beaches with white sand and palms is 20 meters from side

Room Tip: Better fist floor, there is Wi-Fi)))
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bestship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed there one night. It is a wonderful location, but the room was not clean. The sheets and pillows were old and dingy. The staff was good, and the beach was close. i would not recommend this hotel until it pays more attention to cleanliness, and the construction is complete.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Just as the previous reviewers said- place is in a spectacular location. Quiet, beautiful, clean, and in general wholesome. Whether you want a couple's get-away or a family vacation you will find it here. The hotel is on a small beach which is perfect for swimming and when it's not rainy thou can even get some decent snorkeling in right out from the shore. The owner is very helpful and accommodating and has spent many years in the area so has very good knowledge of surroundings. Well be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

One of my favorite spots in the DR is Rio San Juan and the main reason for that is the Bahia Blanca. I frequented this hotel several times when I lived in the DR in 2001-02 and came back in December 2012 with my girlfriend. The views hands down are breathtaking, and the common terraces really allow you to enjoy them. That said however, the terrace area right outside our room was a popular spot for our fellow guests to congregate and socialize, right outside our window. That was a bit annoying but what can you do? The place is definitely showing its age and definitely didn't have the same sparkle to it that I remember it having. However, the proprietress was a lovely French woman who was extremely helpful and this is definitely a budget-friendly place. The in-house restaurant is so-so but who are you kidding, you're only eating there so you can continue to enjoy the views. You'll rarely see as breathtaking a sunset.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schwartz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio San Juan
0.2 mi away
The Palace at Playa Grande
The Palace at Playa Grande
#3 of 3 in Rio San Juan
90 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Gri Gri
Apartamentos Gri Gri
#2 of 5 in Rio San Juan
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Las Puertas Del Paraiso
Las Puertas Del Paraiso
#1 of 7 in Rio San Juan
63 reviews
22.2 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
374 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Esperanza Bed & Breakfast
Villa Esperanza Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 7 in Rio San Juan
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Blanca

Address: Calle Gaston F Deline, Rio San Juan 23000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Rio San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rio San Juan
Price Range: $33 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bahia Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing