We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kalafatis
Reviewed July 31, 2006

This place is terrible. The rooms are awful (dirty, old and noisy), the location is far away from the main town, the staff are young and inexperienced, the food is horrible, the drinks are expensive. We booked a double room, to be told when we arrived that they had double-booked so we were told to share with another 2 people on 2 bunk beds. Luckily we fought our way out of it, but others in our group suffered this fate. DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank paulene_tavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 440 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2005

This "all-inclusive" resort was recommended to my husband and me by a travel agent for part of our honeymoon. Our experience was terrible from the moment we arrived at Mykonos. We had to wait for someone from the resort to pick us up from the ferry station for over an hour. Our room had a nice view, but we had to walk about 1/4 mile up-hill to get our suitcases there. The fridge had leaked all over the floor, and our bed consisted of 2 twin beds pushed together -- they were hard as rocks... not even close to what I would expect for a honeymoon. Our room was crawling with ants the whole time we were there. This alleged all-inclusive resort is a farce! They only feed you breakfast and dinner; you're on your own for lunch, and the food is sleep-away camp, cafeteria quality. You have to pay for every beverage you consume... even water! In three days, my husband and I racked up a $50 charge just for water and diet coke (we didn't drink alcohol because the prices were so unreasonably high). The resort was completely isolated from the rest of the island, and you had to take a 1/2 hour bus ride just to see civilization. The pool (which is salt water, by the way) was freezing, the beach had rocks, rather than sand, and all of the un-included activities were over-priced. The first day we were there, my digital camera was stolen, and it had all of our honeymoon pictures on it. There is a "rec room" with a TV and pool tables in it, but it closes at 9:00 pm, for some reason, and they WILL kick you out. You have to pay by the hour to use their slow internet service. Finally, most of the other guests there are late adolescent Australian kids, so the feeling of Greek culture is completely lost! We were charged over $800 for a 3-night stay, which was completely not worth it. The management of the "resort" seems to be run by complete amateurs, and there was absolutely nothing special or elegant about it. All in all, it was truly pathetic, and we could have completely skipped over this part of the homeymoon with no regrets.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Weawuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2005

Contiki is definitely fun. Make sure you go to the jet ski hut at Kalafatis Beach and ask for Dimos! He is the best!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2005

A bunch of us went to this resort expecting a good time, good partying, lots of young people and we were very disapointed. For the most part the staff was aweful. They messed up our room keys numerous times so we had to keep going down to the office to get them fixed. We never got new towels. There was vomit outside our door that we had to clean up, drinks were overpriced and there really was not much going on at all. The resort was not crowded and very boring. The rooms were just ok. Don't pay for water view because you are too far away from the water to enjoy it. It is a few hundered meters across the street and everything. There is also a huge barrier between the Contiki workers and the hotel employees so it is hard to get anything straightened out. I would NEVER stay here again. You are better off staying at an actual Greek resort, not one ran by a huge corporation that could care less about unhappy travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank DCJONESEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2005

Each year i head off to Ibiza for some early summer fun, relaxation & just to get a bit of a tan. This year i went to Mykonos after a friend told me about Contiki Resort which is a new hotel on Kalafatis beach - you've got to be 18-35 to stay there but it's really good quality. Not filled with losers thankfully! There's lots of things to do in the day like windsurfing & diving and on the nights when i couldn't be bothered goint to town i stayed at the resort club isn't bad. There was always people in there and up for a good time. The clubs on Mykonos are really good and there is lots of daytime beach parties too. I ate at the resort because the food was good and it was included in the price to stay anyway.
I paid an extra £20 for the better room and it mean that i had a big balcony & view over the resort & ocean. The bathrooms are basic but there's everything you need like hairdryer, tv, minibar. For a week I paid £400 to stay including flights from London & two meals a day so it was much cheaper than i normally spend in Ibiza. It's different from staying at a normal hotel because it was easy to meet other people staying there and my friend & i spent quite a bit of time hanging out with our new found friends!

12  Thank kidrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2005

This place is heaven on earth. The CAPS (contiki action planners) are great they always make sure you have something to do. The only down side is the owner of the hotel has a dog that attacked me, however I got my trip comped, but i couldn't drink. Other than that this is a great place. If you are going to Mykonos try to to stay there, its wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank kornuts16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2005

Contiki Resort at Kalafatis Beach was a comfortable base for both relaxing and seeing the beautiful Island of Mykonos. The price was the best part, a £299 May-special for seven nights inc flights + meals on one of Greeces more picturesque Islands. Our room was large, clean and quiet with a very big balcony, although our view faced point blank into a tree. The beds were pretty crap. Staff were fantastic but a bit pushy in ensuring that we were having a good time. Lots of people seemed to be content drinking all day by the pool and it was never rowdy. We chose to use the resort only for eating and sleeping, then spending our best hours elsewhere on the Island such as nearby Kalafatis Beach, a beautiful private beach just across the road, or in the main town. Bus access from the resort to town is dependable although rent a scooter at your own peril. Try the set menu at the Contiki affiliated Taverna next to Kalifatis. Heaven for only €12.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank RamblinHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalafatis
2.6 mi away
Sunrise Hotel and Suites
Sunrise Hotel and Suites
#49 of 82 in Mykonos Town
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites
0.5 mi away
Anastasia Village Hotel
Anastasia Village Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kalafatis
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ftelia Bay Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
Petinos Hotel
Petinos Hotel
#10 of 26 in Platys Gialos
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anemoessa Boutique Hotel
Anemoessa Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kalafatis
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodite Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodite Beach Hotel

Address: Kalafati Beach, Kalafatis 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Kalafatis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kalafatis
Price Range: $150 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodite Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splitty, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aphrodite Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodite Beach Hotel Mykonos/Kalafatis
Contiki Mykonos Resort
Contiki Resort Mykonos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing