We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilled out week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kalafatis
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chilled out week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

la Residence is in a picturesque location. First and final impression is of overall cleanliness, with impressive public areas. The arrival drink and canapes set a standard that was kept up throughout. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean, and although it was nice to have the towels changed (seemingly every time you used them and left the room) it did seem a little less than "green". Dinner was a fairly relaxed occasion, although the the seating along the wall areas was considerably lower than the table height necessitating obtaining and sitting on cushions. The four tables with independent seating seemed to be at a premium, and tended to be reserved by those in the know. This led to minor niggle when I reserved one of the window tables, (it was our wedding anniversary) but when we arrived down for dinner there were another couple at the table! when I queried this with one of the staff, he apologized and whipped the reserved sign of another table and offered it to us. As we were declining to take this up, reasoning we did not want to disappoint someone else, another couple arrived and sat down at this table! Sure enough five minutes later the couple who had reserved this table arrived and found their table taken! To be fair the staff gave us a glass of fizz each and then a free bottle after our meal by way of apology.
One area we felt could be improved, was the lack of any provided information about the hotel and surrounds. Although you could get information from reception, most other hotels we've used provide this in the info' pack in the room.
it has to be said, drinks were fairly expensive, from the wine list, to drinks in the lounge area after dinner. Which was probably not surprising that this was deserted most nights.

We were looking forward to meeting Valia, whose praises had been sung by previous reviewers, but she was conspicuous by her absence and good though the staff were, one got the impression that there needed to be someone who had overall control of things.
We were disappointed that there wasn't anywhere for guests with late departures to have a shower etc, and although we appreciated the hotel seemed to be full, there were showers in the spa area that didn't seem to be being used but despite several enquiries to reception, nothing was forthcoming. Expecting guests to hang around for 7 1/2 hours with no facilities other than the toilets is a bit much, not what I would expect from a 5* hotel.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay, I must compliment the chef, the food was superb both at breakfast and especially at dinner. All the public areas and pools were spotless and there were ample sunbeds and towels.
Would we return? Probably not, as it was just a little too far out of the way for us. But we did realise this when we booked (it didn't help that it was the start of the season, and there was very little open in the vicinity). However overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a shared private pool are very good, with sheltered sun area when the winds are blowing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    42
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
25
194
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

First Greek hotel we have ever returned to. I've tried hard and failed to think of a criticism. The location is idyllic, the facilities excellent, and the staff superb. They just can't do enough to make you comfortable. Haha 2012 has it right. Christos the Spartan and Dimitrianna are self effacing stars. If you love Greece and you want peace, comfort and feeling like a family member rather than a guest, you will love La Residence.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to the semi private pools. I gather the spa is a waste of sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just returned from a one week half-board stay at La Residence. Food was superb, in terms of both presentation and taste.
Breakfast ran from 7-12 and dinner from 7-11.
Make sure you try all of the breakfast egg offerings and the cylindrical pastries, covered in sesame seeds, drizzled with honey, containing small cubes of feta.
22 ish rooms and 4 pools so plenty of space + plenty of sunbeds.
The team looking after us were great, always there whenever needed.
Rooms and common areas spacious, light and stylishly furnished.
No real pressing reason to move off site but number of very nice tavernas within walking distance should you fancy it. Bay and beach a 5 minute walk away.
Bus from bottom of drive goes to Mykonos town for Euro 3.80 return.
If you want an uber relaxing break with great food, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Take care if allocated rooms 104 or 105 unless either the service rooms underneath have been soundpr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week vacation at la residence. Everything was perfect. Staff were very nice, polite and friendly creating an at-home atmosphere. Dimitriana and Christos especially. Honestly, we were surprised by the greek hospitality.
The hotel is beautiful, located in a quiet location perfect to relax and a good base to visit the island if you have rented a car.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank haha2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

My Husband and I have just returned (10th May) from a blissful week at La Residence Hotel. From the moment we arrived, everything was just perfect. No request was refused, attentive staff and always on hand to help.

Our suite had a sea view which was beautiful. Sheets changed daily and towels twice a day. Bath robes and slippers and a selection of lotions and creams in the majestic bathroom.

The Restaurant was tastefully decorated, and food served to very high standards. There was a different theme each evening, French, American, Greek, Italian to name but a few. And when it comes to staff we must mention Demetrianna, so happy in her role and so professional. Maria, Emelia, and Christos who always had a special greeting when we entered. Not forgetting Eleftherios who waited on tables attentively and with a ready smile. Oaniss who was always on hand at reception, and Ugo who had just joined the staff and anxious to please.

So thank you again for our happy, relaxing week and may we say your five stars is a very worthy rating.

Sandra and Dave Cooke (Shropshire)

Room Tip: Higher floor had a wonderful sea view and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShropshireDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ongar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

just returned 7th may from la residence, fantastic small hotel where staff were always polite and extremely helpfull. the food was perfect every meal with good selection of wines, although quite expensive.The location is quiet part of mykonos but everywhere is nearby but still usefull to have small hirecar.
we would definitely return next year and would thoroughly recommend for a great relaxing week on this beatiful island.

Room Tip: all rooms are great, some have shared private pool which is great, but main pool is not overcrowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mornington r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattishall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at this lovely destination. Our objective was to relax.. everything there is conducive to exactly that ! ( Breakfast even served until midday !!)
The staff were super, both friendly and efficient, especially Christos.
The setting is lovely, the hotel decor is stunning and it is QUIET .
We were particularly impressed with the cuisine, dining was a delight.
Yes, we have returned a couple of pounds heavier ......however, objective achieved and a destination to revisit without doubt .


Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalafatis
4.4 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
6.0 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 10 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.7 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Makis Place
Makis Place
#2 of 6 in Tourlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Archipelagos Hotel
Archipelagos Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kalo Livadi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites

Property: La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites
Address: Kalafatis Bay, Kalafatis 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Kalafatis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kalafatis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of graceful living, La Residence Suite Hotel captures the glamour and sentiment of Colonial chic in lavish surroundings, 24 elegant suites, spa, five pools and five plus star luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Mykonos Hotel Kalafatis
La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites Kalafatis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing