We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel for relaxing week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kalafatis
Certificate of Excellence
Ongar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great hotel for relaxing week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

just returned 7th may from la residence, fantastic small hotel where staff were always polite and extremely helpfull. the food was perfect every meal with good selection of wines, although quite expensive.The location is quiet part of mykonos but everywhere is nearby but still usefull to have small hirecar.
we would definitely return next year and would thoroughly recommend for a great relaxing week on this beatiful island.

Room Tip: all rooms are great, some have shared private pool which is great, but main pool is not overcrowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mornington r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    42
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
25
194
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mattishall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at this lovely destination. Our objective was to relax.. everything there is conducive to exactly that ! ( Breakfast even served until midday !!)
The staff were super, both friendly and efficient, especially Christos.
The setting is lovely, the hotel decor is stunning and it is QUIET .
We were particularly impressed with the cuisine, dining was a delight.
Yes, we have returned a couple of pounds heavier ......however, objective achieved and a destination to revisit without doubt .


Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Wow where to start. Had the most amazing week staying at La Residence. The staff are amazing and the service is impeccable. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always pleased to see you. The hotel itself is situated in Kalafatis which is a lovely although quieter area which suited us and we hired a car and could be in mykonos town in 20 minutes.

The hotel itself is pristine - it looks brand new although I believe it is about five years old. We had a room on the ground floor with a shared pool and although the water was too cold for me at this time of year it was lovely to have our own terrace area with sun loungers.

We were booked on half board as it was included on the deal we booked - we had planned to only eat there for one or two nights but the chef Konstantinos is an amazing chef who has worked in London at Gordon Ramsey's Petrus and as a result the standard of food is one of the highest I've experienced in Europe and we therefore had dinner in the hotel four times. The first night we were treated to a 7 course Greek tasting menu that was fabulous. In addition to the a la carte menu we also had Italian and Japanese menus throughout the week and the food was faultless every night. The breakfast selection was also of a very high standard.

Overall this hotel is one of the best I've had the privilege of staying in - and as per the owner's aim it really does feel if you are staying in someone's home rather than a large soulless resort. Eleni, Dimitriana, Christophe, Konstantinos and Maria made our stay very special and we are already trying to find time for a return visit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank claireybel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you are looking for quality relaxation then this really is the place to stay.
A small lovely boutique high quality hotel in a great location. It’s just 20’ minutes or so from the airport and we enjoyed the hotels free transfer service. It is also a very short (3’minute) walk down the road to the shingle beach with a warm, clear sea. They have an agreement with the beachside tavern which allows guests to make free use of their beach loungers and parasol.
The hotel itself is just superb, so clean throughout, calm and quiet and is actually better in life than any of the photo’s. It has 4 lovely pools (3 of which are semi private i.e. shared between certain rooms) with sufficient sun-loungers and parasols dotted around for guest along with towels.
All rooms are air conditioned and have pool views with sun for most of the day. Free Wi-Fi was throughout the hotel.
Our room being on the 3rd Floor had great views out over to sea and was very comfortable and well-appointed with a king size bed. It had a lovely bathroom with huge shower, plenty of hot running water, complimentary toiletries with towels being changed as soon as they were used!
Food was prepared with skill and care and whether it was breakfast or evening dinner all meals were served on a lovely terrace/ veranda. Breakfasts had a vast choice of the freshest local ingredients with eggs prepared to your request plus sweet and savoury breads and pastries being made on the premises by the skilled chef.
Evening Meals were leisurely multi-course affairs made with care and passion that day again using fresh seasonal local ingredients. The food really is very good and was thoroughly enjoyed by all the guests we spoke to.
As for staff and service well this is all managed by the hugely professional and efficient Valia who obviously enjoys her pivotal role as the care and attention from her really shines through. I would add that all the staff took great care and pride in their work whether that be the chamber maids, kitchen staff, driver, or waiters/ waitress and it is this little 'extra' element which makes La Residence a very comfortable and special place to stay. In-fact we have stayed in many fine hotels over the years but this is the only one we would have wanted to stay on longer (stayed 11-nights)!
So to re-iterate if you are looking for a small friendly high quality boutique hotel with peace and quiet relaxation then you can be rest assured that this ticks all the boxes and really is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank TwoGoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We moved to La Residence after a terrible first night in another 'luxury' hotel on Mykonos Island. Thankfully, our experience at La Residence completely made up for that first night. Valia, the manager, was incredibly welcoming and responsive to our needs throughout the holiday, and the service was generally very good and unobtrusive.

The atmosphere is blissfully relaxed, especially around the pool, with little noise and disruption and plenty of loungers to go around. The hotel is decorated with beautiful elegance, and the rooms themselves are very spacious.

We ate rarely at the hotel other than breakfast which had a fantastic range of pastries and cakes. Not great for the health conscious but to a high standard with good variety.

Kalafatis is a lovely, quiet resort compared with busier parts of the island, with some good restaurants in walking distance. A car is definitely recommended if you are staying for longer than a few days - very easy to get around the island in this respect. A short drive away was our favourite beach Kalo Livadi.

If you're looking to relax rather than party in Mykonos, then La Residence is a must. It feels like you are in someone's luxury villa / private home and is a far cry from some of the noisier parts of the island (which of course you can travel to if you wish!).

We would definitely recommend La Residence and had a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Let’s have a little think. When you read the words “5-star luxury hotel” what IS it that you see in your mind’s eye? Hot and cold running Jacuzzis? Personal butlers? Complimentary champagne bottles under every pillow? Of course not. But what you may be forgiven for expecting is a smattering of little touches that take an unprepossessing boutique hotel into the realms of a glorious boutique hotel.

La Residence on the Greek island of Mykonos is a boutique hotel that has been awarded 5-stars by the ‘Preferred Hotel Group’ and, in particular, by their subdivision, ‘Preferred Boutique’. Here’s how they parade themselves on the internet:

“Inspiration is at the heart of Preferred Boutique. This collection of exceptional hotels and resorts, each 100 rooms or less, is distinguished by personalized, one-of-a kind experiences. Unique by design, Preferred Boutique showcases style, service, and personality on an intimate scale.”

I cannot deny a single word of that ambitious paragraph, but let’s get down to the nitty-gritty.

La Residence wants to be a 5-star hotel, but it isn’t quite there yet. We are not talking about jacuzzis and butlers and champagne… we are talking about the little niceties of life that make a hotel worthy of that 5-star experience… and they don’t have to be very much.

To begin at the beginning: What does La Residence have that makes it wonderful? I’ll tell you:

• Personal Service
o Valia is the manager here – and she is fantastic. There’s no other word for it. Guests (we are not clients) are greeted personally by a smile that is almost as large as any of the outdoor pools and offered a welcome that is as warm as a Greek summer. Valia knows how to treat people, how to respond to their individual needs and quirks, and how to make herself available at any time she should be needed. With Valia at the helm, you genuinely feel that you are being cared for and attended to. Some of the problems emerge when Valia herself is not around… but more of that in a moment.
• The Cuisine
o It is Greek. Pure Greek and proudly so. Each day a fresh array of home-made breads and pastries fill the buffet tables to overflowing, and with a variety that the brain cannot cope with. I have always judged any hotel I have stayed in by the quality of its scrambled eggs. Daft perhaps, but true. If they can’t get that right, they can’t get anything right. The scrambled eggs, the omelettes, the poached eggs here at La Residence are about as perfect as perfect can be. And that is just a very small indication of the love and attention to his craft that is taken by the resident chef, Konstantinos Zacharias. Trained under Gordon Ramsey and having spent some years in the UK, Konstantinos’s menu is a mouth-watering delight and his cooking and presentation are second-to-none: completely worth of – oh let's be generous – a five and a half star hotel. There is simply no higher praise.

• The Location
o La Residence sits away from the hustle and bustle of Mykonos town. There are no sun-lotion and straw hat shops nearby, there are no loud bars and overpriced beach beds. The location – with its jacuzzis (yes, jacuzzis) and sunbeds and various swimming pools and a spa and a restaurant and a bar and a large lounge and many verandahs… is at Kalafatis Beach. Quiet, peaceful, a sun trap and, should you feel like the occasional adventure, you can always toss an apple into a field of horses and goats that come between you and the sea. It IS the perfect getaway for those who really do want to get away. So if you want to do some travelling and see the island, make plans to hire a car while you are here.

• The Price
o It is not going to break your bank. La Residence offers real, honest-to-goodness, genuine value for money. A sea-view room with a king-sized bed, a personal balcony, air conditioning, a good shower, robes and slippers, free wi-fi usage plus breakfast (cooked or not) is going to be around 500 euros per week per person. Bargain? I think so.

So… given all this great news, where is it that La Residence falls short? What could it do better to make itself into a true 5-star holiday resort?

It’s little things… because little things turn an experience into a BIG thing.

It would be nice to have the following:

• Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. At present, there’s nothing.

• A mini-bar that gets replenished as and when needed. At the moment, you arrive to find a duo of small wine bottles, a trio of spirits… and that’s it. You stock up the mini-bar at your own behest by ordering hard or soft drinks from the bar and having them delivered.

• A television that can receive satellite channels. At the moment, for those of us whose language resorts instinctively to English, there are only two English speaking channels: BBC World News and CNN. Maybe a DVD-Player in the room and a library of DVDs to borrow from Reception may be an idea…

• A little shop would be nice… for those basic essentials that run out or get lost… AfterSun, paracetemol, juice, a newspaper…

• Better trained staff. Now, don’t get me wrong here… the staff are fantastic. They are willing, they are smiley, they are small in number… but very often they are missing. That is precisely because they are small in number. I am guessing that the permanent one additional female and the three addition gentlemen (excluding the two cleaning staff and the one handyman) all have their work cut out from morning till night in attending to at least eight or ten different functions. But it wouldn't be difficult to assign someone, say, to patrol the pools every half hour or so to see if the guests require cold drinks or fruit – or anything…. The way things are, the guests have to get up, go inside, find someone (if they’re lucky), order something, go back and then wait…The biggest disappointment here was to go inside and the actually discover one of the staff just standing around, seemingly at a loss for what to do.

• Careful attention to housekeeping. There were two of us. Some days, two clean robes would be left… other days just one. Some days we’d get toiletries replenished. Other days, nothing at all. Every day the room was made up while we were at breakfast, but clean towels didn't arrive until 9:00pm in the evening. What am I asking for here? Just consistency, that’s all. Nothing more. Would it be so difficult to do the whole room (including towels and toiletries an robes) in one go?

• Information… had we fancied a tour of any kind, or more information about the island, or hiring a car or a bike or full professional orchestra to serenade us on our balcony… I have no doubt that Valia would have been able to accommodate us totally… but the thing is – we were never given any kind of information that may have sparked our interest in anything. More importantly, there was no information about the hotel anywhere: checkout times, restaurant times, the spa services and times, local doctor, local horse peddler… nothing.

• And finally, some atmosphere. No, please… not loud music all around the pool, not someone handing out roses at the dinner tables or mystery jugglers or inept magicians… but the singular thing missing here is that quaint and old-fashioned thing called ambience. There is none. And it’s only for the want of trying. I’ve already said how peaceful and quiet the place is. It is. It is exactly that and that is a BIG plus point, truly… but La Residence feels as if it has no heart. It wants it. Of that there is no doubt, it just has to find it.

And so, the last burning question: would we come back here again?

Absolutely!

It was a magnificent holiday. Staff, food, location, price – all of them wonderful and, who knows, with a few little extra touches (and, doubtless, a few little euros on the price tag) La Residence will become what it truly wants – and deserves – to be: a genuine 5-star experience.

Room Tip: Grab a sea-view room with a larger-than-average balcony for sitting out and watching the boats come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Dangston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and i spend a lovely week at La Residence at the end of September. The staff did all they could to ensure our stay was memorable. Scenery was lovely and the quality of the Hotel was excellent. Well done Vallia:-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briffa1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalafatis
4.4 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
6.0 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 10 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.7 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Makis Place
Makis Place
#3 of 6 in Tourlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Archipelagos Hotel
Archipelagos Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kalo Livadi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites

Property: La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites
Address: Kalafatis Bay, Kalafatis 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Kalafatis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kalafatis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of graceful living, La Residence Suite Hotel captures the glamour and sentiment of Colonial chic in lavish surroundings, 24 elegant suites, spa, five pools and five plus star luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Mykonos Hotel Kalafatis
La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites Kalafatis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing