We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing experience”
other travelers have booked this property
The Mill is set in a secluded 1/4 acre garden surrounded by fields and water.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mill is set in a secluded 1/4 acre garden surrounded by fields and water.
Lounge with log burner. The view from the lounge. Moorehens, coots, ducks and otters are spotted regularly.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The Mill is set in a secluded 1/4 acre garden surrounded by fields and water.
Lounge with log burner.
The view from the lounge. Moorehens, coots, ducks and otters are spotted regularly.
Circular bespoke kitchen. Modern oak and granite with underfloor heating, features a butler sink.
First floor circular bedroom with underfloor heating, 4foot double bed, flat screen TV and DVD.
Double height living room with chandelier.
Mill tower.
Ground floor shower room with underfloor heating. Towels and toiletries are provided for your stay.
The cap room, one of the highest points for miles around and great for watching life go by below.
The Mill Cap, which was rebuilt in 2010. Gorgeous views over the flat landscape all around you.
Garden to the front of the Mill.
Views of the fields from the lounge. Our nearest neighbours are a herd of Highlands cows.
Our neighbours
Potter Heigham bridge, only 400 yards from the Mill.
The mill as it was circa 1900. The cap and sails were destroyed by lightening in the 1930s.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Potter Heigham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shieladix...
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The Old Mill is perfect for a family holiday with pets at any time of the year. Its underfloor heating and wood burner makes it very cosy. Its location makes it the perfect base for exploring the Broads and beyond (Make use of the 'Broads Wildlife Explorer' in the boat hire reception.) It has amazing views and yes, you can walk out and around the cap! Exhilarating!

The kitchen (the entire ground floor of the windmill) and living area (a separate building) are spacious and well-appointed. The oven, fridge, sink, surfaces, dishwasher are all bigger than I'm used to at home! So many unexpected extras - games, DVDs, toys, the telescope in the cap.

Be prepared for a walk from the nearest car parking. Maybe not terribly far but it seems further with heavy bags and remember that everything you take with you you'll be carrying on foot.

Thank you so much for a lovely holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We stayed in a windmill!!!!
Liked least: no wi-fi and intermittent phone reception
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannahxp
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect relaxing week, heaven for the dog!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Had the most amazing week here. Winterton on sea beach is only 10minutes away and us one of the most beautiful beaches I have been too and perfect for dogs. And horsey gap is amazing to watch seals and their seal pups at this time of year.

The mill itself is really well equipped, we couldn't have asked for anything more. A real gem, not to be missed. Amazing views, log burner, cosy rooms, star gazing, best location and lovely garden.

Thank you for renting out this home from home, I had the best birthday week.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you all had a good time (especially the dog) and we hope to see you again soon. Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy386b
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

What a wonderful place. Well furnished ,nice and warm with underfloor heating and a very effective wood burner on the ground floor. Stunning views. Remote giving true peace and quiet yet only a stroll to the car and easy travel to lots of near-by attractions or other beauty spots. We had a three night break but felt like we had been away longer. We didn't want to leave .

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikki M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WOW - Amazing Place”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent half term week at the Old Mill with my partner, son, who is 10 and his friend. The place was absolutely gorgeous. We had cosy log fires and managed three BBQ's whilst there. The surroundings were tranquil and we had everything we needed in the windmill which was immaculate. The children thought it was all magical and loved the observation room. We packed a lot in in the week as there was so much to do not too far away, Bewilderwood, boat hire, steam train, beaches. If you needed to ask anything the owners were always available by phone and very helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this beautiful place and would love to go again in the summer.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jojackson...
1 review
“Fantastic holiday, only wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I booked the weekend holiday as a birthday treat for my daughter, I hadn't told them where we were staying so to say they were excited when we walked upto the windmill was an understatement. I had looked at the information for the mill before booking and so knew what to expect, but have to say that the location and windmill were even nicer than I had imagined (if that's possible). My girls loved looking through the telescope and being so close to the swan family who visited and the dogs had some lovely walks. We were kept warm by the log burner and the children renamed the half moon bed, calling it the chicken nugget bed. We have had a lovely relaxing time here, spending quality family time together and even though we didn't fill our days with lots of activities, the children never said they were board at all. I have no hesitation in recommending the mill and hope to return in the near future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again! Katie and Adam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“everything you could want from a holiday!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have stayed here twice now and both times have been wonderful. The mill has been thoughtfully planned. My children were entranced by the wildlife, exercised by the outdoor activities provided and kept quiet by the TV. We had everything we needed here, all of which were of a very luxurious standard. The location cannot be faulted, close to so many different family friendly activities from the beach to Bewilderwood to museums. Love it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful scenic location
Liked least: nothing not to like!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsy64
Coventry UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique Accommodation in Stunning Location”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Just back from a fabulous break at the Old Mill. Accommodation excellent, clean with everything you would want. Loved sitting on the balcony in the early evening watching the sun set and the boats return. Early mornings on the decking being entertained by Mr & Mrs Swan and their 6 cygnets was a delight. What more can I say truly lovely break and already thinking about when I might get back. Will certainly recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning location, unique property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Mill and hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$113
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing