We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Hidden Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Omah Alchy Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet Hidden Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We love Karimun Jawa and Omah Alchy helped sweeten the experience. If you want no tourists, this is your spot. If you want an authentic Indonesian experience, this is your spot. If you want a taste of natural beauty, this is your spot. If you want delicious local seafood/food, this is your spot.

This hotel (homestay: it seems the staff lives on the premises) is surprisingly attentive with unexpected thoughtful details in the service. Nino and Aris and all of the staff take wonderful care of you during your stay. However, this is an "island" type of experience. Meaning life is slower, service is very relaxed, and the over all ambience is chill.

Our favorites of this island and hotel were the delicious meals at Omah Alchy, sunset dinner on the pier, day boat trip to the islands and picnic lunch, snorkeling by the coral reefs, sipping hot coconuts while sitting at the park square with all the locals eating and chatting, renting a motorbike to explore the island and lounging all day without a care in the world on the hammocks.

Please note: this experience is for the traveller that is ok with a really rustic and authentic travel experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've stayed few days in Omah Alchy and without dubt it was my best time in Indonesia.
The place is settled very near the harbour and the little village but in a quiet spot by the sea side. There are two cottages (other two are under construction): they are wodden made, simple and typical from outside but with all conforts you need inside (TV, A/C, DVD player, sofa). The two greatest plus of Omah Alchy are the wonderful view of the Karimun Jawa landscape from a and the superb cooking. The staff was more than friendly and helpful and they help us organising trips around the islands and our time there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trammy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beautiful Island, beach, cottage and the services is very very very good......thaks for mas Andre and Mas Aries.
Food..............absolutely fantastic....when we arrived, they serves us with 2 big fish, some vegy and all delicious. Don't miss with fish dendeng.....omah alchy fish dendeng....MAKNYUUUUSSS...
Sure....I'll be back again with more people and sure more fun......... :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qq_padri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We visited Karimunjawa Islands last week, stayed in Omah Alchy for two nights before transferring back to Semarang. The large cottage can fit up to 8 person, which is very spacious for five of us.

Omah Alchy is located at the west side of the island, so you’d get private sunset view every day. The cottage itself is placed just by the shore, but it’s not a beach, just shallow. The shores isn’t dirty but the sands are pretty dark with lots of seaweed and dead coral reefs.

Omah Alchy has just added a small pier just beside the cottage so visitors with arranged trips using boats can easily board the boats directly. The pier itself is also a great spot for hanging out, also great as a photo subject especially on sunset.

One thing that impressed us was the food. The dishes they served were top class, more like a 4-star hotel cuisine served in a modest hut just beside the cottage.

Room Tip: The large cottage has one room equipped with air conditioning. This room normally can fit up to thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fajaradiartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Wunderful accommodation in traditional Javanese Joglo. It's a very quite place and the sea is direct to your feet. Beautiful to spend some relaxing time. I stayed with friends in the bigger unit and is was very comfortable and spacy. You can swim to wunderful coral reefs which are located in front of the beach. The guys are very amusing as well as courteous and support you with each wishes you have. The house lady is cooking tasteful traditional sea food and you should not miss to order traditional wild sea weed salat, delicious and only available on this island. The owner has some interesting water sport equipment which you can rent for fair rates per day. I can only recommend this place and in case that the wind blows me again to Karimun I will stay at this place without any doubt. I had a very good time there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bigger Joglo Unit which was very spacy and comfortable. The cottage has another sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Renevpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you like to escape from hectic world, this is the perfect place!

What we love the most is that the cottage is placed at the shore of the sea. We had clear view to the ocean, and we can say that it's like we had private sunset views everyday. The morning view also magnificent.

There are several wonderful places we visit. What stays in our memory is when we swim with the little sharks, and when we visit a small white sand island in the middle of the sea. In that island, we had a wonderful sunset, then followed by a clear night sky, the stars were shine so clearly. It's surreal

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ditto_Anindita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at omah alchy with our 2 kids (8 and 12 years). The rooms are clean, there is Aircondition after 5.30 pm till morning, On request it was provided also during the day by their own genset but during the day there is so much outdoor space to spend your time.
The small cottage is a little tiny for 4 persons if adult, but we where fine with the kids.
Toilet is great with direct sea view! Shower is Indonesian shower but works well.
There are some mosquito's during sunset time but this is common for the tropics.
The place has its charm with its direct ocean front setting and the fabulous sunsets every day. We spend 6 days and we will come back for sure.
Thanks omah alchy crew!

Room Tip: if you more than 3 adults, better choose the large bungalow where they stay can stay up to 8. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Franz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karimun Jawa hotels
1.4 mi away
Breve Azurine Lagoon Retreat
Breve Azurine Lagoon Retreat
#1 of 3 in Karimun Jawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
15.6 mi away
Kura Kura Resort
Kura Kura Resort
#2 of 13 in Karimun Jawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Karimun Lumbung
Karimun Lumbung
#7 of 13 in Karimun Jawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
CocoHuts Inn
CocoHuts Inn
#3 of 22 in Karimun Jawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Coconut House Karimunjawa
The Coconut House Karimunjawa
#2 of 22 in Karimun Jawa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
119.8 mi away
Ayu Hotel Karimunjawa
Ayu Hotel Karimunjawa
#1 of 13 in Karimun Jawa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omah Alchy Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omah Alchy Cottages

Property: Omah Alchy Cottages
Address: Jati Kerep Kecataman, Karimun Jawa 59432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Karimun Jawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Karimun Jawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Omah Alchy Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing