We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kura Kura Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kura Kura Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Everything about Kura Kura was fantastic! That is if you love beautiful beaches, palm trees, turqoise sea, diving, massages and wonderful food and an extremely friendly staff. We loved it - make sure to take along lot's of books!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mik76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    41
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
156
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

I spent four nights in Kura Kura just as it was reopening for the 2009 season. I had seen photos before and wasn't really sure what to expect. Much of the resort has been redesigned. I stayed in a pool villa. It was designed to give you the feeling that you were on your own private island. Even as more guests began to arrive, there are so many beach and recreation options that you feel you can always find your own quiet corner of the island. The food, and in particular, the homemade bread, was out of this world. But, my favorite thing was the amazing snorkeling just off the pier, and the dive experiences a bit further out. The dive instructor, Renato, was perfect for me, whose skills are abit rusty and required a refresher. This is probably not the ideal location for someone looking for vibrant, raging nightlife. But if you want an intimate island experience with amazing water and views, it's an incredible location.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bostrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

My wife and I went in '08 for our honeymoon.. amazing! We took a ferry from Semarang, and upon arriving in the Karimunjawa Islds, we were wisked away James Bond style in a speedboat off to Kura Kura, where we were greeted by the islands staff.. I felt like it was Fantasy Island.. we spent several days on the island with only 6 other Italians + staff, so it was really peaceful. There is a nearby uninhabited super-gorgeous island where the resort gives you a free boat trip for a day trip.. I highly recommend.. The only pain in the butt was having to wire transfer the money which was expensive and a pain, but that melted away instantly.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goldfisharenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

At the beginning we were advised not to stay too long on an atoll in the middle of the sea. Soon after we arrived on Kura Kura (meaning turtle) resort island we definitely had the feeling we would have never liked to leave it.

After 8 nights staying we were more than unlikely to depart to Europe: we had got easily so much used to live in a natural paradise (with all the western amenities!!) that we would have never leave the island unless for the fact that the resort was closing down for some works!!

Villas: at that time you could choose between bungalows (with a seaview) and pool villas. Definitely villas was the right choice: imain bungalow sorrounded by relaxing sofas and chairs and other amenities everything looking at the private pool. everything is kept intimate by a 2m wall sorrounding your villa: up from that starts the beautiful sightseen of coconuts palms and deep blue/ starry sky.

Outside your villa there is only one main building working as reception and bar, while candlelight dinner is served directly on the sandy beach with an amazing view and feeling of the ocean and the starry sky. also the menu is in surprising with a genuine Italian finishing.

Actually somebody could miss the very weel organised and served sandy beaches of Bali but nowhere like here you can appreciate a white sandy beach were you can stay almost by yourself .To this extent Robsinson island (a little uninhabited atoll facing the resort island) is the ultimate experince of wild nature : you get there by a boat taxi (free) from the resort in the morning and you come back in the early afternoon (at your choice).

Service is not like big luxury hotel chain, but very much smiling and really at your service.

But for a deep experience on this, please have a look at my pictures.

Enjoy your staying in Kura Kura resort.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnini00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karimun Jawa hotels
16.7 mi away
Breve Azurine Lagoon Retreat
Breve Azurine Lagoon Retreat
#1 of 3 in Karimun Jawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
107.5 mi away
CocoHuts Inn
CocoHuts Inn
#3 of 22 in Karimun Jawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
15.6 mi away
Omah Alchy Cottages
Omah Alchy Cottages
#3 of 13 in Karimun Jawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Ayu Hotel Karimunjawa
Ayu Hotel Karimunjawa
#1 of 13 in Karimun Jawa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Coconut House Karimunjawa
The Coconut House Karimunjawa
#2 of 22 in Karimun Jawa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
108.1 mi away
Ary's Lagoon Bungalow & Hotel
Ary's Lagoon Bungalow & Hotel
#4 of 22 in Karimun Jawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kura Kura Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kura Kura Resort

Property: Kura Kura Resort
Address: Kura Kura Island, Karimun Jawa, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Karimun Jawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Karimun Jawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kura Kura Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kura Kura Hotel Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing