We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for snorkeling/diving and quiet nature retreat”
Review of Kura Kura Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kura Kura Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

No more cars, no more city noise nor pollution !
Fun transfert from Karimun island by fast boat. And by small aircraft to/from Semarang.
The 600m large round island is surrounded by a 100 m large lagoon and great corals.
Lagoon is swimable at high tide. Just after are coral mountains under water. Wow !
We stayed 2 nights in a pool villa and 5 nights in a de luxe bungalow.
Both were great value.
The staff is smiling and professional, yet cheerful.
The restaurant is good from breakfast to diner.
The garden is great with nice trees, flowers...
Sun sets and sun rises are a must.
We truly spent a great time there.
(But don't expect to find a disco or noisy bars. This place is for admiring sea life and for a genuine quiet time with singing birds and other quiet guests, a delight !)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamKKR, Direttore at Kura Kura Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank You for Your review Mr. RB86!
it is true that Kura Kura is the right place to relax after a trip around Indonesia. Imagine that the week You were here the hotel was fully booked but You realized how many people was on the island only at dinner time, when all guests come more or less at the same time!
Thank You from all our staff.
We hope to meet You again in Kura Kura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 253 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

we stayed for 5 nights in one of the pool villas ( cheaper rooms)
the room was spacious, beautiful and spotlessly clean ( it is unfortunately also cleaned when there is a "do not disturb" sign hung out)
the part of the island with the pool villas and the restaurant is lovely.
the diving is very nice : the dive shop is very pleasant and well thought, the dive sites are beautiful and close by and the water is warm.
food is delicious ( with a mix / choice of Italian and Indonesian food) and the staff very friendly.

on the negative side : the island is very small and some parts are not so nicely kept. there is not much to do apart from diving or relaxing.
and as for relaxing, it is hard to enjoy just lazying outside as one get eaten alive by mosquitoes within 5 mns of stepping a foot outside the room, whatever time of the day ( with or without repellent, which is kindly provided).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sotrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamKKR, Direttore at Kura Kura Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear sotrel,
Thank You so much for Your review that is really useful for us. All departments will be informed about it. Is it true that in May, at the end of the raining season, there were many mosquitos but is the price to pay to stay in an unspoiled, virgin and wild but still gorgeous island.
Thanks again from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Kura Kura resort did not live up to our expectations given price level. It would have been okay, if the price had been half the asking price...

We have spend other holidays in resorts of same price category and they have all been far better than Kura Kura resort.

The Facilities were generally ok (though the paddle boats not in a good state), but the service and food/drink is far from what should be expected from a resort in this price category.

The island do not have a good beach (which was probably the biggest disappointment). The Laguna was shallow and not good for swimming nor snorkelling. The only real option for snorkelling was off the jetty.

In general there was a lack of exclusive feeling and attention to details that makes the experience special.

The dive operations had a good instructor and dive master. Nice boats.

Some details of the experience:
- Lot of Mosquitoes - on a small private island this can be controlled through fumigation and attentiveness to still water where the lava can breed.
- No Room service provided
- Only one of the waiters lived up to expectations of service given price level
- Long walk from villa to restaurant for kids - couch bike/bikes would be nice
- Food - lack of variety and quality, same menu card for breakfast and lunch, two different set of menu cards for dinner (A and B...) The breads and cakes were good
- Spa was closed down for most of the 9 days we were there. We only saw it open on the two first days. There was just one man (!) to serve a big resort
- lack of good coffee and tea
- quality of drinks were low and and big variation in the quality
- space on beach in front of restaurant full of seeds with spikes from a kind of pine tree - had to ware shoes.
- Lack of space and proper beach chairs at the main pool (space was used for dining chairs)
- Minibar not filled up every day
- House keeping generally not up to scratch. Cigarette buds left from the house keepers
- There is a beach to the left of the resort (in front of the resort is a lagune) which was dirty (full of rubbish and natural materials) and where some beach chairs are left to the mercy of the sea... This could be kept cleaned on a daily basis

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Expattraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamKKR, Direttore at Kura Kura Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Expattravellers,

We all are deeply sad and surprised in reading Your review, considering that we are at disposal on the island 24/24 ready to help clients and to listen to their suggestions or disapprovals, but You did not report nothing at all during your staying here.

We apologize if you found that Housekeeping service was not perfect in Your villa with private pool and with waiters/waitresses, but again, if had reported us immediately on spot it would have
been easy to solve; (anyway, thank You for the information, which is always a good input to improve constantly).

Room Service; that is part of the Hotel policy not to provide that (regarding food in particular, due to the logistic position of the island, we don't want to run the risk to deliver cold dishes), but even there, for any other necessities, we're ready to help and satisfy our Guests, when asked.

Gardeners cleans constantly, (island is plenty of coconut and pine trees) but thank You for the information, we will push them to make a better job.

Regarding the SPA, it was temporary closed for an emergency case : due to bad weather all the ferries were deleted for a week and our therapist couldn’t come back from their day-off.

And always due to bad weather (if You well remember we had big waves with very high tides and strong wind and heavy rain) the sea came inside more or less 50 meters further on from the coast line, covering all the sunbeds and bringing with him sand, corals, wood, plastic, that were immediately cleaned after the storm (cleanings on the whole Island that are done every single day).

Lagoon definition: "A lagoon is a body of water that has been cut off by a reef of coral or sand from a larger body of water. Lagoons are found at the mouth of rivers and on sea coasts. In many cases they form protected natural features that are not very deep."

As from the dictionary, that’s why is not easy to swim or snorkel inside a lagoon.

About food and drinks I’m sorry if 95 courses in our Mediterranean Menu and our Asian Menu bored You or Your two girls; we try to satisfy all our clients coming from many countries but sometimes is not easy, I hope You will understand.

Hoping this letter could give You explanation as I couldn’t have the chance to do it personally, I send to You my Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wow.
What more can you say about the experience at this resort? I have stayed in many 5 star hotels over the world, ranging from beach resorts to city hotels, including all the major chains and boutique hotels.Hands down, this hotel sets the standard for all future stays.
We spent our honeymoon here.
I m not even sure where to start as I don't have enough superlatives!

The service was superb. Then, next come the Private Pool Villa which was so warm and nice, so uniquely and tastefully decorated. The breakfast were also delicious. The beach and sand fantastic. Definitely will come back again!
Stayed June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FaBelMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I have been able to stay. 4 nights here It was really a great stay, very tastefully decorated, beautiful architecture. Both seaviewcottage as the restaurant. Ok the wait staff is very attentive and helpful, basically anything is possible if you ask for it. Also the reef surrounding the resort is nice for snorkeling, here you will find coral gardens that are in tact! Also, it is worth the (free) bootrip to go to Robinson Island.

Room Tip: See the east site of the island for a nice quiet swim..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoniqueToonen1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Staying here for 5D4N with two kids and elderly mom. The service was excellent. From the reservation until check out, they handled it very professionally.
The resort is beautfully landscaped with good maintenance.

Reservation : Excellent. Nita was very helpul & assisting. At the airport, Ilham & Becky were very friendly and always ensure that we're comfortable.

Room : the room is very well maintained. Shining to its corner and turns. Being a 5* hotelier, I usually very picky and expect a high standard. I don't find any problem so far.

Food: food was excellent. Good choices at good taste. Only on the first day that the rice was half-cooked. The fish was so fresh. The resort offered complete menu from starter to dessert. We couldn't take them all, make us too full :) . Suggest at breakfast wait staff need to do more round with tea/coffee as the cup is small.

Facility : this resort is especially for honeymooners and relaxing. So the activity is limited. As I brought my kids & mom here. I asked in details what they offered and what they don't have. Snorkel/diving gear is provided. There are also free excursion to nearest island. But option to rent boat to explore further is also availabe with charges. No TV in the room. If you bring kids, need to plan well in advance to make them always occupied.

Landscape : nice & clean. There's a lagoon in front of our room. It's shallow, so it's safe for kid. To the east you will find white sandy beach nice to catch the breeze. They also breed turtles, very cute. Canoe and small wooden boat available for free. Nice to paddle in the lagoon with kiddos.

Mosquito: bring your own repellent especially if you have kids. I found the spray one is very usefull. Apply it whenever you go out. They provide mosquito net in the room, so no problem.

Price is a bit high but bearing in mind that this resort is self-resourced. Other hotel in Karimun Jawa don't have 24 hours electricity. But they offer excellent service :) :) Happy as can be....

Room Tip: Asked for the nearest to the restaurant as they don't have room service. Especially if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetnoNiekno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Best resort in Karimun Jawa , Yunita ( reservations staff ) very helpful and patient in answering all questions. Lovely resort for honeymoon and diving. Managed by experience, professional and great knowledge staff. my diving instructor Renato very helpful and patient with me as beginner. Breakfast and dinner options are plentiful and tasty. I would recommend this resort and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karimun Jawa hotels
9.3 mi away
Breve Azurine Lagoon Retreat
Breve Azurine Lagoon Retreat
#1 of 2 in Karimun Jawa
65 reviews
56.6 mi away
D'Season Hotel
D'Season Hotel
#2 of 2 in Karimun Jawa
25 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ayu Hotel Karimunjawa
Ayu Hotel Karimunjawa
#1 of 29 in Karimun Jawa
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Karimun Lumbung
Karimun Lumbung
#8 of 29 in Karimun Jawa
13 reviews
8 mi away
Omah Alchy Cottages
Omah Alchy Cottages
#3 of 29 in Karimun Jawa
87 reviews
8.9 mi away
SAMSARA Room and Dormitory
SAMSARA Room and Dormitory
#4 of 29 in Karimun Jawa
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kura Kura Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kura Kura Resort

Address: Kura Kura Island, Karimun Jawa, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Karimun Jawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Karimun Jawa
Price Range: $337 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kura Kura Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kura Kura Hotel Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing