We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you pay is what you get”
Review of Niriis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Niriis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Greve, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What you pay is what you get”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

normally. But we must say we get a lot at Niriis. The hospitality the friendly smiles everytime we take the stairs, and try to caunt in Greegish. The quite in the morning and evening, just sitting at the balcony with a book. The shop near by, with new bread in the morning. Great pools near by, and the most beautiful little lagune beach. Nice restaurents nearby, and the little town Daratsos up hill, with the tavern at the square, sitting with the greek people dringking cold beer and just let life pass by. We have been 2 times at Niriis and we are coming back to september 2011. Although we have been to Kreta 16 times, we find Niriis and the surrundings best, including the price.

Room Tip: To the street a lot of sun on the back less sun. The street is not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliceamadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George T, Manager at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2015
Hello and thank you focommenting on Niriis Hotel!

At Niriis Hotel we are happy when our guests are happy, and we are proud to offer not only a value for money choice, but a "quality" stay to our customers, by making them feel like home.

Thank you once again and see you perhas again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    123
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
59
182
111
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

When first arriving we were greeted by George the owner. George was fantastic, he spent a lot of time with us explaining things to do and was really helpful through out the entire stay.

The main thing to note about this hotel is that it's located in Agii Apostoli which is a 20 minute bus ride from Chania. If you want to be near the beautiful Old Port of Chania I would recommend staying in Old Town. But if you want to be a 2 minute walk from the beautiful beaches then I would suggest staying here.

Ideally it's best to have a car if you choose to stay here if you want to go back and forth. Having said that, there is a regular bus service into town. We just got caught out at night as there was a taxi strike and we missed the last bus!

The hotel its self provides clean rooms with free wifi. Given what we paid you couldn't do much better. The only small negative was that you need to pay 10 Euro for the air con each day. It doesn't have a pool but staying there gives you access to a nice pool at the hotel opposite. There is also a convenience store about a minute walk away, extremely handy for late night beverage runs!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmesAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George T, Manager at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2015
Thank you for your time commenting!

At Niriis Hotel we aim to provide a quality stay for low cost. We also want to provide all the important information to our guets regarding places to visit and what to do, and that is why we give a five minute presentation when they arrive at the hotel. Regarding the aircondition, there is an electronic meter in the room, so you pay according to the use.

Best Regads and thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Niriis. George, the owner is incredibly helpful and went out of his way to make sure we had the best possible time. He helped us arrange various day trips and is a wealth of information and a pleasure to talk to.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitaeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George T, Manager at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2015
Thank you for your time commenting!
At Niriis we want to have happy guests who have the best time in Crete, Chania and Niriis hotel, and we all do our best to achieve that!

Hope you had a great stay in Chania and Greece and see you perhaps another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This hotel was the worst hotel of all our Greek trip. First of all it is not in Chania, it is in a place called Agii Apostoli. Second of all, we booked a room through Expedia with air conditioning and when we arrived we learned that although the room had air conditioning, it is an optional!!! Additionally, the wi-fi is the owner computer, the room was extremely hot and our double bed was a twin bed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimie_Bamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George T, Owner at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We specifically state in every website that the hotel is located in Agii Apostoli, in Chania area.
Airconditioning is available, but for an extra charge, it is also stated in all websites.
WiFi is installed in all the hotel, you can actually reach our WiFi within 500m around the hotel, please ask for the password.
All beds in the hotel are single, as described in the websites.
Before booking a hotel, please read carefully the description of rooms and see the photos, also click on the Google Earth link to see the exact location. We are not responsible for expectations that descriptions which are explained thoroughly and guests have not read or looked at them. We also send an e-mail after each reservation is done describing how to find Niriis hotel and other usefull info.
In 2013 we installed a central fan on the roof of the hotel, sucking the hot air out of the bathrooms and bringing new fresh air from outside. This cools down the room by 5C, our rooms therefore are cooler than any other average hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sogndal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We spent the last week of the season at Niriis and got excellent value for the money dispite some very mixed weather. Very friendly family that run the hotel, and George had all relevant information about what to do and how to get around.
One detail on the negative side however: We made our own breakfast and therefore used the kitchen part of the room every morning. The kitchen utensils were not of first class. No frying pan, the kettle had a semiround bottom (took a long time to heat water), one of two knives was half-broken, etc.
If we return to the Chania-district, we hope for vacancy at Niriis!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halvo-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George T, Ιδιοκτήτης at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
We would like to thank you for your positive review and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

George was very friendly. He also gave us a wealth of tips on Chania and Crete. This was by far the most helpful tips we have received on travels throughout the world. George told us about a dance school's performance, with local dances from throughout Crete, which we saw in Chania. The hotel is a family affair, with two brothers, dad and mom all working together. George is one of the brothers.

The room included a fridge, stove, and kitchen sink. There was a desk with ethernet cable for internet, which worked great. A safe was provided for no additional charge.

The location was nice, a short walk to the beach, and to the bus stop for Chania. The bus (July 2010) ran till almost midnight; it cost 90 cents per person per trip. We paid cash, as requested, for the rooms; the price was very reasonable.

Internet was via a LAN cable that we plugged into our netbook laptop computer. Pool is by arrangement with local hotels. They are free and the idea is that you buy a couple of drinks. We didn't use a pool.

In Chania, make sure to eat at the Portes restaurant. Wonderful food-- I had a different local vegetarian specialty each of 3 nights-- and my wife had yummy things with meat or seafood.

Feeding the fish small bits of bread in the old port at Chania is a lot of fun.

Minor downsides: The bathroom had no window and no fan. It appeared to not have been cleaned since the previous guests (the toilet smelled). Air conditioning is an extra charge of 1 euro per kilowatt-hour. We didn't really air conditioning, but it was frustrating because with the doors and windows open (for fresh or cool air), some mosquitos came in. I had to negotiate to get one of two towels replaced, after a 3-day stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inventiveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George T, Ιδιοκτήτης at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2015
We would like to thank you for your positive review and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I thought Niriis was a great hotel. Very nice location and friendly staff that is more then willing to help you with any matters. Recommended!//Mansoor

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xcape82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George T, Manager at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2015
Thank you for your time commenting!
Αt Niriis Hotel we aim to provide a quality stay at a low cost, and give information and tips to our guests that will make the have the best time in Chania and West Crete!
Best Regards and see you perhaps another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
0.9 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#19 of 108 in Chania Town
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunCity Hotel Studios
SunCity Hotel Studios
#29 of 108 in Chania Town
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#16 of 108 in Chania Town
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
642 reviews
2.1 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 108 in Chania Town
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niriis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niriis Hotel

Property: Niriis Hotel
Address: Herakleous Street, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Niriis Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niriis is a small family hotel, located 100m away from the sea, in Agii Apostoli area, 4km west of Chania. Within a walking distance, between one to two minutes (100m), there are three beaches, swimming pools, mini markets, restaurants, park, hotel bars, bus stop, taxi rank and a communal car parking. Niriis Hotel has 22 rooms. Every apartment is equipped with a kitchenette (fridge, two cooking hobs and cooking utensils), en-suite shower and toilet, TV, air-conditioning, safety box, phone, and has balcony, a minimum of two single beds, wardrobe, kitchen table and chairs. Most apartments have two beds, but there are 8 three-bed apartments, and two four-bed apartments with two separate rooms. Although Niriis Hotel has no swimming pool, residents can use the swimming pools of nearby hotels (the property has a special agreement). There is also no restaurant or bar in the hotel, but there is plenty of choice within the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Niriis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niriis Hotel Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing