We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Romantic paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romantic paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a marvelous room view, the food was delicious and the service impeccable. All these ingredients mixed together made the cocktail of a perfect vacation! A slight detail: the staff members didn't speak very well English.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank AgyDaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
5 March, 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.

Our team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments encourage us to perfect our services and exceed your expectations. All hotel's staff has obtained its experience in 4 and 5 star hotels in Greece and abroad and they all speak English (at least) on a conversational level; however I believe that it is understandable for one or two 20 year old trainees not to be on the same language level as the rest of the full time personel.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

I look forward to seeing you next year.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Warm Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    106
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
686
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

All the great things being said about this hotel really are true! Thank you to all the staff who made this or best holiday! The beach, location, rooms, surrounding scenery, food, swimming pools, bars, entertainment were all exceptional.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Nickneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.

The Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on perfecting our services in order to exceed your expectations.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”.
The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

I look forward to seeing you back soon.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool uk
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at the Atlantica at the end of the season ( we were the last guests!) and whilst the Hotel was only about 25% full the staff made us feel very welcome and the service and quality of the food was excellent .Would go back in a heartbeat and are looking forward to our next stay .Some tips :
* Don't bother with your own towels you get these every other day
* wi fi bit patchy but promised better next year but you have free internet access in lobby
* You get a free bottle of water in your room every day and tea and coffee making facilities
* use your fridge see found drinks expensive ( although wine in the restaurant wasn't and very good)so buy some drinks from local supermarket and keep in fridge

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of hotel as this seemed very slightly better than the refurbished par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank paulmaureenandmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.

The Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests; your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team to keep up the good work in order to achieve our ultimate goal: to exceed your expectations.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award 2013 which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,

Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just back from the Kalliston- we were the last group of guests to leave before the hotel closed for winter. The only sign that the hotel was closing was the reducing number of guests, seemed to be more staff than guests!
This hotel is a Thompson Couples hotel- great for those with a grown-up family.
The rooms are excellent with good sized bathrooms.
The wifi coverage is amazing- we were able to use our smartphones everywhere, even on the beach!
We were half board, and took up the option to have inclusive drinks (24€ pp per day). Pretty sure we were ahead of the game by the end(!).
The staff are very friendly and helpful, from the management to the room cleaners.
Thompson reps were in attendance at the hotel every day, which was a nice change from relying on their (UK based) telephone helpline. We booked an excursion to walk one of the gorges, but 12 hours ahead, they cancelled it. Reason?- not enough people had booked! Very disappointed with this attitude- they should have arranged a minibus and driver to take the half dozen guests to the gorge and pick them up later, rather than cancel at very short notice. Not impressed with Thompson.
The slight downside at the hotel was the evening entertainment- pretty much the same stuff every night. One performer was excellent, the other must have been told he was a good singer at some stage, but was thankfully swamped by his backing music. This was made worse by the lack of local places to wander to in the evenings, it was the hotel or a bus ride to Chania.
Overall an excellent holiday, and judging by the number of people on return visits, they're doing things very well. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.
The Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on working hard in order to exceed your expectations.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

I look forward to seeing you back soon.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 10 day holiday in this hotel from the 15th to the 25th of October. We travelled with Thompsons who were great, but the hotel staff were fabulous also. Nothing was too much trouble and we were upgraded to a ground floor swim up room which was the ultimate in luxury and relaxation. The food at this hotel is second to none and you can relieve your guilt by partaking in the yoga, pilates, body-stretch, tai chi and meditation classes along with a workout in the fully equipped gym. If you possibly needed anything at all it was just a phone call away to reception and your request was met within minutes. My husband and I found Manilos (I don't know if I've spelled his name correctly) particularly helpful and so kind and understanding. The town of Chania itself is absolutely wonderful with a bus running regularly right outside the hotel which only takes about 10 mins into town. The town has everything a cosmopolitan visitor would want. The other thing to avail of is the wonderful spa treatments at the hotel where the girls work their magic on mind and body. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone from old to young couples. The beach is also beautiful and you can have your feet nibbled for free by the little fish around the rocks. Don't forget to pay a visit to the little church on the hill to the right of the hotel which has lovely views. I could wax lyrical about this holiday for ever, but please just go and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but the ground floor swim up ones are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 82LAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.

The Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests; your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team to keep up the good work in order to achieve our ultimate goal: to exceed your expectations.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award 2013 which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 10 day All Inclusive holiday at this wonderful hotel. We had a first floor room which was enormous. Super-kingsize bed, settee, small table and chairs, should we choose to have room service and then a reasonable sized balcony with a sea view.

The gardens are well kept and the rooms spotless. It is on lots of different levels and finding your way around is a bit of a puzzle at first. Having said that, following a very pleasant welcome with a delicious cold drink and an icy cool towel to refresh us from the journey (the temperature was 27 degrees when we arrived), we were shown to our room by one of the very friendly ladies from reception. Shown how everything worked and invited to go for lunch, in the taverna style lunchtime restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble.

The reps from Thomson, Nita and the entertainment host Shanee were kind, helpful and informative.

There were, I understand, good Spa facilities which I did not use, and Al a carte restaurants, which again I did not use as the main buffet restaurant was so good. A tremendous range of foods available for both breakfast and dinner.

The hotel is straight onto the beach with masses of sunbeds both on the beach and the swimming poool areas. Towels for swimming can be changed each day. There are plenty of rooms with pools but I have to say that I could see no advantage and they certainly were not private. They all looked very nice though.

We celebrated an anniversary whilst we were there and we received a delicious cake and a bottle of wine along with an arrangement in the shape of a heart. All very nice and unexpected.

All the staff were friendly and helpful without exception. Local buses to Chania stop just outside the hotel and cost just 1.50 Euros each way. It is a lovely old city with oodles of charm.

I can't praise this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: We were in 612 which was quieter than some areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HighlandladySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.

The Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests; your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team to keep up the good work in order to achieve our ultimate goal: to exceed your expectations.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award 2013 which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

Thank you for your time and continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A beautiful hotel spoilt by shutting down while we are still here which has spoilt our holiday we dont want to be lying where we are told to we found a lovely pool area to find this morning with 4 days left of our holiday that the sunbeds and cushions have been taken away reason why the cats !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesleybaxterwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.

I understand your comments and slight frustration and I can assure you that no staff member of Atlantica Kalliston was informed to do so and if you felt that the hotel was in the closing process I apologize on behalf of everybody here at Kalliston; it was definitely not done intentionally. The whole team has been informed accordingly of the matter.

The Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests; your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team to keep up the good work in order to achieve our ultimate goal: to exceed your expectations.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award 2013 which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
2.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
80.7 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 180 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA

Property: SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA
Address: Glaros - Nea Kydonia, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece (Formerly Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#1 Green Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookCyprus so you can book your SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kalliston Hotel Agia Galini
Kalliston Nea Kydonia
Kalliston Hotel Nea Kydonia
SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa By ATLANTICA Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing