We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just As Good As Last Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Merseyside
Level Contributor
269 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Just As Good As Last Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Kalliston from 25.6 to 9.7.13 and enjoyed it so much we returned again staying from 10th to 24th September( so only now able to review our return visit). As on our earlier stay, everything was perfect from the moment of our arrival. The staff are exceptional and were genuinely happy to see us back. The weather was really good ( except 1 night we had a thunder storm! ), but a bit more breezy and cooler of an evening than our previous visit, which is only to be expected, but we were still able to use the pools - especially the fantastic Jacuzzi pool-as the temperature was very comfortable, and the sea itself was a lot warmer than earlier in the year. If anything, the food on offer both at breakfast and dinner was even more varied and plentiful and we were always spoiled for choice. There was always a good choice at lunch with everything you could want and there is always an a la carte . We again booked the all inclusive package and as part of that you are able to have a complimentary meal in both the Italian a la carte and the Greek a la carte. We did not take up the Greek meal as we found the food in the main restaurant so good we were quite happy with that, but we did eat in the Italian where the food was even better this time than last with a larger menu choice. The staff in all the restaurants are lovely, especially the Deputy Maitre, Amalina ( ? ) and Alexis who is always so pleasant and helpful. Other reviewers have criticised the all inclusive as not being totally all inclusive, with only certain drinks in the package, but we don`t find this a problem as the house wines are fine and there is a really good choice of cocktails which are in the package-- more than ample for us-- my wife likes her cocktails and even she said she was spoilt for choice! We, like another reviewer, have been to hotels in the Caribbean where every drink is included, but the difference is that these hotels have been advertised as all inclusive hotels. The Kalliston offers packages to suit everybody. We cannot write another review without mentioning the excellent staff, especially all the bar staff, in all the bars, particularly Stelios in the Lobby bar. Alkis and all his staff are brilliant, but, as we usually spend most of our nights on the bar stools in the lobby bar , we get to see how hard they work to serve all the cocktails etc to those enjoying the entertainment out on the Terrace. Talking of the entertainment, we really enjoy the 2 of Diamonds and think Cassie+Connor are both very talented. While we were there the Disco party night down at the Pool Bar was one of the best nights we have had on holiday, with people of all ages enjoying both the music and dancing. The local duo who usually sing down at the Aqua Bar are also very good, while the American singer Karen, while not to our particular taste is a very good singer. One night a week is Greek night with dancing etc, so we cannot understand those who say there is not enough variety in the entertainment. Mind you, in September, we were only able to have one night down at the Aqua Bar as it was too windy other times which was a shame as it is a beautiful setting. Another reviewer who stayed for just a week in September has said the average age of the guests in the hotel was 50, but , while we would say that the age group in September was generally on the older side than in June+July, there were still quite a large proportion of younger people particularly in our first week. Those we spoke to who had the Jacuzzis on their balconies did say they were quite cold but some did use them, but , again, earlier in the year they were warmer as the sun was on them for longer. To sum up, we had an absolutely fantastic holiday on both occasions and are already planning our return next summer. We would definitely recommend the Kalliston-- we can`t fault anything about it but it is undoubtedly the brilliant staff that make it what it is,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JourneymanMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, July 9, 2015
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Greece.
We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on perfecting our services in order to exceed your expectations.
In 2014 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Award and the TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston, have rated us at 97.5 in overall guest satisfaction. We currently hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.
We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.
I definitely look forward to seeing you next year.
Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    120
    28
    1
    2
See reviews for
59
776
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Returned a week ago from the Atlantica Kalliston and thought it was worth giving this hotel a review. We had booked to go to Egypt but decided against it and swapped to Crete which I must admit was a good move. When we arrived at the hotel we were met with a lovely cold drink not long after we were shown to our room which had been upgraded to an Executive Suite - we have never been upgraded on anything so my husband and I were really pleased. The room itself was comfortable clean and were in room 701 which overlooked the sea and the pools which was great we had a very large balcony and would sit there and just watch the world go by. We had been to Dubai earlier in the year and stayed at The One & Only on the Palm and knew that whichever hotel in whichever country we stayed in would never compare but was pleasantly surprised with the Kalliston. The only negative point for us is that the bathroom did seem dated and needed refurbishing. When we had a shower the water would run along the side of the screen straight onto the floor. Also the bath seemed quite high to get out of onto the floor which was fine for us but we had noticed that nearly 85% of the residents were definitely over 70!! which may cause a problem for them. Saying that because this was a couples hotel it was really quiet with four pools so there was always a bed to be found. You were not able to put a towel down before 9.30 and if you did the management would take it away which I think is a great idea and should be put into practice for all hotels. The highlight of this holiday for us at this hotel was the amazing food. We were half board and the breakfast and evening meal was absolutely fantastic the chef needs to be complimented on this. The only gripe we had was that we didn't mind paying for beers wine etc but felt if we had a coke or lemonade we still had to pay for this also water which I find really bad. If they sorted this out this would be a wonderful. We had a small meal for lunch once at the pool bar and also at the bar by the swim up pool and these were very good too. All in all I would recommend this holiday for couples but if you are under 50 maybe this would not be for you as there are no water sports etc. We did travel into Chania by bus and found this to be great. A beautiful little harbour with lots of shops and restaurants. A tip is don't eat on the harbour go into the little back streets the food is delicious and half the price.

I hope this review is helpful and if you are thinking of going to Crete don't think do it!!

Room Tip: 701 as I said is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shirmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, July 9, 2015
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to post your review regarding your visit to Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa.

With great pleasure we noted that you had an enjoyable stay and that all the facilities and services delivered, were up to your expectations. Your positive, rewarding input has been shared with my team and is highly appreciated.

In 2014 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Award and the TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston, have rated us at 97.5 in overall guest satisfaction. We currently hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.

Once again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to accommodate you here and contributing to a memorable stay.

Kind regards

Dimitris Perrakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We came to Crete in May this year and stayed at the Elounda Village, also part of Thomson's Couples holidays, so comparing the two really. I emailed the hotel and asked for a jacuzzi room. We got one and it is massive with the largest balcony I have ever encountered (room 344). Only problem is that 1. It backs onto the noisy main road 2. There is no privacy whatsoever and 3. The jacuzzi is freezing. However, I did manage to bear the temperature today the neighbours got intrigued and were testing the temperature of their jacuzzis thinking they had suddenly been heated. Nope, I had to try. Once in and used to the temperature it isn't actually that bad. Anyway, the food and service is fantastic and on par with the Elounda Village. It has a beach which is wonderful whereas the Elounda does not. The setting for the Elounda Village outweighs the Kalliston though by far. Overall, this is a fantastic hotel and if you fancy going then definitely ask for a sea view with balcony and then Email the hotel and say you want one nearest the beach. The non sea view rooms have a balcony facing the road and it isn't the most picturesque view either! Would we go again? Yes, without doubt.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank s2687w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, July 9, 2015
Dear Guest

At Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, we strive to make every guest’s stay, a unique one. We appreciate the time you took to write a review about our hotel. As a management team we are pleased to receive comments on guests stay that have created memorable moments.

In 2014 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Award and the TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston, have rated us at 97.5 in overall guest satisfaction. We currently hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit in Greece for a longer stay this time!

Kind regards

Dimitris Perrakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from spending a superb 14 night holiday here. Everything was really great from the champagne on arrival ,the upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi on the balcony, champagne , fruit and pastries in the room(338)
The staff were friendly and attentive, the food at breakfast and in the evening was excellent with plenty of choice and with speciality nights as well. Stelios at the swim up bar deserves a special mention for his friendly service and wicked cocktails. The entertainment was good and the Thomson team again were superb.
Being a couples only hotel it was quiet and relaxing.
The management team were in evidence from morning till night making certain everything ran like clockwork.
This somewhere we will definitely return to and have a swim up room facing the poolbar

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, July 9, 2015
Dear Michael,

Thank you for your positive review and feedback which gives us strength to work harder; we all really appreciate your nice words. It was great to have you here at the Kalliston and we hope to see you soon.
In 2014 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Award and the TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston, have rated us at 97.5 in overall guest satisfaction. We currently hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.
It will be great to have you back with us in the near future.
Thank you for your time and support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent a week at the Atlantica Kalliston from 3rd September for our honeymoon and had the most amazing time. The food was perfect in all restaurants, always fresh and tasty. The starter at the Greek restaurant was a surprise with around 15 different dishes for four of us! We had a swim-up sea-view room with was luxurious, the bed was huge and soooooo comfy! All of the staff were helpful and friendly - especially the lovely Elena! The beach was clean and the waiters made sure you never went thirsty ;-) I can't recommend this hotel enough it was just perfection!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hevanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, February 1, 2016
February, 2016

Dear Esteemed Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the world. We are already looking into the issues you brought up.
We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on perfecting our services in order to exceed your expectations.
At this point I would like to brief you on our recent achievements; The Kalliston was awarded as the BEST Adults Only hotel in the world in 2015 from all guests of TUI Nordic and UK. This gave us the “Gold Award” in Overall Accommodation. This is the highest award among 55 adults’ only hotels from all over the world. Since July 2015, we also hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.
I definitely look forward to seeing you again next year.
Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned from Kalliston Spa Hotel, had a lovely holiday.
Food was the best that we have had at a hotel, we ate at the Italian one evening which was again lovely food and roof top location.
Waiter service was exceptional, particularly Andreas and Maria. If Andreas was on waiter service on the beach during the day he would go out of his way to provide excellent service, strawberry milkshake were our day time favourite.
The sea was the warmest I have ever been in and so lovely and clear. Lunch time food at the Taverna was good with wine, water or beers available however I did find the food a bit the same every day, not much variation, evening food in main restaurant though was exceptional.
Entertainment was low key with resident duo The two of Diamonds, I did enjoy the music though especially down on the beach, Greek dancing was also good.
In the day on 2 occasions we caught local bus to Chania for 2 euro each way, we took ride on horse and cart and a drink at harbour side bars.

We had a Junior suite, free upgrade room overlooking the beach.

The staff and management at the hotel were all introduced to us on the last evening followed by firework display on the beach, all in all a lovely holiday relaxing on the beach or by the pool each day with excellent service by the staff, I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Email hotel hotel to request free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, February 1, 2016
February, 2016

Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the world. We are already looking into the issues you brought up.

We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on perfecting our services in order to exceed your expectations.

At this point I would like to brief you on our recent achievements; The Kalliston was awarded as the BEST Adults Only hotel in the world in 2015 from all guests of TUI Nordic and UK. This gave us the “Gold Award” in Overall Accommodation. This is the highest award among 55 adults’ only hotels from all over the world. Since July 2015, we also hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.

I definitely look forward to seeing you back with us soon.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,

Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just returned from a second wondeful two week stay at the Kalliston. We were there also in May. The service is excellent in both the restaurants and the bars. We never had to wait long for drinks even when the hotel was full. The quality and choices of food in the main buffet was amazing. We chose this time to have half board with the drinks package which was good value as we got two days for free. It meant we could have as many drinks as we wanted, including cocktails, wines and spirits and there is a lot of choice.

The hotel has a sun-beds policy, which they do adhere to. Any towels on sun-beds will be removed after 9.30am if the sun-beds are not occupied. It works really well which means that there are plenty of sunbeds for everyone around the pool and especially on the beach.

The entertainment was, as expected, low key, but very good. Two of Diamonds (aka Cassie and Connor) are very talented singers and provided different types of music each time they played. There was also a Greek Night with local musicians and dancers and another duo who played and sang very well. It is not the kind of hotel that has shows or nightclubs or noise. It is for a more relaxing time although there is opportunity for dancing.

There was a good mixed age group not at all mostly over 50. Everyone we spoke to was having a wonderful time.

The rooms are lovely. We had a jacuzzi room which was very spacious and we used the jacuzzi several times, as did our neighbours. The pools are lovely and although not heated were not cold and I did a lot of swimming since the weather was so good. The sea was lovely.

The Kalliston is a hotel of quality, and we have travelled a great deal, and is one of the best we have stayed in. The staff are friendly yet respectfull.

Just a few special thanks to Stelios in the Aqua Bar, Andrey, Maria and all the other bar staff.

We look forward to returning next season.

We had an excursion on the 'Fun Train' (Pleasures of Crete) which we can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Sea views are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JamieLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, February 1, 2016
February, 2016

Dear Esteemed Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the world. We are already looking into the issues you brought up.
We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on perfecting our services in order to exceed your expectations.
At this point I would like to brief you on our recent achievements; The Kalliston was awarded as the BEST Adults Only hotel in the world in 2015 from all guests of TUI Nordic and UK. This gave us the “Gold Award” in Overall Accommodation. This is the highest award among 55 adults’ only hotels from all over the world. Since July 2015, we also hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.
I definitely look forward to seeing you again next year.
Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
2.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
33.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corinna Mare Studios & Suites
Corinna Mare Studios & Suites
#9 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA

Property: SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA
Address: Glaros - Nea Kydonia, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece (Formerly Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#1 Green Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kalliston Hotel Agia Galini
Kalliston Nea Kydonia
Kalliston Hotel Nea Kydonia
SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa By ATLANTICA Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing