We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TUI SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ammos Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yakinthos Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Domes Noruz Chania(Kato Daratso)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Telhinia Studios(Agii Apostoli)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Helios Apartments(Agii Apostoli)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,292)
Filter reviews
1,292 results
Traveler rating
1,096
153
35
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,096
153
35
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up roomlobby barhalf boardmain restaurantmanagement teamgreek restauranta la carte restaurantsevening entertainmentsea viewwine cellaraqua barall inclusive packagefabulous hotelgala nightthe general managerlow keyroom number
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
842 - 847 of 1,292 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My partner and I and some friends stayed at this hotel for a week 30/08 - 06/09 after we had seen it couple of years when we were in Crete (it was Grecotel chain at that point). We really wished we had stayed for two weeks, it was perfection!!

We have stayed in some amazing hotels around the world so my expectations are normally very high and this hotel most definitely did NOT disappoint! From the minute we stepped off the transfer coach we were spoilt rotten. Check in form was completed on the coach and the rep handed straight into reception. we were told not to worry about luggage, the bell boys would collect whilst we were given ice cold drinks and cold towels to cool off whilst our luggage was taken to our rooms. we were then personally escorted to our rooms by concierge and made sure that everything was to our satisfaction.

***we were half board but would high recommend upgrading to the drink package. it was about €280 for the week for both of us and that included all drinks...you would defintelt get your monies worth as the drink individually are quite expensive i.e €6 for fruit juice****

Rooms were just right. such a comfortable bed, plenty of space and electric blinds controlled by the button on the headboard. plenty of wardrobe space with free electronic safe. flat screen tv and a DECENT vidal sassoon hair dryer (big bonus for the women!haha)

Pool and beach area....spotlessly clean and comfortable (especially the sunbeds) plenty to go round so no need to reserve in the morning. Good job as that situation is policed by pool boys. we always sat round by the swim up pool bar pool. Stelios the bar tender was a legend. remembered our room numbers and what drinks we tend to order at certain times of the day.
Beach is on a quiet bay so water is clear and calm...there was only one day the life guards upped it to a red flag as it was windy and choppy.

Restaurants.....oh my gosh the food was AMAZING! So much choice and all freshly cooked (no pizza and chips kind of dishes) The waiters and waitresses are so professional but so friendly at the same time. They won't even let you pour your own drinks out. they are there doing it before you even think about picking the bottle up. We very rarely had lunch as breakfast filled us up for a long time.

Entertainment is good too....duo musical group 2 of diamonds provide an array of music genres (previous reviews who said they are rubbish and boring need their ears checked) Perfect laid back music that fits the ambiance of the hotel just right. Outside entertainment is provided some nights too.

Admittedly there isn't a great deal of things to do immediately outside of the hotel however Chania harbour is about a 45 mins walk away of 5 mins in taxi costing about €8 each way. The harbour is just gorgeous with so many restaurants to chose from, from big vibrant restaurants to the quaint traditional restaurants in the back lanes. Loads of shops too.

We were really lucky with finding such a good deal for this holiday through Thomson so if anyone is considering it....just book it.. you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: email the hotel before you go asking for a room away from the main road. It can sometimes be very busy so may be noisy. we did this about 2 months before we went and we were not on the road side. Don;t bother with complete all inclusive. if you are half board you can swap a dinner for lunch free of charge and then just upgrade to drinks package. Definitely cost effective.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Littleshelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at TUI SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

February, 2016

Dear Esteemed Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the world. We are already looking into the issues you brought up.
We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on perfecting our services in order to exceed your expectations.
At this point I would like to brief you on our recent achievements; The Kalliston was awarded as the BEST Adults Only hotel in the world in 2015 from all guests of TUI Nordic and UK. This gave us the “Gold Award” in Overall Accommodation. This is the highest award among 55 adults’ only hotels from all over the world. Since July 2015, we also hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.
I definitely look forward to seeing you again next year.
Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel one week in August and we can agree with all the positive reviews. We had booked a swim-up double room and got a room by the L-shaped pool, which I think are premium rooms. The room was nice furnitured and the bathroom was very nice (and large) with bubble-bathtub and seperate shower. The room was a swim-up room, so we had a
terrace with sofa, which had shade from the morning and untill late afternoon, and right on the other side of the pool, we had our own private sunbeds, but not more private than people are walking around in the area and you are just beside your neighbours, but when we were there only 2-3 pairs out of 12 used the private sunbeds so we had the area almost all alone.

We were just at few steps from the very nice beach where we always could get a sunbed (free of charge). There are no problem at this hotel with towels places on sunbeds to reserve them.

We were All-Inclusive, and even though it is a little expensive we really enjoyed it. Prices in the pool-bar and lobby-bar are VERY high (3,20 EUR for a cola...) and the same in the mini-market which we found extremely expensive. We walked just 400 meters to the left from the hotel, and found a very cheap penny market. The breakfeast in the main buffet restaurant was very nice with a wide selection of different hot and cold dishes. The hot yoghurt pie was so delicius ! The bread was better than what we would expect in Greece. Every morning there was a cook making fresh smooties, but a little disapointing that is was the same smoothie every day.
As we were All-inclusive we had lunch at the greek taverne every day - and also here the food was very delicius and a lot to choose from.
For dinner we went to different places at the hotel, as we were all-inclusive we were offered a free dinner at the greek restaurant and the Italian Restaurant and we were offered 20% discount at the wine cellar gourmet restaurant. The greek restaurant was fine but nothing special compared to the main buffet restaurant. At the italian we had pizza, but also here it was nothing special but not bad and prices reasonable if you are not all inclusive. The surroundings and view in both restaurants were nice, overlooking the sea. The winecellar was much better and the food was very nice quality and the prices reasonable. The only "bad" thing was that we had to pay for water and cola even though we were all inclusive and it was the same cola and water as in the buffet restaurant.
The main buffet was the best buffet we have ever tried at an all inclusive hotel. We really enjoyed all the different delicius salads. The redwine in the AI-pack was not that good and very thin.

We also visited the SPA to have massage and it was really nice and nice professional staff.

The staff were always very nice and very hard working. The first day we complained about that our TV was not working and when we came back a moment later it was fixed, and when arriving and leaving our luggage were brought to our room very fast.

All in all a fantastic stay, so far the best all inclusive hotel we have stayed in (and also the most expensive). The focus is adults / pairs (no kids can stay here) and we really enjoyed that the buffet food not only was chicken and pommes frites. If you like luxary, nice food and just relaxing in calm surroundings, this is the hotel to visit.

Room Tip: We had a swim-up room but not many used the private sunbeds and you can always have a sunbed by the main pool. The rooms facing the main road looked very "cheap" (from outside) compared to the rest of the hotel. Some swim-up rooms (in the new building) are with a matress on the teracce and no sunbeds. The private suites looked very nice :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bmn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at TUI SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

February, 2016

Dear Esteemed Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the world. We are already looking into the issues you brought up.
We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on perfecting our services in order to exceed your expectations.
At this point I would like to brief you on our recent achievements; The Kalliston was awarded as the BEST Adults Only hotel in the world in 2015 from all guests of TUI Nordic and UK. This gave us the “Gold Award” in Overall Accommodation. This is the highest award among 55 adults’ only hotels from all over the world. Since July 2015, we also hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.
I definitely look forward to seeing you again next year.
Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Kalliston (31/08/13 - 06/09/13). 1 regret is that we didn't book 2 weeks!!

All I can say is that this was a fantastic hotel. We have been to many 5 star hotels and this one is definitely one of the best if not the best that we have been too. The hotel is an adults only complex and it should be noted that it is a low-key quiet hotel which is specifically aimed to provide a 'couples ambiance'.

We had a standard room which was very modern, spacious and clean. Flat screen TV, electric button operated blinds/curtains, a large balcony and the bathroom was effectively a wet room. The air conditioning was quiet and powerful which made our stay very pleasant when it is 25-30 degrees outside in the evenings alone!

HOTEL GROUNDS:

Extremely well maintained. Gardens/flowers were very nice and well kept, pools were clean and well maintained. The hotel is directly located on the beach which is a very nice little bay. Lots of space, and lots of sunbeds. We didn't struggle to get a sunbed at all.

FOOD:

1 main buffet restaurant, 4 al a carte restaurants. These were fantastic and we definitely put on a few pounds!!The location of the restaurants is superb with views outside across the beach/sea to watch the sunset. You cant go hungry in this hotel!! The quality of the food was of very high quality, providing proper high class dishes as opposed to Chips and other junk food. There was a choice of 4/5 meats every night, 2 different types of fish, pasta, rices,potatoes, vegetables, traditional Greek dishes, salads, fruits, cheeses, yoghurts... pretty much everything!

A massive plus was the fact that they coffee was excellent aswell as opposed to cheap instant rubbish.

ENTERTAINMENT:

Low key entertainment consisting of 2 singers most nights (two of diamonds) who we thought were very good. Some comments on here regarding the 'low key' atmosphere but personally I would say that it was of a sophisticated nature as opposed to a 'loutish' behavior.

Other forms of entertainment were a few singing acts who were brought in from outside of the hotel, plus another act who performed traditional Greek dancing/singing.

Two of the nights the hotel laid on a Champagne reception with fireworks. This was a lovely touch and whilst this was on-going the two of Diamonds provided the entertainment.

The entertainment is low key, but for us it was fine as we are more than happy to sit down after a meal and have a drink and chat with some low key entertainment/music.

SERVICE:
Again, brilliant. The staff could not do enough for you and were so friendly. 2 stand-out members of staff were Stelios (swim up pool bar) and Maria.

Service was swift, efficient and friendly. There was an element of class aswell with staff practicing the professional ways of delivering drinks, food etc. Pool food and drink service directly to your sun lounger was provided along with a swim up pool bar or the option to sit at the other pool bar to eat/drink. You could of course use the buffet too.

As with other guests, on arrival check-in was smooth and effortless. We filled out the form on the coach which allowed for us to be greeted with a cool drink along with a cold towel. We were then immediately escorted to our room by a member of staff who explained the hotel services, showed us around our room and ensured that we were happy. By the time we had arrived at our room our bags had already been dropped off by the bellboys,

AROUND THE AREA:

Outside of the hotel is a fairly quiet, Some small shops but to have any real 'tourist entertainment' I would suggest taking the bus or a taxi to Chania harbor which is a 5 minute taxi ride away (cost EUR7/8). The harbor area is full of shops, bars, restaurants and is lovely.

To walk to Chania is around 45/50 minutes.

TOP TIPS:

Email the hotel to request a room away from the road, we did this and they replied confirming that they will meet our request. This road is not that busy and we couldnt hear any noise. However, I would imagine that you may be able to hear some if you have a balcony overlooking the road,

Don't book all inclusive. Book Half Board, you can have breakfast and lunch or breakfast and dinner. Upgrade to 'Drinks only package' when you arrive and you will have all drinks for free inclusive plus the half board. This was EUR 280 for the week for both of us (2 persons).

LASTLY.... don't hesitate, just book! You cannot possibly be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Adman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at TUI SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

February, 2016

Dear Esteemed Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the world. We are already looking into the issues you brought up.
We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on perfecting our services in order to exceed your expectations.
At this point I would like to brief you on our recent achievements; The Kalliston was awarded as the BEST Adults Only hotel in the world in 2015 from all guests of TUI Nordic and UK. This gave us the “Gold Award” in Overall Accommodation. This is the highest award among 55 adults’ only hotels from all over the world. Since July 2015, we also hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.
I definitely look forward to seeing you again next year.
Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just returned following a very enjoyable and relaxing one week stay at the Kalliston. Having booked a Junior Suite with sea view and all inclusive, we were fortunate to have discovered on arrival that the room had been upgraded to an Executive Suite (rm 701) which was very nice and with more than enough room for us. Ok, some things were perhaps slightly tired looking but overall, we were happy. Some of the rooms within the hotel are newer and I would have been interested to see how nice these were by comparison. Our room did have a fabulous view out to sea and of the hotel grounds.

Staff at the hotel are more than helpful and very friendly. We were permitted two a la carte visits with one being to the Italian and the other, Greek. We visited both and the standard of food was absolutely excellent. Of particular mention has to be the Greek which is an experience not to be forgotten. Brilliant. The general restaurants are very good with food well cooked and we were usually able to find at least something which we liked.

Drinks at the hotel are ok. Whilst I did drink the beer, I thought that it had a very hoppy/sour taste. Wine (rose) was nice however, cocktails were limited in terms of choice for all inclusive guests. Personally, I feel that all non branded drinks should be made available under the all inclusive option.

We were slightly apprehensive about the active hotel sunbed policy of not placing towels on a morning in order to bag the best spots (seeming aimed primarily around pool areas). This did however, work well and beds were generally plentiful and some of the pressure of having to rise early was removed. We sunbathed at the beach every day however, there were still a few, albeit a minority, who arrogantly felt it their place to reserve beds and then not turn up until around 10am so perhaps the hotel do need to keep an eye on this location also. The beach was absolutely stunning and the water clear and warm which was a welcome addition aiding our relaxation.

Entertainment was very low key and possibly too much so. Unlike the Atlantica in Rhodes there is no stage area and so, specific acts may prove difficult unless the hotel overhaul the beach bar area or such like. From what we did see however, the resident duo of Two of Diamonds were good.

We have stayed at a number of Atlantica Hotels including Porto Bello in Kos, a number of visits to Imperial in Rhodes and Limassol. In time, I think that Atlantica will only enhance the Kalliston further and it is undoubtedly a hotel which I would recommend to those looking for a peaceful and relaxing break. We really enjoyed our visit and may return again at some point in the future. Thanks to all at the hotel for making our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Definitely add the sea view option.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrkgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Διευθυντής at TUI SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

February, 2016

Dear Esteemed Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the world. We are already looking into the issues you brought up.
We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on perfecting our services in order to exceed your expectations.
At this point I would like to brief you on our recent achievements; The Kalliston was awarded as the BEST Adults Only hotel in the world in 2015 from all guests of TUI Nordic and UK. This gave us the “Gold Award” in Overall Accommodation. This is the highest award among 55 adults’ only hotels from all over the world. Since July 2015, we also hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.
I definitely look forward to seeing you again next year.
Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just returned ( 6-9-2013) from a weeks all inclusive stay at the Atlantica Kalliston, which being couples only hotel really suited us.
The welcome we received on arrival was a nice end to our travels, a refreshing drink and a cold towel were just what was needed.
Having completed the check in form on the coach transfer, our check in at the hotel was effortless, and it was a nice touch to be escorted to our room by a member of staff who explained the facilities available as we went.
Due to airline delays, we arrived about 4 pm, and the only downside was the very limited food available (only either a baguette or a dessert) which was very disappointing.
However this was a minor hiccup, and the food quality and selection was excellent and certainly did not disappoint for the rest of our stay. All of the staff were very courteous, efficient and helpful, and made sure our holiday was enjoyable.
We had a junior suite with a sea view, which was spacious, well appointed and maintained. The entertainment, though by some could be considered low key, was both varied and very good.
Plenty of pools, and there were no problems with sun beds, we always found two no matter what time of day we went to the pool.
On leaving, it was a nice touch by the hotel to make sure we were given water to take with us on our journey.
Would certainly recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TonyM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Διευθυντής at TUI SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

February, 2016

Dear Esteemed Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the world. We are already looking into the issues you brought up.
We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on perfecting our services in order to exceed your expectations.
At this point I would like to brief you on our recent achievements; The Kalliston was awarded as the BEST Adults Only hotel in the world in 2015 from all guests of TUI Nordic and UK. This gave us the “Gold Award” in Overall Accommodation. This is the highest award among 55 adults’ only hotels from all over the world. Since July 2015, we also hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.
I definitely look forward to seeing you again next year.
Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews