We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent small hotel with that extra personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yakinthos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yakinthos Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent small hotel with that extra personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

Stayed at end of season in October so hotel very quiet but no drop in standards of service. Small but adequate room with all necessary facilities kept spotless by staff. Lovely breakfast with good range of foods available. All staff very helpful and friendly. Plenty of restaurants/tavernas within a leisurely stroll as were the local beaches. An ideal relaxing break.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    104
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
71
174
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

We have stayed in Yakinthos hotel , Chania for 7 nights starting from end of August until first days of September.
The room we had was in a perfect condition, comfortable beds and enough room for our clothes and stuff. There was a small fridge inside, television set and an air-condition, all fully functional.
Everything was very clear in contrary with some other hotels and rooms we have stayed in the past. I enjoyed most the bath which was very clean and practical.
There was a big enough pool where we could relax and if we wanted to go to the sea, we could just walk for no more than a couple of minutes which made it ideal for us.
The breakfast was more than rich, having fresh orange juice every morning and a variety of foods like yogurt, honey, toasts, eggs, a lot of fruits and some traditional cretan foods like "ntakos" which was a big surprise for me.
Near by there were some taverns where you could have something to eat, especially Gerasimos a couple of steps away.
The location is very convenient because you can easily visit the old and the new town of Chania and you can start from there if you want to explore the big beaches at the West(i bet you do) and the villages near by.
Overall the service from the hotel stuff was very good , providing us with tips and whatever we asked.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandros27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the yakinthos hotel.
the room was a good size for 2 adults and a 4 year old. the breakfast had a great choice of food and the best feta i've ever eaten!!!
the pool and surrounding area was very clean and the beach just 5 mins walk away.
the most important factor though was the cleanliness of the room. as you'd expect cleaned everyday but thoroughly cleaned with floors washed and more clean towels than you'd ever need. at one point we had 10 bath towels for 3 of us!!!!
the only down side is location as you have a 15 min travel to central chania but the bus is very reasonable and fairly regular and even taxis not out of reach on the average budget.
a definite recommendation!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margatemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

Overall, Yakinthos is a nice, small and quiet hotel, only 4 km away from Chania. The beach is about 100 meters from the hotel, sandy and very warm. Another advantage was the free parking space, just outside the hotel!

The only downside was the beds. They were too hard, making sleep incomfortable! Be aware!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed at the Yakinthos for 7 nights and was satisfied in all respects. Welcoming and well located for sandy beach, eating places and frequent buses east to nearby Chania or west along coast road. B & B only but breakfast excellent. Good room, clean and regularly serviced. Free internet. Conventional pool well maintained. Altogether a small and friendly hotel, recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob4110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

good value for money,lovely and clean ,nice pool area, well maintained. nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff,lovely hotel owner who gave us a lift to Chania town so we didn't have to wait for the bus,marie who worked on reception,cooked breakfast,cleaned rooms and spoke great english never stopped, she was like a tornadeo and was so cheerful and always smiling.Average guest age 40-60yrs dutch german english .I would really recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday as it was quiet with not too many rooms.We had a room at the rear and experienced no disturbances what so ever.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spadgenorthyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

My husband and i and two friends stayed here in august the hotel itself was basic with very nice clean rooms the only down side was we were all stuck right at the rear of the hotel on the ground floor with no balcony we were the only two english couples in the whole hotel we were told by the rep as it was august all the rooms with balconys were booked by greeks and they seemed to come first always loads of sunbeds round the pool as we were the only couples there most of the time breakfast was ok staff were ok but not very friendly or helpful the beach was just down the road again very nice but no english people the restaurants were ok but the greeks running them apart from one or two did not like the english we went to chania most evenings but that was an eye opener too as you had to get a bus and again the busdrivers were totally unfriendly chania itself was ok plenty of places to eat when you found the harbour. Overall we were very disappointed with crete and the unfriendly people will not be going to the country or hotel again.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — very unfriendly
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dubonnet59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
0.6 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#17 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yakinthos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yakinthos Hotel

Property: Yakinthos Hotel
Address: 1 Irakli Avgoula, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#4 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yakinthos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHANIA HOTEL YAKINTHOS Near city and only 50 m. from the clearest sandy beach of Agii Apostoli. Yakinthos is very good solution for those people who want to enjoy their stay away from the crowds but still very close to all sights of interest and the resort hot spots of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yakinthos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yakinthos Hotel Chania
Yakinthos Hotel Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing