We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yakinthos Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Veronica Hotel(Agii Apostoli)(Great Value!)
$113
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athina Beach Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
$56
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Helios Apartments(Agii Apostoli)
$72
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sorta Apartments(Agii Apostoli)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Bay(Agii Apostoli)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Flamingos(Agii Apostoli)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calypso Apartments(Agii Apostoli)(Great Value!)
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
211
118
26
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
118
26
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh orange juicechania townair conthe busrecommend this hotelsmall and friendly hotelshop next doorlovely hotelshort walkevery other daybed and breakfastsandy beachturn rightblue seabalcony overlooking the poolchoice of restaurantsvery pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 360 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Just spent two superb weeks here,excellent rooms and a breakfast that has to be seen to be believed. Niki, Maria and the rest of the staff were very friendly making sure we enjoyed our visit especially in the evenings when Maria and Niki would bring nibbles with our methos. Would visit again no problem

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

What a fantastic little hotel the staff could not do enough for you, the rooms were spotless clean. The breakfast was a buffet with lots to choose from hot and cold the best choice we have ever had. The pool was lovely with plenty of shade (it was 43 a couple of days we were there).Maria is lovely girl always pleasant and smiling.There is free Wifi and computer in reception to use. There are plenty of places to eat we tried the one next to hotel name is in greek Ouzion think it means Olive good home cooked food the Moussaka was the best I have had. We also ate at Ozon, Sirroccos overlooking the beach lovely sunset from here and great Chocolate pudding ,& Flamingo,all good meals our favourite was the Italian Nesaki up the road in Kalamaki great seafood. another favourite was hotel Talos the food here was great some of the best we have had in Greece.
The same as previous report we went on Iguana beach lovely little beach with bar, toilets,first aid tent & lifeguard the loos are worth a visit all trimmed up inside. All the beaches have great sand and shallow water.We went on the little train twice once to Grand Canyon and also The Pleasures of Crete 2 great trips. we did the hop on hop off bus trip round Chania didn't stop many times for you to hop off but worth the ride to see parts of Chania you would never see. We had a great holiday and would love to go back someday.

Room Tip: quiet rooms at back of hotel or overlooking pool
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarleneStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just returned from two weeks at this hotel. What a lovely place it is! It is extremely clean and fresh (something not always available in Greece). The bedroom was spotless and the bed crisp, clean and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast offers something for everyone - again more than the usual marble cake and eggs we have previously encountered! Try the warm rice pudding - not usual for breakfast admittedly, but absolutely scrummy!
The staff are very polite and helpful, although it was sometimes difficult to get lunch or drinks at the poolside bar as it was, more often than not, unmanned. That said, the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The temperatures were abnormally high for June - got to 43 degrees at one point - so the air conditioning was a welcome relief. Not noisy either. A very comfortable room.
The pool is also kept clean and there are comfortable sunbeds. You can always find an available one, no matter what time you arrive at the poolside.
It is also only a short walk down to the beaches with lots of excellent tavernas. Although the cost of a sunbed on Iguana Beach is a little higher than the other beaches, it is well worth it. The beach is clean and well managed - it calls itself the "ethnik beach" - easy to see why. We would highly recommend - Piato's, Talos and the Italian, Nesaki - facing Bamboo Bar. Had the best ever Arrabiatta there!
A trip into Chania is a must - it is gorgeous! Go in the evening to see it lit up - amazing. Also try the Italian restaurant up the side street - Veneto. A really lovely meal served by a really nice chap with a pony tail who doesn't play the saxophone! Again, excellent food.
Regarding trips, have a look at the trips offered by the train station (the little road train) situated by Iguana beach. Went to the Grand Canyon on this little train and it was really good - though a bit of a bone shaker.
All-in-all we had a fab holiday here at the Yakinthos Hotel and would highly recommend it. Just one thing to be aware of, it is situated on quite a busy road.
Definitely a good find!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will be noisy due to the traffic on the road.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank wapper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have just returned from a most wonderful two weeks holiday in Crete helped in every way by our stay at the Yakinthos Hotel. What a gem of a place! Greeted with orange juice we were quickly checked in and shown to our room which overlooked the pool.The room wasn't luxurious but had everything we needed. A proper hairdryer for a change too instead of one of those silly things attached to a wall in the bathroom! We found it was too hot to sit on our balcony on a morning but by midday the sun had moved round and it was a joy to sit out there, sometimes eating lunch, sometimes just taking in the peace and quiet that oozed from the hotel and always having a chilled glass of wine there before venturing out for our evening meal. I can echo Mick and Sue's comments (who we met - hi there!). The staff were the best we've ever come across in a hotel, breakfast was the best we've ever encountered in a Greek hotel of this standard and our holiday was one of the best sun/sea holidays we've ever had. It was lovely to sit on one of the very nice sunloungers in the shade of the magnificent bouganvillia in an afternoon.
Being on B&B gave us chance to sample the many local restaurants and tavernas around the area. Piato was definitely our favourite followed closely by 'the restaurant next door' (whose name was in Greek). We also walked down to Kalamarki on a couple of occasions with restaurants right by the sea. There were plenty of others too further towards the sea.
Chania is a short bus ride away. Tickets are 1 euro 50 which you can get from reception, or failing that from the supermarket next door. A beautiful city and worth a few trips and an evening meal in the back streets of the old town.
The hop on/hop off bus is definitely worth doing as it takes you outside the centre of Chania out to Souda Bay.
We also went on one of the little road trains which pass the hotel. There are a number of trips to do on these. We did 'Southern Comfort' which took us along the coast to Maleme and the German war cemetery and then up into the hills. We arrived back four hours later! Well worth 17 euros.
Just a word of warning. Most places want payment by cash, including the hotel. We'd put drinks , safe etc on the bill to pay at the end but they still wanted cash. It wasn't a problem for us but best to know.
The free wifi was brilliant but having the free use of a computer is certainly unknown to us. Just another sign of a fantastic hotel.
Will we go back? Definitely! We rarely go back to the same place twice (lots to see in this world) but I think we'll be making an exception in this case! can't wait! Thank you! Elaine and John :)

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool or at least at the back of the hotel away from the main road would be better.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We recently returned from Crete,after a week at Hotel Yakinthos and can honestly say,we definitely picked the best one.
The hotel itself is lovely,very clean,well maintained with great,great staff.Very functional good size rooms with bathroom,aircon,fridge,safe,free WiFi and free use of computer in a lobby next to reception.Every morning, fantastic breakfast buffet with freshly squeezed orange juice.Very clean good size pool and beach is right on the doorstep.All in all,a great place to chill and relax in the hot sun.I would recommend hotel Yakinthos to anyone and we will return soon.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ljubisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews