We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yakinthos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yakinthos Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Manchetser
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Yakinthos Hotel for 1 week after booking a package deal with Thomsons.

The hotel was great value for money, providing excellent service. The rooms are fairly basic, but fine for a 3 star hotel & spotlessly clean. The maid service was very good & our room and balcony area were cleaned to a high standard daily. The only issue we had was that we had twin beds that couldn't be joined together and we would have preferred a double bed but for 1 week this was fine.

The pool area is lovely with plenty of sunbeds & a bar offering drinks, snacks and ice creams. We had a room with a balacony overlooking the pool which was lovely.

The hotel's location was excellent -a 1 min walk to the beach, 3 min walk to a mini market & bakery and there was a bus stop located opposite the hotel with regular buses into Chania. The number 15 bus is the quickest -taking 10 mins whereas the number 21 takes about 25 mins.

The best thing about the hotel is the staff and the friendly service that they provide. They were always very polite and helpful, especially Maria and the other lady who works on reception. They welcomed us with fresh orange juice when we arrived and would offer fresh watermelon each morning by the pool.

Overall we would recommend this hotel for people looking for a small, friendly & clean hotel within easy reach of Chania.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrrh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    104
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
71
174
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I booked independently with three friends to stay for 11 nights at the Yakinthos in mid-June. The excellent customer service started even before we arrived. Our flight landed after the check-in times, so I emailed to confirm this was okay. They replied quickly to say it was no problem and we were greeted at nearly 1am with a smile and fresh orange juice. The hotel is great for the price range. The rooms are spotless and kept very clean. The breakfast is an excellent start to them day with lots of options from fresh fruit and cereals to bacon or even local cheese. The staff are always willing to help. When two of my friends wanted to visit Spinalonga, the hotel staff phoned tour agencies to try to arrange a trip. The pool is small and there was just starting to be a race for the sun beds as we were leaving. However, the beach is just a two minute walk and was never busy.

The bus stop to Chania is opposite the hotel and you get bus tickets at reception. Try to get the number 15 bus as it's much quicker. Last bus back from Chania is the number 21 at 23:40 but get there before then as it's the same driver every night and you can tell it's the last bus as it usually leaves early.


The only minus points are that the beds are a bit hard, but you get used to them. Also, if you're at the front of the hotel (as we were) you face a main road. But just bear in mind that there are people in the 5 star hotel next door who have paid much more for the same view.


Overall, probably the best accommodation I've stayed in in Greece.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from a last minute week at the Yakinthos Hotel. Having read the previous reviews this convinced my wife & I to book. I agree with all the previous comments. Breakfast is vast, continuously well replenished, staff are friendly, hotel is spotlessly clean and rooms were kept immaculate by the hard working cleaners. The hotel was full when we were there so breakfasts at the busy 8.30-9.00 time meant there was less choice to sit but there was always room. The pool is small but adequate with a small amont of sun loungers. The beach is quite literally 2 mins walk away. Ensure you turn right when entering the beach as the sun loungers to the left are for the exclusive use of the 5 star Kallinston Hotel.

Bus stops directly outside and costs 1 euro 50 cents each way into Hania, or about 3/4 hour to walk. Supermarkets are 10 mins slow walk away and plenty of good tavernas and restaurants nearby.

Only 1 caution to prospective bookers. The hotel is situated on the main road and if you get anything other than a poolside view you will be placed in the front of the hotel. The traffic is heavy during the day (no problem) but is quite noisy during the evening and night. It did not cause us to complain since we only had a last minute 7 night break, but I would have asked to move if I had been staying longer.

With the one caution I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road. The noise is disturbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OLSPBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at the Yakinthos for a week on my own. Initially I was given a room overlooking the main road, which is so busy that I basically couldn't open my window or use my balcony because of the noise. I asked if I could move after my first night, and they managed to find me another room on the other side of the hotel, even though they were 'full'. Which over the course of the next week I realised was fairly typical and is the best thing about the hotel - the staff are very friendly and eager to help/please. In a similar vein, I asked about going to visit the Samaria Gorge (amazing scenery, very worth doing), and not only did they arrange it for me with a local travel company, including pickup from the hotel, they put a packed breakfast and a flask of coffee in my room the afternoon before because it was an early start.

The other guests were mostly older (50-60) couples, very few kids, so it felt quite quiet. The rooms were fine, big enough, fairly no frills but with decent amenities, and serviced well. Breakfast is never great at Greek hotels, but at the Yakinthos it was as good as I've come across. The pool is clean and a decent size. You're only around 50 metres from a nice beach, and there are most things you'd need within 5-10 minutes walk - a couple of mini-marts and a bigger supermarket (Inka), a pharmacy, and restaurants (Piato and Kalamaki were good for dinner, Blue Sea on the beach was nice for lunch and drinks). If you do want to go into Chania town (worth doing for a stroll around the port and the old town), it's an easy bus journey - 1.5 euro ticket each way (sold at reception at hotel), the stop is very near the hotel and they run pretty regularly, journey takes 15-20 mins.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't look out onto the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank samlowry1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Booked this b/b hotel through Thomson for 2 weeks after reading Tripadvisor comments. Greek family hotels very seldom let one down and are good value. The Yakinthos was no exception.Very friendly staff with English spoken by many but not by the lovely kind female owner. Rooms comfortable and clean. Breakfast covered the requirements of most European diets. Even fried eggs.bacon and sausages. Unless one is fussy the coffee is very drinkable. Excellent swimming pool although in May surprisingly cooler than the sea. That`s just 2 mins down to Kalamaki beach. Catching the local no 21 bus almost outside the hotel to Ghania costs 2euro, Tip.Buy from hotel reception 1.5euro Same on return from ticket kiosk. Average 3 buses an hour. We absolutely loved Ghania, So photogenic and unless you hate shopping,paradise. For two 80 yr olds it was an excellent holiday. Even hired a car for 3 days.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more light. With a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rsperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level Contributor
394 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two weeks this year (2013). The Hotel only does Bed and Breakfast whicj is just what we wanted. The breakfasts were fine and the staff supurb. They were all kind and helpful and went out of their way to help. At first glance it appears that the hotel is a bi out of the way but just explore around a bit and you will find loads of Tavernas and other places to eat. The bus stop is about 50m from the hotel so easy to get into Chania if you needed to, We hired a car for two days and setout to explore the cretian countryside which was well worth the effort. If you want basic but nice this family run hotel is just fo you. The rooms are very clean and the sheets and towels were changed every other day. If we come back (and this is our fourth visit to Crete) we may well consider using the hotel again. Thomson UK consider this a couples hotel but their Dutch/Italian/Danish do not so do expect children.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room at the fron byn the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mohawk1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Typical greek style hotel accommodation, Breakfast great, All very clean and tidy. But the staff are the best part, hard working always smiling very helpful.....brilliant.
John,Georgie, Paul,Helen....rooms 205 and 206

Room Tip: Road side could be a problem if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DodgieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
0.6 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yakinthos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yakinthos Hotel

Property: Yakinthos Hotel
Address: 1 Irakli Avgoula, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#4 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yakinthos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHANIA HOTEL YAKINTHOS Near city and only 50 m. from the clearest sandy beach of Agii Apostoli. Yakinthos is very good solution for those people who want to enjoy their stay away from the crowds but still very close to all sights of interest and the resort hot spots of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yakinthos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yakinthos Hotel Chania
Yakinthos Hotel Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing