We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel, Great Food, and Wonderful Staff”
Review of Yakinthos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yakinthos Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, Great Food, and Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is the third visit we have made to this hotel and it never ceases to amaze my wife and I as to the cleanliness, friendliness and fantastic food that is available in abundance at the Yakinthos.
The hotel is family run, the rooms and hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff and owners are very friendly and are always there to give help, advice and just talk as and when required. The pool is beautifully clean and the beach is a mere 5 minute walk away. It is the ideal location for a quiet vacation as the majority of people who were there were couples(of all ages).

Regular buses stop nearby to and from Chania which is only 20 mins away for 2 euros each way. Olga the owner is a lovely lady who always has a smile for everyone.
We will be visiting again next year.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GORDONPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    104
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
71
175
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were supposed to stay one night and ended up staying four. It is perfectly located in between old chania and the bright lights side. Everything has been amazing, this hotel is no chain hotel, and it shows, whether booking extra nights where for the first time they have the power to give great prices, the personal touch on everything from cleanliness to incredible breakfasts! These are good people! The pool is spotless, and big! Can't recommend more! JJ

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneofthegoodguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our second visit to Crete but our first to Chania and the Yakinthos Hotel.We had a wonderful holiday.The staff all work so hard as a team from cleaners to the owner herself.All the staff are so very friendly and helpful and really do make you feel so welcome.All the areas of the hotel are spotlessly clean - the same staff who prepare breakfast (which is very good) also work as cleaners or front of desk so you really do get to know them and nothing is too much trouble -they have time to chat or advise on trips ,restaurants etcThe location of the hotel is excellent for visiting Chania -we took a taxi in costing 7 euros and the bus back ,there are good fish restaurants in the Old harbour very reasonably priced and Chania is a great city to visit.A couple of minutes walk and you are on a great sandy beach, shallow and not crowded but popular with sun beds etc but no rowdy music.We booked with Thomson and Sue our Rep was excellent.She has extensive local knowledge as she lives in Chania and speaks fluent Greek.She kept her presentation succinct and provided us with really useful handouts and information but without the pressure etc that sometimes there is at these welcome meetings to sign up for trips.Thankyou to all the staff at the Yakinthos Hotel for a wonderful holiday on the beautiful island of Crete.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millyBramhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A really good 3 star hotel, very efficiently run. Air con & a safe are provided free of charge. The beach is 50 metres away and on one of many beautiful bays between the resort and Chania Town. A few of the beach side tavernas offer free sunbeds and their food and drink prices are reasonable. There is a good selection of tavernas & restaurants in the adjoining streets, some virtually as close to the sea as you could imagine.

The no 21 bus in to Chania from outside the hotel is 1.50 euros and runs frequently but via all the beaches, buy your ticket from reception. The non local buses do not stop for going in to Chania. A taxi was 8 euros. We travelled independently and the airport website is out of date as the buses run every hour and costs 2.30 euro to the town. There is a very good bus timetable available giving all local bus routes and times. We went to Kalives, a nice old fashioned resort & Paleohora on the south coast by local bus and also enjoyed our visit to the nearby German War cemetery at Maleme. We were disappointed not to visit Samaria Gorge as my wife had injured her knee but the trips leave the hotel at 6am and we were told that the descent of 10 miles can be very steep, and ardous We booked a meal inclusive tour to overlook the gorge instead but it was unfortunately cancelled.

Hania town is a lovely place with its harbour and cobbled streets full of shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our second visit to Chania and the first to YAKINTHOS hotel.
The location is perfect for those wishing to spend some time in the wonderful city of Chania and also visit the resort hot spots of Agia Marina and Platanias.
Our hosts, Olga and Antonia and all the staff offered us friendship, advise and assistance always with great pleasure.
Our room was exceptionally clean and pleasant with the aircodition working all day all night.
Wireless internet worked well in all areas and was FREE, also easy access to car parking.
Swimming pool with very clear fresh water and every morning a nice buffet- breakfast awaited for us, filled with fresh products most of them from the Cretan land.
We needed half of a minute to get to a secluded sandy beach with crystal clear waters and no rocks.
Thank you once again for, making us to feel like we 're in our own home.
We do not have any hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I went a week with my mother to Chania and we stayed at Yakinthos. For the price that you pay for this hotel I absolutely could not have asked for more. The rooms are spick and span, the staff was helpful. We had a bit trouble with the bathroom sink when we arrived but this was fixed immediately when we mentioned it. The breakfast was good and a great way to start the day. The fresh squeezed orange juice they serve you is a nice touch.
Its very close to the beach (5 min walk) and not too far away from the city. The bus stops outside the hotel and a ticket costs 1.50 €. The bus runs until around midnight and is more or less used to transport tourists back and forth, at least when I was there in August. (High season). The hotel can arrange trips for you and pickup is at the hotel.
All in all I was very happy about the choice of the hotel and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

So, you decided to go to Chania on your holiday. First thing you should know is, that if you want a beach nearby your hotel, do not book in the city of Chania as there are
none in the city. I recommend the closest village to the city, Kato Daratso. We found this lovely hotel there near a sandy beach, Yakinthos. Ofcourse we saw the previous reviews on the tripadvisor, where the lowest grade was average. So we decided to book after that. And the reviews were not wrong. We were very satisfied.

First of all, the staff is really great and very professional, especially the manager. I liked that almost all of them were women. First time I ever got a welcome drink. It is
not common in a 3 star hotel. Very friendly. We got all the information about the local buses and everything else. It is also possible to book all kinds of excursions on Crete and the pick up is at the hotel. We went to Elafonisi and it was a great trip and it was done very profesional (the guide Dimitri is a local and we learned a lot of new things about Crete).

The room was classic size for a 3 star hoel and tidy, but there was everything we needed for a good holiday. The safe and air conditioning is paid on the spot (about 48 € together).
We had a refrigerator and tv. There was no hairdryer in the room, but I did not need it at all (trust me ladies, if you have medium length hair or shorter, you will be dry
in an hour or so, even in the evening).

We also recommend this hotel because of the wide selection at breakfast. You can have bacon, sausages and fried eggs, or go for the marble cakes, cookies, pudings, jams,
chocolate spread (like Nutella), croissants etc.

You also get freshly squeezed orange juice at your table, which is a nice touch.
You can get by even if you are on a diet. There was always some selection of fruit (watermelon, figs, orange etc) and cereals. For those of us who love greek spacialites,
there is greek yogurt, feta cheese with tomatos and peppers and litlle bruschettas with tomatoes and cheese or fish, sour cream and green peppers on top. You can really endulge and enjoy your breakfast, which was very important to us.

Another nice touch - we had an early start the last morning, and we got our breakfast the day before. Two sandwiches, boiled eggs, sweet cakes, jam and coffee.

There are lots of sandy beaches nearby (with sunbeds and umbrellas). There is one about 5 minutes away, which is not too affected by the winds and the waves. You can go there
by the seaside (to the right from the closest beach), it is a nice short walk. There is also a nice looking pool area in the back of the hotel, which we did not use.

You can also keep in touch with your friends and family, there is free wi-fi available and you can use the computer in the reception room, also for free.

All in all, a very nicely designed hotel, with a great staff and breakfast. Highly recomended if you are going to Chania. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
0.6 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yakinthos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yakinthos Hotel

Property: Yakinthos Hotel
Address: 1 Irakli Avgoula, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#4 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yakinthos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHANIA HOTEL YAKINTHOS Near city and only 50 m. from the clearest sandy beach of Agii Apostoli. Yakinthos is very good solution for those people who want to enjoy their stay away from the crowds but still very close to all sights of interest and the resort hot spots of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Yakinthos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yakinthos Hotel Chania
Yakinthos Hotel Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing