We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yakinthos Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Veronica Hotel(Agii Apostoli)(Great Value!)
$113
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athina Beach Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
$56
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Helios Apartments(Agii Apostoli)
$72
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Flamingos(Agii Apostoli)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Niriis Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Talos Hotel Apartments(Agii Apostoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pella Steve II(Agii Apostoli)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ammos Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
211
118
26
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
118
26
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh orange juicechania townair conthe busrecommend this hotelsmall and friendly hotelshop next doorlovely hotelshort walkevery other daybed and breakfastsandy beachturn rightblue seabalcony overlooking the poolchoice of restaurantsvery pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 360 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I went a week with my mother to Chania and we stayed at Yakinthos. For the price that you pay for this hotel I absolutely could not have asked for more. The rooms are spick and span, the staff was helpful. We had a bit trouble with the bathroom sink when we arrived but this was fixed immediately when we mentioned it. The breakfast was good and a great way to start the day. The fresh squeezed orange juice they serve you is a nice touch.
Its very close to the beach (5 min walk) and not too far away from the city. The bus stops outside the hotel and a ticket costs 1.50 €. The bus runs until around midnight and is more or less used to transport tourists back and forth, at least when I was there in August. (High season). The hotel can arrange trips for you and pickup is at the hotel.
All in all I was very happy about the choice of the hotel and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

So, you decided to go to Chania on your holiday. First thing you should know is, that if you want a beach nearby your hotel, do not book in the city of Chania as there are
none in the city. I recommend the closest village to the city, Kato Daratso. We found this lovely hotel there near a sandy beach, Yakinthos. Ofcourse we saw the previous reviews on the tripadvisor, where the lowest grade was average. So we decided to book after that. And the reviews were not wrong. We were very satisfied.

First of all, the staff is really great and very professional, especially the manager. I liked that almost all of them were women. First time I ever got a welcome drink. It is
not common in a 3 star hotel. Very friendly. We got all the information about the local buses and everything else. It is also possible to book all kinds of excursions on Crete and the pick up is at the hotel. We went to Elafonisi and it was a great trip and it was done very profesional (the guide Dimitri is a local and we learned a lot of new things about Crete).

The room was classic size for a 3 star hoel and tidy, but there was everything we needed for a good holiday. The safe and air conditioning is paid on the spot (about 48 € together).
We had a refrigerator and tv. There was no hairdryer in the room, but I did not need it at all (trust me ladies, if you have medium length hair or shorter, you will be dry
in an hour or so, even in the evening).

We also recommend this hotel because of the wide selection at breakfast. You can have bacon, sausages and fried eggs, or go for the marble cakes, cookies, pudings, jams,
chocolate spread (like Nutella), croissants etc.

You also get freshly squeezed orange juice at your table, which is a nice touch.
You can get by even if you are on a diet. There was always some selection of fruit (watermelon, figs, orange etc) and cereals. For those of us who love greek spacialites,
there is greek yogurt, feta cheese with tomatos and peppers and litlle bruschettas with tomatoes and cheese or fish, sour cream and green peppers on top. You can really endulge and enjoy your breakfast, which was very important to us.

Another nice touch - we had an early start the last morning, and we got our breakfast the day before. Two sandwiches, boiled eggs, sweet cakes, jam and coffee.

There are lots of sandy beaches nearby (with sunbeds and umbrellas). There is one about 5 minutes away, which is not too affected by the winds and the waves. You can go there
by the seaside (to the right from the closest beach), it is a nice short walk. There is also a nice looking pool area in the back of the hotel, which we did not use.

You can also keep in touch with your friends and family, there is free wi-fi available and you can use the computer in the reception room, also for free.

All in all, a very nicely designed hotel, with a great staff and breakfast. Highly recomended if you are going to Chania. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetravel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is located in a very quiet part of Crete, 10 minutes bus ride from Chania town and 2 minutes walk from the beach. The staff are exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Rooms immaculately clean. There is a charming swimming pool area with plenty of shade, allowing you to relax during the hottest hours. Breakfast is abundant and varied with choice of fresh fruit, salad, yogurt, cake, brioches, cereal, bacon, egg, sausage . . .

The beach is not crowded with golden sand and clear blue sea (has blue flag). There are a number of beach taverns, but we recommend "blue sea" beach cafe, where you can find very friendly staff and free beach beds!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not facing the main road.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda_0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have just returned from the Yakinthos Hotel, Crete, We booked with Thompson Small & Friendly - this should be amended to Small & Unhelpful. We do not want much from our holiday, just to relax round the pool with a good book, find somwhere nice to eat and get out and about on the local transport (bus). The pool bar was never staffed - we had to resort to buying cans of coke/water or visit the accomodation next door (piatos - very friendly service from the owners). Staff were not helpful. Our rep had told us to buy bus tickets from the hotel, when we tried to we were told no, when we questioned this and repeated what our rep had said the answer was changed to yes - we were made to feel that we shouldn't have asked. Also not all busses stop at the stop outside hotel, be warned. We soon got used to the answer of NO, even when we asked about changing some money - even though this service was and still is quoted in broucher.
On the plus side the beach is lovely and i would recommend piatos and Golden Bay (both have accomodation, pools and pool bar/taverna.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a very busy main road. Ask for a room at the back
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Garry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is very close to Chania Town ,the breakfast is ok and the staff is great. The owners are absolutely great persons they changed our room with no extra charge.I absolutely recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anca2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews