We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel at a reasonable price”
Review of Yakinthos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yakinthos Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Lovely little hotel with great pool, garden and breakfast.

The hotel is very clean, sheets and towels are changed every two days. Do not expect extreme luxuries within the room. Personnel is extremely helpful, very hospitable.

The hotel is on the main road, so do not book a room facing the road, if you are planning on sleeping through the night. Rooms facing the pool are very quiet.

One drawback: the fridge is very small, we couldn't store our fruit in it! It also didn't fit more than a couple of bottles of water. Buy larger fridges people!!!

Other than that.... highly recommended!

Room Tip: Book rooms facing the pool (they are more quiet).
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyndera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Yakinthos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 350 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

rooms are very clear and cozy, breakfast is fantastic, swimming pool with very clear water, personnel lovely and open hearted, easy-going, helpfull. I love this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikhail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at the Yakinthos Hotel for a week. Overall, Yakinthos is a very charming, sweet and friendly hotel. It is simple and functional and in a great location (4km from Chania, not 13km as one review states) The hotel is run by very friendly staff, who were very helpful recommending places and giving directions, and the hotel is kept beautifully clean. The swimming pool is really lovely, and never over crowded.

HOWEVER... we did have a few problems.... on arrival, the shower was broken, so didnt work unless you held the shower head with your hand (this was fixed the next day) there was also only one pillow each, which was not satisfactory - they were very flat pillows, so you needed two! Also, there was no hairdryer - they did supply me one after I asked a couple of times, but I hadnt packed a hairdryer as it states on their website they are supplied in each room. There is also NO carpark although their website gives the impression there is. There is room for parking for 2 cars at the front of the hotel, and the hotel advised when this was full (most of the time) we could park down the road by the side of the hotel... which we did, and subsequently got our hire car vandalised. This clearly was not the fault of the hotel, but two other couples experienced the same thing while we were staying there, and obviously this experience leaves a sour taste in the mouth!
Also - the breakfast was OK... but really not particularly exciting - there were lots and lots of cakes, pastries, cheeses, chocolate biscuits etc, but no edible cereal (some stale cornflakes and some questionable chocolate coated flakes) and very very little fresh fruit.
The beds are incredibly hard and very uncomfortable. I am a fan of hard beds, but this was ridiculous - after 3 nights my back was killing me. Our bed was also incredibly noisy so when one of us moved (even slightly) we were both woken up! The air con was also very weak, so the room was constantly too hot, and our toilet broke twice during the week, we were told by the plumber on the second occassion that there was nothing wrong with it - which was infuriating as the toilet did NOT flush, clearly this in my mind is classed as not working! Also - the bathrooms were tiny, which was fine, expect for the showers, which were SOOOO tiny they were useless. The shower curtain stuck to your body while you stood in the shower, and there really was no room to wash yourself... we ended up getting in the shower, turning the shower off to clean ourselves, and then turning it back on again to rinse off. Not satisfactory. There was no bath, and its a shame that this wasnt stated on the website. Anyhow - all those little issues taken into consideration, we really did have a lovely week, and enjoyed our stay. I guess you get what you pay for, and the hotel was very reasonable for the time of year. Just dont expect any luxury and prepare yourself for a tough nights sleep!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lornstar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast was generous. Rooms were simple but functional as you would expect from a 3 star hotel. The best thing to be remembered is its location. It is much better than staying downtown Chania where there are too many tourists and service is not so good. The Yakinthos is only 13 km away from Chania so you can visit the city any time while enjoying a relaxing environment a short walk away from a nice beach.
The swimming pool is not as big as it looks on the photos but it is ok and being so close to the beach, it is fine.
Don't miss the sunset on the little Venitian Harbour in Chania. Avoid the restaurants on the waterfront.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffBHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This hotel was just what we needed: very neat and well-kept little hotel with a cosy pool area, located just by the beach with good bus connections. The service was prompt and friendly, breakfast plentyful. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hebston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The staff here were very friendly and helpful. It's really close to the beach and we also enjoyed the pool. Our family adjoining rooms were clean and comfortable with a handy terrace area for sitting out. The rooms were a bit dark but that kept them cool when the weather heated up. The breakfasts were the highlight of my children's holiday with a selection of everything including Cretan dishes like cheese pies with honey, fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, as well as bacon, eggs, sausages that my kids wolfed. There was even rice pudding.
We were there off season and it was quite quiet which suited us. The other guests were mainly French, German, Dutch I think. I imagine the rooms at the front might be a bit noisy with traffic on the main road, but where we were at the back it was very peaceful.
This is not a grand hotel but a friendly, relaxed mid-range place with fab breakfast.

We would love to go back.

Room Tip: ask for by the pool or at the back. avoid front.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Nice, clean, quiet, good location. Not right on the beach, but a 30 sec walk to it. Located directly beind a hotel that is on the beach so the rate is little less expensive than a beach front place. Close to many shops, restaurants, and little groceries. Had a little fridge in the room so we were able to keep bread and lunch meat on hand for beach lunches. Very nice and helpful staff. Had a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lildixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
0.6 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
558 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athina Beach Hotel
Athina Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
90 reviews
6.6 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#15 of 111 in Chania Town
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yakinthos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yakinthos Hotel

Address: 1 Irakli Avgoula, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#4 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range: $46 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yakinthos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHANIA HOTEL YAKINTHOS Near city and only 50 m. from the clearest sandy beach of Agii Apostoli. Yakinthos is very good solution for those people who want to enjoy their stay away from the crowds but still very close to all sights of interest and the resort hot spots of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yakinthos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yakinthos Hotel Chania
Yakinthos Hotel Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing