We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service and tasty food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piato Restaurant

Piato Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Piato is a family-run business with a relaxing enviroment and tables around the swimming pool, serving real home-made, high-quality dishes. Piato is located on the main road to Platanias, 4 km west of Chania city.
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great service and tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Good experience, my wife's ordered stuffed vegetables and it was very tasty. One of the best meals we had in our two week stay. The briam however did not taste bad in anyway, but it was average. Could sense the vegetables and herbs where fresh and food was home cooked. As many people has commented here, this is a family run restaurant with daughter outside explaining the menu and son serving dishes with dad as cashier and mom in the kitchen.

It definitely helped to talk with the daughter outside the restaurant to get and understanding on what could suite us from the menu, she sells the concept without pushing at all. This is very good.

Some might think the ratings are too high, but the kind of experience and taste of food you get for the price is really good. Other places might have similar reasonable prices, but it will for sure not be money for value as this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emanvek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerasimos1989, Ιδιοκτήτης at Piato Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Piato Freinds,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are looking forward to seeing you again for more vegetarian and meat specialities!

Best regards,
The Piato Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    142
    53
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Piato Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great Food, great hospitality, great prices. Well worth a visit. Kids loved it and we were back again and again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerasimos1989, Ιδιοκτήτης at Piato Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Piato Friends and children,

Thank you very much for your review, we would love to accomodate you you again for high quality home-made food and greek hospitality!

Best regards,
The Piato Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere and cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting by the pool, very friendly staff and high quality home cooking...definitely one to try if you are in the area..

Helpful?
2 Thank Tonythepony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerasimos1989, Ιδιοκτήτης at Piato Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Piato Friend,

Thank you very much for your review! We are looking forward to seeing you again for authentic home cooking!

Best regards,
The Piato Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I FOOD-LOVE your mama !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Walked by Piato 8th of july on our way from Platania to Agii Apostoli and saw the tripadvisor sign and whent to check it out and saw it was restaurant no 1 and remembered to have seen it when I was looking for restaurant before we went there but didnt rade it higt because its few restaurant registered in that neighbourhood. Out of the restaurant came a girl on my age and I thought ohhh she is going to be trying to sell us something BUT this waiter was different ! She told me that her famely owned it and worked there and that they grow there strawberry in the garden and her mom was in the kitchen.
She was so nice and how she presented the restaurant without being pushy sold it !

We are young couple from iceland and we loved it.
One of the waiters (the brother) gave us raki after dinner and ohh lord was it fun. When im coming back to Crete im haveing dinner and raki agen at Piato because I love everything that comes out of mamas kitchen and this family is friendly and you feel welcome. I feelt like home at Piato

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tvottapoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerasimos1989, Ιδιοκτήτης at Piato Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Friends of the Piato Family,

Thank you very much for your comment! We would love to see you again and welcome you with greek hospitality!

Best regards,
The Piato Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“piato - This is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

This Restaurant - Cafe -Bar is the best, as soon as you enter the bar area there is always a warm welcome awaits you. It was always lovely and clean. A lovely setting nice to the swimming pool with plenty of beautiful coloured shrubs all around. All the staff was very friendly, Gerasmij (Jerry) was always on hand with an emergency beer when you are looking at there great menu. All the food was fresh and very very good. They also run the JeChrina apartments and they look very nice and clean.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dewhurst121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerasimos1989, Ιδιοκτήτης at Piato Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comment and we are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to the island!

Best regards,
The Piato Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piato Restaurant also viewed

Agii Apostoli, Chania Town
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Agii Apostoli, Chania Town
Parigoria, Chania Town
 

Been to Piato Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing