We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Pleasant Surprise!”
Review of Ammos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ammos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed November 1, 2006

My wife and I and two other couples ended a 2 week tour of Greece by flying to Chania, Crete for a 2 nights stay. I booked our rooms at The Ammos many months in advance and Nikos was wonderful to respond to emails and questions. I was a bit apprehensive before arrival as the website photos made it look as if this was the hotel from Heaven but to our amazement, it was even better than we had expected. The staff bent over backwards to take care of us. Our seaside rooms were just that, overlooking the pool and the Sea of Crete. The town of Chania is a bit of a distance away however there is a bus for 1.10E that runs every half hour. What a quaint, beautiful town with many places to eat and shop. You can take a taxi for 6E if you want faster service. I can't say enough about our stay at the Ammos. The food is great the beach wonderful and the rooms very clean, neat, and nicely decorated. I wouldn't even consider another place to stay if returning to Crete. Nikos will arrange to have you picked up at the airport which we did. When we walked out of baggage claim, there was a driver with a sign with our name on it. He took us right to the hotel. Jim in Carmichael, CA, USA

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff and views from the rooms
  • Disliked — The distance from town which was not a big deal with buses and taxis availble
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early. This is a popular hotel due to its quality and value
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jim95608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    64
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
258
273
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2006

All the reviews that you read on this site about how good this hotel and staff are very justified.

My Fiancée and I went for 2 weeks for the first time to Crete from 3rd Oct - 17th Oct. The Ammos did not have accommodation for our entire trip rather at the beginning and at the end due to the popularity of the hotel, but that was fine as it gave us a chance to explore the rest of the island with the rental car that Nikos (the Manager) arranged for us.

The hotel is stunning modern minimalist chic, clean, on the beach, beautiful pool and fantastic and helpful staff from Nikos to all the restaurant staff. The food choice is varied and is excellent quality.

This Hotel is highly recommended. If you want a small boutique hotel of excellent quality this should and must be your choice.

John

  • Liked — spacious clean modern rooms
  • Disliked — other hotels around
  • Tips/Secrets — ask staff for their recommendations for sights, tours and especially restaurants
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Just returned from our first trip to Greece. One of the nicest surprises of all of our various lodgings was the Ammos. From the time you enter, everyone, starting with Nikos, knocks themselves out to make sure you enjoy your stay. The combination of the friendly hospitality-lovely property/public areas/rooms-amazingly good food-convenient location and congeniality of the international mix of guests, made the Ammos a highlight of our trip.
My wife and I strongly recommend the Ammos Hotel and would gladly stay there again.
Roger and Susan Jackson
Hull, MA USA

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Tips/Secrets — If arriving by car, be sure of directions
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Hulltimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We stayed in Ammos Hotel for 3 nights after reading the great reviews on Tripadvisor site.
The hotel has fantastic location directly on picturesque beach with the rooms balconies facing the sea and beatifull sunsets. If you rented a car the hotel has a parking space that is so difficult to find in Chania. The hotel has a restaurant with a large choice of dishes and drinks facing the private beach. The small supermarket is just around the corner. We can only describe our room as a statement of modern art accomodation with the highest quality of everything. From the web we knew that Nikos ( owner) did an updating of the facilities but we did not realize that it is to this extent. The room had absolutely everything you might need it ( fridge, pots and dishes, kettle, extra blankets etc.)
Nikos was very helpfull with the advises of the scenic routs.
The hotel is located only 4km from Chania.
We are very happy to add an another great review for Ammos.

  • Liked — location, room, views
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tenten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We've just returned from 2 weeks at Ammos and I don't know what I can write that hasn't already been written. The hotel is amazing - rooms are lovely, bathroom is brilliant. The pool and the view are excellent. We planned on hiring a car and doing day trips as well as eating at a different restaurant every night but soon changed our mind once we saw the hotel. We only went into Chania twice and ate at the hotel restaurant most nights. The food was excellent and it is so cheap! My only gripe is that there aren't enough sun loungers around the pool (only about 12) and these get 'reserved' by people at about 6am! If you go down the steps to the beach and use the loungers there you are charged 7 euros a day (even for guests). I would hope that they either make the beach loungers free for guests or buy extra loungers for around the pool. Apart from that it was wonderful and we will definitely return!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank np2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

This hotel is managed from people, who love their jobs and that is apparent in every corner of this "boutique" hotel.
Our (sea view) room was spacious, clean and stylish decorated. The welcome gifts- two small bars of my favourite chocolate (ION almond) and a bottle of Crete olive oil were pleasant surprises upon our arrival, so was the small veranda of our room overlooking a bay. The bathroom was small but cleverly designed and equipped (also my favourite toilietries (Korres) provided) a refreshing oasis after the exhausting day trips to the wondeful Cretan beaches.
The food in the restaurant was to die for......As a Greek I assure you that the food represents one of the best versions of traditional Greek cuisine. Don't miss the burger, the boureki and the yoghurt with honey and fruits!
As a final remark, I would like to add that a standard evening of our vacations involves a dinner in a downtown taverna or a bar . However, this hotel was so enjoyable that made us divert from our typical schedule several times. After all, what's most enjoyable and relaxing from a fab dinner in the hotel restaurant, a drink in our veranda and a peaceful sleep under the sound of the waves?

  • Liked — Restaurant, personal service
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Elena_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

We spent a week at Ammos and its the best hotel experience we've had in many years travelling and staying in top class hotels. It was very difficult to get a booking as the hotel seems to be always full up so I advise you to book well ahead. The rooms are great and beautifully designed, the location on the beach is unbeatable with a lovely swimming pool. The attention to detail is exceptional and the restaurant was as good as any we ate at in Chania. The really remarkable thing though is the people. The owner Nikos and his team can't do enough for you advising on trips, car rental ,restaurant bookings and anything else you need to know. Everyone at Ammos has a sunny helpfull attitude but we must make a special mention of Nektarina who manages the hotel with great charm and efficiency and nothing is too much trouble for her. We'll definately be going back and so will other members of our family.
Sue and Stuart

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank grug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
2.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
33.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Hotel

Property: Ammos Hotel
Address: Glaros Beach, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammos Hotel is a small stylish hotel located on the best spot of the city of Chania, right on the water front at the bay of Agii Apostoli, 4km away from the Venetian Harbor and the picturesque old city. In an idyllic setting by the water, wake up listening to the sound of the waves and indulge into our vast palette of vivid colors, from light green to the turquoise of the sea water and from beige to the bright fuchsia of bougainvillea. This is your private escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Chania
Ammos Hotel Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing